We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

701 Pennsylvania Ave Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
701 Pennsylvania Ave Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #287 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 7th
Transit: We sit directly on top of the Archives - Navy Memorial Metro on the Yellow/Green Lines. We are 3 blocks south of the Gallery Place/Chinatown Metro on the Red Line.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

701's summer menu had a theme of heirloom tomatoes with many nice twists. From an excellent appetizer of fresh palm hearts to succulent salmon with charred tomato salad and wonderful sorbets, we enjoyed the meal. Highly recommended and very reasonably priced.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zuviel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    80
    36
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Landmark still among the best in DC”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

701 has been in a prominent location on Pennsylvania Avenue for a long time. But it is definitely not tired. In fact the food and service remain among the very best in Washington DC. We eat at many restaurants in DC for business and social purposes, including all the " latest" . And today I was reminded just how good this place is. The quality today, beautiful presentation of the food on the plate, the impeccable and seamless service. I always take clients there and social guests from out of town. They're always impressed and pleased with this lunch or evening. Thank you for creating continuously higher standards, while the rest of DC continues to try to catch up with you.

Helpful?
Thank ourmanindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice special outing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our boss took us out for a "cultural day" field trip (read: playing hooky). We thought it was a lovely restaurant, the food was good, our waitstaff was excellent, and I thought $25 for appetizer, entree and dessert was reasonable.Good people-watching sitting by the window. Just about 1 1/2 blocks to the National Museum of Art, so an easy walk. I found the portions to be very reasonable; not stuffed when leaving, which I guess some people are used to.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant unless your hungry”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Location is great, restaurant is very nice looking and the service is excellent. The only thing lacking for me today was the food.

The quality was ok not great but ok.The quantity was unbelievable. I order the steak - they gave me three slices (of Steak) and 2 french fries for $36 (plus tax and tip). All the portions for the party of 6 were tiny. No point eating here with all the other awesome restaurants in the area. Shame because it's a nice place... unless you are very rich and like to eat like a bird.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A splurge, worth the price”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Mrs. fabulousdave and I visited 701 on a Saturday night to use a Living Social offer for the chef's tasting menu (the offer saved us a mere $9 off the usual price, nothing great). The theme for the tasting menu was "tomatoes;" every dish, including dessert, had something to do with that fruit. Between the two of us we had corn chowder, hearts of palm salad, grilled salmon, and for dessert ricotta beignets and stuffed plum tomatoes (stuffed with a pecan-sugar mixture).

The corn chowder was delicious and incredibly rich, with the cream tempered by a scoop of very interesting lime-jalapeno sorbet. My hearts of palm salad was nicely dressed and came with its own scoop of sorbet (if I understood the waiter correctly, it was a hearts of palm sorbet -- tasty and unexpected).

We both selected the salmon for our entree. It came on a bed of quinoa and was great. The chef *slightly* overcooked our salmon; we ordered it rare and it arrived medium, which was not what we asked for but was still perfectly delicious. The management brought us complimentary dessert wines as a gesture of apology. Very nice, much appreciated, mostly unnecessary, and a good reflection of how 701 earned its reputation as a top restaurant.

While we like 701 and have been there several times over the last few years, DC has a number of high-end restaurants that give 701 a run for its money (the Oval Room is an example).

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fabulousdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 701 Pennsylvania Ave Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to 701 Pennsylvania Ave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing