We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REVISITING MY WEDDING VENUE......”

Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour of Washington DC: Monuments, Landmarks and Memorials
Ranked #101 of 432 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
882 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 588 helpful votes
“REVISITING MY WEDDING VENUE......”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Looking at the various items listed in TripAdvisor's "To Do" list for Washington, DC, I recently learned that the Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle is a tourist spot in the city and is currently ranked at #55 by Tripadvisor Reviewers.

I felt compelled to visit this Cathedral since this is where I got married and to see any changes that had been done since that time. I also wanted to take and add pictures of the Cathedral, (particularly those taken outside) in this review so Tripadvisor readers would be encouraged to visit it.

The Cathedral is as beautiful as I remembered it. Mosaic, colorful "pictures" of St. Matthews and the other apostles are depicted at the walls and ceilings near the Altar. There are 2 chapels located at the right side of the Cathedral: the Wedding Chapel (my wedding venue) and the one devoted to St. Francis. The latter has beautiful frescoes and his famous statements carved on the walls. Located between these 2 chapels is the big organ.

Tips: Go visit this Cathedral when you're in Washington, DC. Take the Metro and exit either at the Farragut North Station, Farragut West Station, or the Dupont Circle Station. It is about 5-10 minute walk from these stations. The Cathedral is located on Rhode Island Avenue (between L and M Streets), with Connecticut Avenue as the main thoroughfare.

Note that everyone is welcome at the Cathedral, regardless of your religious affiliations!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaGo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
199 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Symphony in marble and mosaic”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very impressive inside. It was designated a cathedral in 1939 when the Catholic Archdiocese of Washington was created. St. Matthew is apparently the patron saint of civil servants and members of congress, supreme court justices and government officials come here to worship.

It is also where President Kennedy´s funeral mass was held on 25 November 1963 and there is a beautiful understated marble plaque to commemorate the sad occasion inlaid in the floor in front of the altar.

An excellent ´self-guided tour' leaflet is available at the entrance, which we only found at the end of our visit. And yes, the multi-coloured mosaics and marble are simply stunning.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank brucetaylortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
245 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A beautiful and spiritual place”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A short walk down M street from Dupont Circle rests this landmark cathedral. It is worth visiting just for the beauty of its interior and majesty of its exterior, but fail not to pause and pray (or meditate, or reflect) when you come.

If you look, you will see one of the saddest moments in modern American history marked, in Christian fashion, on the floor. You will see awesome mosaics and deep spiritual messages. And, if like me you happen to be there on a Sunday morning, you might also see some parishioners handing out coffee and donuts after Mass, just like it was a little church in an American small town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Italian Style Church in DC”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This church really reminded us of ones we visited in Italy. Mosaics on the ceiling and murals on the walls of the side chapels were lovely to see. Very impressive and of historic significance since it was the sight of JFK's funeral.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LLL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for an escape after another crazy day in D.C. this is the place to be. Even if you are not a religious person this little gem in a crowded environment will definitely touch your soul. They did an outstanding job during the renovation and made St. Matthew a must for every visitor of Washington.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of St. Matthew the Apostle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing