We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for English style eatery.”
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
Ranked #440 of 3,237 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
traceythomas64
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad for English style eatery.”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We usually make a point of avoiding all things English when on holiday as, after all, if that's what you want then stay at home.

However, after a long, hot day walking around the tourist attractions, and it now being dark and feeling very tired, there seemed to be a lack of places to eat, so when we came across this we reluctantly went in.

We were pleasantly surprised though as this busy eatery served excellent food and had a good atmosphere. Wouldn't have been our first choice, but still it was fine. Decked out with televisions showing sports and all things British, there was also an outside seating area and all not too far from the White House.

I had a burger, something that I don't usually eat, but at least it was real meat as I was asked how I wanted it cooking. If you particularly want English food then I'd recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    61
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place to Chill with Friends after work”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Good food, great drinks, interesting mix of people. The premise of the place is all about location and comfort, if that's not you're thing then walk on by.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank R2D2-CamperVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I've eaten here before three years ago, and liked it. A meal this week was frankly terrible: the chicken fingers were grossly over salted and the fries burnt (wonder when they were cooked). Still a good beer selection - the only redeeming feature.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeeJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyons, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Martini specials at $5, menus includes simple to upscale. My Shepards pie was great, wife's salmon looked good ... Not as big or as well prepared as Circa, down the street, but she liked it. Easy to eat well for less than $50 for two.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun dinner”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great place to wind down after a long day of walking in DC. Great food and service. We had the fish and chips, chicken pot pie and drinks. Pricing was not bad. Busy place for dinner, one large group having an office party. Short walk from the American History Museum.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coffee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing