We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Walking the "dogs"”
other travellers have booked this property
WELCOME
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
WELCOME
WELCOME
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
WELCOME
WELCOME
Warm up around the fireplace in cold winter days
LIVING ROOM
Security Dog around the US Capitol
Cherry Blossom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Daniel R
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Walking the "dogs"”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived via the Metro which was 1/2 block from the residence. You will be a couple blocks from the Capital, close to the Mall in a quiet, safe historic district. The Capital neighborhood has a strong sense of community with plenty of parks, restaurants and fabulous row houses. Leave the car behind; most places are within walking distance. Now is the time to visit the nation's capital.
The residence is wonderful. In no time, you will feel at home in this immaculate one bedroom vacation rental. Marina M was very responsive to our needs and very helpful with information about the rental space and the surrounding community.
We would definitely return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PittFan68
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We loved this flat and couldn't be more pleased with our choice! First of all, the location is perfect. Close to the Metro and walking distance to Capital Hill. Secondly, the availability of on street parking in front of the flat for a minimal $15 fee can't be beat. Finally, the flat itself is spacious and well equipped with everything you might need. They even provide a hair dryer and bath products! The owners are great and respond quickly if you have any questions or issues. I can't imagine staying anywhere else the next time we are in D.C.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khalil K
Canotn, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location is everything when it comes to staying in DC”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely loved staying at this place. It is a short walk to the Capitol, metro subway and a very good Mexican restaurant and a cool bar called Bull feathers. We found the location to be prime for seeing the Capitol Hill area.

Marina keeps this place immaculate and clean. We had everything we needed. Kitchen was equipped well and bedroom was very comfortable. Thank you very much for the use of your place while in Washington DC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable 1-Bedroom Apt Close to the Capitol”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
6
people found this review helpful

This is a ground floor apartment in a historic row house. The owners live in the upper floors of the building. The apartment is spacious & clean. Super location on a quiet & attractive street but less than 5 minutes walk to the Capitol South Metro station. You can also easily walk to shops & restaurants on Penn. Ave & to Eastern Market area. The bed was comfortable & the modern shower worked well. We did not cook but the kitchen was sufficient for making meals. There is a nice gas fireplace in the living room. The decor has sort of a 1970's modern feel. My only suggestions would be to improve line up of cable channels & the heating duct to the bedroom was not letting much hot air through, but the comforter was very warm.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim B
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“hard to think of what could make it better”
Reviewed 19 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
5
people found this review helpful

My wife and I decided to go to DC for my birthday to visit all the museums. Neither of us had been there in 30 years. We much prefer renting an apartment instead of a hotel room. We have done it several times before and this was an excellent choice. Marina was very pleasant and provided a wealth of information on local restaurants and stores.
PROS:
Location: The location could not be better. Three blocks to the capital and two to the library of congress (The best tour we took. Absolutely amazing). There were excellent restaurants on the same block and more in about a 6 block radius. We either walked or took the Metro everywhere and there is a Metro station at the end of the block.

Furnishings: Everything was clean and in excellent shape and plenty of seating was provided. The TV had an unusual selection of channels, many we had never heard of before, along with Netflix and Amazon Prime so we never had trouble finding something to watch. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept better than we do at home.

Kitchen: Fully stocked and very modern. We found everything we needed.

Bathroom: One of the nicer ones we've rented with a very spacious and recently remodeled shower. Plenty of shampoo, conditioner and body wash, although we weren't big fans of the body wash. You might wish to bring your own.

Outside: There were two big wooden chairs by the water feature in front of the unit and a covered patio in back. Not a lot to see but nice if you want to sit outside.

Extras: Marina has thought ahead very well to provide for her customers. In the bathroom was a basket of "things you might have forgot", such as a comb, toothpaste, soap, etc. Candies were always available in the entryway and umbrellas were also available.

CONS:
The only downside was the construction going on next door. Hammering, drilling and sawing sounds came through the wall on and off all day. Obviously this isn't Marina's fault and nothing could be done but it did mar an otherwise perfect stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Construction next door
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storm72
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great place - great location!”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Lovely and spacious apartment a block away from the Capitol! Location was certainly key here and added wow factor!

Marina & James were there to greet us on our arrival and explain certain aspects of the accommodation and gave us recommendations for restaurants in the area. Apartment is ground floor of their home and is very big and spacious with comfortable furnishings. Bathroom has shower, and toiletries are provided. Plenty of utensils/plates in the kitchen, and tea/coffee was also provided. Also use of washing machine is allowed, which was handy, as we had been away for a few weeks. We felt safe and comfortable here, with no intrusion of privacy from the owners, but knowing we could reach them if we needed. Marina was very responsive to emails/bookings and very reassuring.

Apartment is in a lovely quiet street, 1 block away from Capitol South metro station. We walked a lot, but also found the metro really handy for places a bit further out to visit. Loads of restaurants nearby, all in walking distance.

All in all, great location for visiting Washington and would highly recommend booking if you want to be right in the center of it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing