We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton Inn near White House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton Inn near White House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was very clean and friendly. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. I would ask for a high floor as the traffic noise can be heard easily. But, this is Washington DC, so this is to be expected!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 677deborahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear
We’re glad that you enjoyed the hotel, rooms and the staff! We agree that the team is absolutely superb. Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    365
    90
    27
    16
See reviews for
561
409
70
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this Hampton hotel in June 2014. Making reservations online was quick and easy. Check-in was a breeze. We arrived very early, but they allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel and begin exploring DC as they readied our room. When we returned later, we found our room (# 810) clean, comfy, and located in a quiet area of the hotel.

The bed was very comfortable and provided a solid nights sleep. It passed my husband's very thorough bed-bug check. All clear! The shower had good water pressure and consistent temperature. Towels were clean and soft. The toilet had a quiet flush (great when you don't like hearing your neighbor's toilet flushing at 3am).

The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and had a nice variety of foods available. Breakfast was served from 6am-10am and was buffet style. We enjoyed fruit, toasts, pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, yogurt, and more. They even had a waffle iron and batter available for those who wished to make their own waffles. Most importantly; they had coffee and tea aplenty.

They had coffee, tea, various cold drinks, and snacks available in the lobby all day. What a nice treat to return to our hotel for a mid-day rest to find fresh cookies and melon flavored water.

The entire staff was friendly, professional, and very helpful. We truly felt welcomed and valued.

The hotel is just a block from the Farragut West Metro station as well as near the White House and many other points of interest.

We plan to stay with this Hampton when we return to DC.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are away from traffic and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Lisa B
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about your stay experience. I’m glad to hear that you had so many memorable moments during your stay that really shows how our team strives to deliver A+ service for each and every guest. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We've stayed for 2 nights and we were very happy with our choice. We've arrive by car and left it in the hotel Valet (great service, good cost). After that everything we've done on foot.
In general the hotel is great! Incredible location, great staff, very clean, excellent breakfast and wonderful room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GustavoDarzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our first family trip to DC and we wanted to stay within walking distance of the White House and other historical attractions. From the time we arrived until we checked out, the staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel. The complimentary breakfast exceeded our expectations as well. The Hampton Inn made for a great hub for our 2 days of sight-seeing; a great choice for families!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joceline2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Joceline2014
We greatly appreciate your review about your stay with us! You really won’t find another Hampton Inn as unique as ours. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and accommodations, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed the weekend and were very impressed. The other reviews talk about the location and I cannot stress how good the location really is. Valet parking is required but we found it economical and also very convenient. Everyone we encountered was always helpful. In particular, Joe at the desk was very outgoing and his restaurant recommendation was a winner.

The hotel is the former headquarters for Kiplinger magazine and the hotel honors the history of the building as well. The display in the lobby was interactive, fun, and based on this history.

Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms spacious. (We had two rooms.) The rooms were also very clean and having worked in a hotel, I checked. This hotel is above and beyond what I expected from a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

UNBEATABLE location within walking distance of White House and area historical attractions. Was travelling with my teenage daughters and we felt very safe walking in surrounding area even at night. Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast buffet is great and fitness facility is well maintained and equipped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sarah M
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location to work out so well for you. We hope you will come see us again in the future. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for 6 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff always greeted us as we came and went from the hotel. The breakfast was very good and offered a wide variety of foods. Our room was clean and well maintained. The hotel location is very close to the White House and the Mall. There are two Metro stations nearby that can quickly get you to all the sights in DC.

Overall, very happy with our stay and we would stay here again if we com back to DC.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing