We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This hotel had great service and was beautiful. From the lobby to the room, my experience was great! Two blocks away from the White House. Great Location and friendly staff! Do not hesitate to ask questions because the front desk is very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    384
    93
    30
    22
See reviews for
586
425
72
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Walking up to the hotel it seems plain old building retrofitted into a hotel. Then you walk in the the vibrant modern lobby you forget you're at a Hampton Inn and this gives you a boutique hotel feel. Rooms are clean, decent TV don't expect any kind of view from your room the hotel is in a tight space. Great service though and they warn you a head of time that valet might take up to 20-30 min so call the desk before hand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I'm a frequent traveler to DC for professional obligations and fun. I usually love to stay at the Palomar, and do enjoy that hotel! However, after reading the reviews of the Hampton Inn, I thought I would give it a try. It is über clean and the lobby is decorated nicely, kinda funky Americana. The room is simple, but the bed was very comfortable and the bath was super clean and had everything you need. It's nothing "fancy", but a fun, more contemporary feel. I asked to stay in a more "quieter room", and stayed in room 505. I did use the ear plugs and slept like a baby. There is a Starbucks and Corner Bakery just steps away. However, Founding Farmer's, a 2 min. walk away is not to be missed. I ate 3 meals there over the course of the weekend. Could have gone anywhere, but loved all of the drink and food choices at Founding Farmers, wanted to try as much as I could. I was gal, traveling on my own and walked the neighborhood without any hesitation. Just steps from the White House, you know the whole area is under constant law enforcement supervision. Blue line metro is 1-2 blocks away. I took the metro to and from the airport instead of taking a cab. Saved a lot of $ doing that. Usually, I have to cab it in from the airport. Over the course of the weekend, I walked to Georgetown, DuPont Circle (for a Pure Bare class) and back from the Capitals' game at the Verizon Center. All walks very do-able!

All staff were friendly and helpful! Shout out to Rachel who put up with me being somewhat "high-maintenence" during check in. Would suggest for anyone who wants a funky, smartly-decorated hotel lobby with basic, but incredibly clean rooms and baths, close by everything in DC!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The rooms are very small. They have only showers no bathtubs which I prefer . This Hampton Inn also did not have a refrigerator and parking costs $30!
It is about a 2 mile walk to the Smithsonian museum.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Great stay! Hotel looks brand new and rooms have a studio apartment feel. The location is a very convenient one block walk to Blue/Orange line Metro. Quiet neighborhood on weekends, however I was sensitive to truck traffic in middle of night. The hotel provides ear plugs - nice touch. The breakfast is very delicious - everything fresh. Each time I passed the front desk during my stay I was greeted by front desk personnel. Even the valet provides the happy Hampton hello. Room lacks a frig which would be a nice amenity. Pool and exercise room on lower level are immaculate. Good value for DC.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wakscpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Clean, modern facility. Small but comfortable room. Bathroom was spotless. For an early morning departure, the front desk staff was unable to get me a cab with 15 minutes lead time. I ended up having to hustle to the Metro to catch my train.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was my first stay at this property. I have no complaints. The staff was super nice. The lobby was fairly large with enough space for work or to meet someone. The rooms were spacious and clean. Very nice property.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
472 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
819 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing