We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for family trip to DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My 6 year old son and I stayed here on a fun trip to DC. Great location, the metro station is around the corner. We went to a Nats game on a Tuesday night and felt completely safe riding back late after the game. Also, not a bad walk to the White House or the monuments (WWII, Lincoln, Vietnam). We also walked back to the hotel through GWU campus one night and again, the area felt very safe at night (9pm or so). Also an easy train ride to the mall or zoo, as well as Metro Center which had a number of easy eating options (district taco was our favorite). Great continental breakfast in the morning! Nice bag checking service so we were able to leave bags at the hotel on our arrival/departure days so we were still able to see things on those days. The pool is tiny, but you're probably not there for the pool (although my son still enjoyed it).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Trent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Duket01
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your visit with us! I’m glad to hear that your stay experience exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you and your son back for another wonderful visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I picked the hotel for our trip to Washington D.C. It was the best experience of any hotel my wife and i have stayed at. They were always courteous and answered our questions about D.C and the best places to eat. Everyone from the staff at the desk, the cleaning staff and anyone else went out of there way to ask us how we were doing everyday. We were always greeted with a smile and a good morning. I have never experienced anything else like that on any of our vacations. The hotel was very clean and the whole staff should be commended for the courteous behavior and respect they showed us at guests. When we go back to Washington D.C. that will be the first on the list of places to stay.

Seth Grabek

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Seth G
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations in regards to amenities and service. On behalf of my team, we look forward to your return visit to Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Spacious room and bathroom for the centre of Washington D.C. The hotel is very central (5 minutes' walk to the White House) and we thought very reasonably priced for the proximity, size and room. We slept well and there were earplugs provided if needed (we didn't!). There was some loud construction noise outside from 8am and throughout breakfast, but the hotel couldn't help that. Nicely furnished, a wide selection of choice at breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful and let us leave luggage there while we explored D.C before returning to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Every single employee here was smiling and very helpful from the moment we were able to check in a bit earlier than posted, all the way through the cab ride they arranged for us at 6 a.m. six days later. Room was CLEAN. Plenty of storage areas for clothes and suitcases for 3 people Breakfast had something for every one. Fresh fruit, bagels, assorted pastries, hot cereals and make your own waffles as well as assorted beverages and yogurts. This was greatly appreciated as we were able to start our day sooner. Of note to coffee snobs: Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and Peets are all moments away. The pool is small. Do not anticipate your kids enjoying it when making a decision to stay here based on the hotel having a pool. It will serve the purpose to get oneself wet and some quick short laps of exercise if needing it as long as you are the only one using it. The immediate area does lack restaurant choices especially after 8 p.m. (this is a business district not a touristy area). One will find many more choices a few blocks further out. Two Metro lines are minutes away by foot. I would stay here again and completely recommend it to others with adding that they should grab dinner on the way back to the hotel for the night.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 8 and had no complaints of noise. We did hear the garbage truck rather loudly wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mugzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This really is a great hotel. We spent a couple nights here while in DC and thoroughly enjoyed it. Location is ideal right near the White House, and the service and quality of this hotel is far better than the star rating!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ryan G,
I am delighted that we continue to live up to our guest's expectations and that the service provided by the team has so much to do with that. On behalf of everyone at Hampton Inn DC White House, we look forward to your return visit to National Capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We did a combined business and family trip for five nights at this Hampton Inn. We stay at Hampton Inns frequently and this was my third business stay at this location this year. Clean, very well managed, and a great location. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank JordaninTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Inn M, Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear JordaninTexas,
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a 5 star review. We are grateful for your positive comments about our hotel. It sounds like you had a great time on your third trip.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in mid May of 2014. I booked 11 rooms for a business trip. After a few bumps in the road with the reservations, our stay was pleasant. Rachael at the front desk was a big help and got us in our rooms as quickly as she could. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. Some rooms only view adjacent buildings but we were not really concerned with the view. The location is a quick walk, taxi or metro ride to most DC attractions / monuments. Multiple members in our group thanked me for the hotel choice after our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_White_127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#53 of 142 in Washington DC
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
593 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, D.C. Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
523 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £87 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing