We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Bar”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #201 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$70
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: S Street NW
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Washington DC serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Little Bar”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We ducked in here because it was cocktail hour, and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is very comfortable, and quite popular, judging by the number of patrons. We were only going to have one drink at the bar, but when we saw the menu we decided to order a snack. The seared tuna and the meat skewers were so delicious we ordered more and stayed for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2walkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    133
    49
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Delicious steak; gloomy surroundings”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

It was our first time for seven years or so at this franchise. It confirmed what we rememeber end. Delicious steak, and mushrooms too. A bit pricey but worth it for the quality. The surroundings inside were dark and a bit old-fashioned. In the glass extension was better. You get what you expect here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GBeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for corporate events. Lives up to its reputation.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was invited to a corporate event at the NW DC Ruth's Chris location. We had a private room upstairs and a dedicated team of servers for the evening. The room and all the tables were snugly fit with all the attendees, leaving little room for the wait staff to move around. Nevertheless, they were very attentive and classy, making sure our glasses were never empty long and our used dishes didn't linger.

Bread and butter was set out early and we were able to select an entree, but salad and dessert was preset. I chose the filet mignon over crab cakes, but later I heard that the New York strip here is spectacular as well. My filet was cooked to perfection, medium, as I requested. The quality of the taste was excellent, as expected.

The only caveat of the event was that the air conditioning for our space couldn't keep up with the number of people (about 25), so fans were brought in to supplement. While I was quite comfortable all evening, others complained of being too hot that night. That said, I would still recommend this location for a corporate event intended to impress current or prospective customers.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Should be, could be better”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have to agree with other raters, too casual approach. Had to wait for service at a empty bar and had to ask the bartender to wipe the counter???? Come on, I then listened to banter with a regular and I assume the manager. The bartender was not a professional type. Food was ok, bread almost cold, salad nothing special and the filet was good but not great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHG2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I’ve dined at about 5 different Ruth’s Chris in the last 3 years. This was the most disappointing meal that I’ve experienced. Hopefully, it was an “off” night for them because it was not your typical Ruth’s Chris dining experience. Server was just ok and my steak was overcooked. This is very unusual for this chain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing