We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Washington Power Lunch Spot -- Lots of Washington History, Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Occidental Grill

Occidental Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Occidental Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Metrocenter 13 & F
Description: Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.
VA
Level Contributor
350 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Washington Power Lunch Spot -- Lots of Washington History, Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Occidental Grill is a very nice lunch spot for business colleagues or for an expensive meal for out-of-towners. I just had an excellent lunch: Gazpacho and the Lobster Roll. Best Lobster Roll I've ever had. About $30-$40 per person. But really first class.

The August lunch scene is very quiet. This is not a loud restaurant for lunchtime, at least not during August.

Out of towners and others may enjoy the wall of photos. This is not just a museum but a first rate lunch. No complaints and I have an impressed lunch companion. Great service, great atmosphere. Photos make it feel like old time Washington DC.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    206
    83
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kankakee, Illinois
1 review
“great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My family loved the Occidental. The food was exceptional, service was great and the atmosphere was right up there also. If you want to splurge, go to this restaurant!!! It is outstanding.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klb011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Five of us ranging in age from 14 to 80 ate here Friday, July 29th. We stayed at the Willard and the concierge recommended this restaurant to us.

We had the Classic Lobster Bisque, Red Buttercrunch Bibb Lettuce Salad, and Occidental Caesar Salad for appetizers. Unfortunately these were served with our entrees. There were no apologies for these being served with our entrees or no reductions in our bill. The Bisque and Caesar salad were palatable, but the Buttercrunch Bibb salad was sour.

Our entrees consisted of Center cut filet mignon and the roasted amish organic half chicken. All were edible but certainly nothing special.

Our bill totaled over $220.00. Definitely not worth the price for the quality of the food received and the average service. I would not return here or recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plswinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
208 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overpriced & unremarkable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Was taken to the Occidental by a couple lobbyists for lunch and that I might be in for a treat....NOT!

Had the chopped salad with shrimp. For $26 (even in DC), I'd expect more than a some that would fill a bread plate, that had only shrimp medium sized shrimp and was underdressed. Disappointing to say the least. I could get a better salad at McDonalds.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMfromMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What's up with the French accent?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Nice location, the food was just average, nothing to write home about. The location is good though and has a nice open area. I did notice that everyone had or pretended a french accent... I didn't get that

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hugo0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Occidental Grill also viewed

 

Been to Occidental Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing