We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak frites in town!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bearnaise

Bearnaise
Ranked #392 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best steak frites in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We've been looking all over town for good steak frites and this is the place! The steak was tender and flavorful and you get your choice of sauces (bearnaise, spicy bearnaise, bordelaise and poivre). 2 of our steaks were cooked just right (medium rare) but the third was a little over cooked. The frites were crisp and well seasoned and are unlimited. We didn't ask for more as we were pretty full. The escargots are served in a tiny tureen (6 snails) covered by a cap of puff pastry. Pretty good. The steak tartare was good too. All the food we tried was good. We were worried about the street parking but managed to snag a spot right in front. Unusual given that when we've tried to go to Good Stuff or We the Pizza in the past, street parking was impossible. Sometimes it's easier to just take the metro except on the weekend when they're doing track work and the metro runs every 20 minutes. I think because we were there on a Saturday night instead of a week night, and it was early (6:30) we were able to get a parking spot. I didn't care too much for the room they sat us in though -- just at the top of the stairs. We felt pretty isolated. Then a very loud, boisterous table was seated across the room and made it impossible to have any conversation. Their shreiks of laughter were so jarring that when new tables were seated they were dismayed at the noise. Service wasn't bad but they forgot our order of brussel sprouts so I can't say what they tasted like. The creme brulee oddly had chocolate chips scattered on top. The profiteroles weren't bad although the puff pastry was a bit dry and maybe wasn't as fresh as it should have been. We'd definitely go back, but would like to be seated in the larger room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JasKalBrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluemont, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went to Béarnaise on a beautiful Saturday morning in DC and sat at one of the outside tables to enjoy brunch. I had the Crème Brulee French Toast; husband had the Crispy Pigs Feet Hash. Both dishes were fine, husband enjoyed his dish very much; mine was fine, not extraordinary, just okay. Coffee was not as bold as I would have hoped, did not taste like a good French Roast coffee. But we enjoyed sitting out on the sidewalk enjoying the passersby. I would entertain going back to try the onion soup and steak frites.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
“Onion Soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Always a fan of onion soup, and Bernaise offers a very cheesy version. The soup broth was a little on the salty side; but, the melted gruyere cheese satisfied my craving. All staff was very friendly and accommodating. The bartender also makes a fantastic Sazerac!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PointsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“French bistro style dining on Capitol Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Went to Bearnaise on a busy Saturday night. Service was pleasant and efficient, particularly notable since we were dining late. We ate downstairs and did not see upstairs - atmosphere was fine, nothing particularly memorable. There were about 8 wines available by the glass. Menu is predominantly steak and mussels. My hangar steak was cooked perfectly and the beanaise sauce was very good. Onion soup was also very good and it seemed less salty than the norm. Since we were staying on Capitol Hill, the location was perfect - a 5 minute walk back to our hotel

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marymcgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The food was not bad, it was just ok! Nothing more and sure nothing less. If the atmosphere in the restaurant would have been nicer i would have considered giving this a 4 star rating but i don't. I was seated next to the door so every time the door would open i felt a very cold breeze passing by. When we asked the waiter if we could get another table this was impossible because of the fact they were fully booked... Well, after 2 hours the restaurant was still only at half capacity. The steak was to salty and the béarnaise was cold. When i ask for mayonaise which is typical to eat with your fries in France and in Belgium i got mayonaise that was not even freshly made. If you like this kind of food you better go to bistro du coin which is much more authentic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bearnaise also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Bearnaise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing