We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Ranked #29 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wee stayed here in March. The hotel is nicely situated near the White House and is in easy walking distance to most major sites. The hotel is nicely renovated and the staff is very accommodating: friendly, good restaurant tips etc. Compared to other hotels similarly located, this hotel is a bargain for the price!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BP12568978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had to stay in this hotel for a month off and on for various trainings and it was SUPERB!! the staff went above and beyond and before long addressed me by name which made me feel super special! Great accommodations, clean rooms, best staff ever!!! BEst Breakfasts and selections! Everything is within walking distance...even the White House!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Karsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location is perfect. You are in the middle of everything. Great restaurants in walking distance and the staff was wonderful; not to mention the White House was a 2 minute walk.

It does have a pool, but don't expect much as it's very, very small. My kids enjoyed it, but not really anything special.

The breakfast was perfect. I'm not a big breakfast eater, but just the right stuff to get my morning started.

There is a Starbuck right next door!

I've stayed at many Hampton Inns and this by far is the best I've ever been in. Its not your typical Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: When booking your room you want to ask for a street view or high floor, or you will be looking at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank leztark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First, let me start off by stating the positives - the staff is incredibly friendly, the location is ideal, and the hotel is well-maintained. The building itself is beautiful. It meets the standards of what you would expect from the Hilton family of hotels. However, I was less than impressed with the room size (yes, I know it was D.C., but this room was about the size of my walk-in closet). It was very tight for my husband, me and our luggage (only two bags). We were in town for a wedding and out most of the day on a Saturday. We left the room around 8:30 am and came back approximately 4:00 pm. When we returned, our room had not yet been cleaned. We called down to the front desk, and they immediately sent someone to rectify the situation; however, I just found that very odd. Overall, the stay was average for me. Would I stay there again? Yes. However, with so many other options within walking distance, I will do some exploring before I commit to this hotel on my next visit to the D.C. area.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank FefeFrasier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very Clean and spacious accommodation - well furnished. Had a room facing H St NW - so there was some noise to be dealt with. Facilities were good. Breakfast provided was adequate. Very close to white house and mall. Also close to metro making it unnecessary to rent a car. A satisfying experience overall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Satyanarayana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I would like to begin by thanking Joe who assisted me at check in. He could not have been more helpful. This Hampton Inn is lovely. The rooms are beautifully appointed and have comfortable beds. The only negative point is that the hotel is situated close to other buildings, but there are privacy and room darkening shades on the window. Realistically, you are staying in a city.
Breakfast was excellent and ice water, coffee, and tea were always available in the lobby. The hotel is located close to the White House and Mall. There is a small lap pool located in the lower lobby. It was fine for cooling off after a long day of touring. I had not been to DC for many years and was very pleased that we stayed at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up on H street were a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beachbum46292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

we arrived early on Friday. staff kept our luggage in a secure place til we could check in .Rooms were spacious and very clean. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had. Hotel staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#41 of 142 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
928 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House

Address: 1729 H Street N.W., Washington DC, DC 20006-3901
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £98 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the iconic Editors building, the Hampton Inn Washington DC/ White House hotel effortlessly combines old-style charm with modern conveniences. Make yourself at home in our inviting accommodations complete with spacious guest rooms, a 24-hour business center, free high speed WiFi throughout the property, 1,351 st ft meeting space, heated indoor pool, free hot breakfast daily, and 24-hour fitness center. You will surely enjoy being within walking distance of the capital city's most iconic attractions including the White House, the National Mall, and Smithsonian Museums., Our D.C. hotel is surrounded by a breathtaking urban backdrop complete with chic boutiques, powerful firms, and upscale dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing