We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Hapton Inn is a great hotel with very professional staff whose goal is to make you feel at home and comfortable. All aspects of my stay was excellent and everybody at the hoel made sure the guests were treated with respect and smiling faces. The breakfast was excellent and apprpriate, especially with my busy schedule during my stay in DC. Thank you for making my stay in DC a memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Abdolghani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    369
    92
    28
    20
See reviews for
573
413
70
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed May 9-12, 2014 (me and my adult DS). Am a HHonors member and so have been happy with other Hampton Inn's and this one did not disappoint at all. Walking distance to White House and a number of other major monuments and museums and, even better, only a block from the Metro which made it very convenient.

Staff was very helpful and accommodating. They accommodated my request during reservation for a room on a high floor facing the street--better yet it was a corner room on the top floor (1104; two queens). Very pleased with room--new, modern, and comfortable. Room was a little stuffy, but windows opened and it was the first real hot, muggy period.

Toiletries were good quality Neutrogena products. Water pressure in the shower could have been better, but good hot water and the shower/tub combination was nice for soaking my feet after a long day of walking.

Complimentary breakfast was as expected with good selections--different hot options during the three days we were there (bacon and french toast sticks; home fries, sausage, omelets; scrambled eggs). Also plenty of sitting room to accommodate a large number of people. Bowls of fruit and hot beverages available all day is a nice touch.

The staff were very helpful and accommodating in holding our bags on both arrival and departure days, recommending restaurants, and just being courteous and helpful. Used the business center to print boarding passes and also had free wifi.

The only suggestion I would offer this hotel is to consider mini frigs in the rooms. That is the only thing that was missing that I would have liked to see.

Would definitely stay again and would highly recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Facing the street, higher floor to limit street noises (it is a city after all). Ear plugs were ava...
See more room tips
Green Features: Encourages recycling with divided/labeled trash cans
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJeanGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great View, close to the National Mall and all Memorials, Museums and Local Top Restaurants at pretty much walking distance to all... Great Staff make my stay worth the price thanks so much Hampton Inn DC

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Would like to thank all the staff at this hotel especially Angela on the breakfast roster she was very helpful,location is fantastic a short stroll to the Whitehouse . Washington itself is a must see city if you are interested in history and some fabulous museums

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Washington, DC/White House May 8-12, 2014. This hotel is located in a fantastic area for guests who want to walk to visit various memorials, monuments, and museums. The White House and the Eisenhower Executive Office Building are within easy walking distance. The following sites are within comfortable walking distance of the hotel: Vietnam Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean War Memorial, WWII Memorial Atlantic and Pacific, Washington Monument, National Mall, The Capitol, the Holocaust Museum, Air and Space Museum, National Gallery of Art, American History Museum, the Freer Art Gallery, and many additional sites. Metro lines are within two blocks of the hotel, and cabs are readily available.
Our room was very clean and comfortable. Internet service and use of computers in the business center was provided at no additional charge. The complimentary breakfast buffet/dining area was situated in a bright and cheerful space and offered a variety of foods, including a selection of hot breakfast dishes. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and bowls of fresh fruit, including apples, oranges, and bananas were available to guests throughout the day and night. Cookie treats were waiting for guests each weekday afternoon.
The reception desk staff, led by charming and personable Portia and Joe, were always friendly, enthusiastic, and very helpful! We'll definitely stay at this Hampton Inn on a return visit to Washington, DC!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the alley and parking garage at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A wonderful stay from start to finish . Great value for the location which is right in the heart of dc and walking distance to everything . What blew us away the most was the kindest of the staff and Portia was the sweetest employee we have ever encountered in how many travels . This Hampton inn really sets the bar high for all of the hotels even luxury hotels .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ttyler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Washington DC/White House during our children's (ages 14 and 10) April vacation and were pleasantly surprised (even with the high ranking on TripAdvisor for families). It is very reasonably priced for a city hotel. The location is exceptional - Foggy Bottom area, two blocks from the White House and one block from the Metro Farragut West. We did not rent a car and took the metro when the rain was torrential. The interior of the hotel is modern and clean. Check-in was a breeze, thanks to the helpful front desk staff. Pre-trip they provided us with names of car services from BWI. The rooms were well equipped and the bathroom a good size, with plenty of towels. We had requested and received a room in the back of the hotel to reduce noise, but there was still city-street noise (ie: delivery trucks, honking horns). Breakfast was a hit for our family - everyday started out on a good note: healthy, fresh, hot and cold options. Coffee and tea available all day. Angela, a member of the breakfast staff, did a great job each morning. Valets out front flagged down taxis for us. Really great service. Recommend this particular Hampton Inn without hesitation. For dinner near the hotel, try Founding Farmers. It's a farm to table swanky restaurant two blocks from the hotel - we loved it and wanted to return, but ran out of time.

Green Features: Environmentally-friendly practices are appreciated and used (recycle/trash bins in rooms are a hit).
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
758 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing