We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Obelisk

Obelisk
Ranked #289 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I loved the antipasti. I thought the first and second courses were very plain. There weren't any sauces or fresh herbs. The scallops an tagliolini were so blah - too many breadcrumbs, but no sauce on the past and no garlic taste. There were only 3 choices, one of which was pigeon. My husband doesn't like fish or pigeon so we had to go with the veal chops, but you had to get it for 2. I could not order what I really wanted, the salmon. If there are only 3 choices, you should be able to get each one for one person. Also, disappointed in the wines. They were all Italian, nothing really full bodied. The mint sauce on the cake was too minty. The lemon dessert with lemon ice cream was wonderful. All in all, the food was disappointing. The service was superb, and our server was very sweet. Too many other great restaurants in DC to go back to such a limited menu and average food. We did get a lot of food for the money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyManassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    43
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culpeper, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super for Foodies.. a true gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

would go back again and again.. our first visit. and id not disappoint... worth the price..

you will be VERY full when you leave.. only glitch.. timing of gratis items a bit off... work on pacing ..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still got it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Last Sat night, we went to Obelisk for my belated (6 mos!) bday dinner. It's my fave restaurant here in DC and really was excited to go back. We were among the first seated and got a nice table close to the window. We ordered a nice bottle of amarone, and the waitress brought out the evening's menu. As we perused, out came the antipasti . This is one of the highlights of a meal here! That evening's goodies included the wonderful burrata with seasalt and EVOO. YUM! And their breadsticks are sooo good. Then we had fried onions & sardines; smoky eggplant crostini; pork belly terrine; a tangy arugula salad. I think that was it... and then we ordered. Pasta course choices included a greens ravioli w/ sage & butter and proscuitto; a lobster ravioli in a clam broth; and whole wheat hollow spaghetti in a burst tomato and pancetta/garlic sauce. Hubby chose the 2nd and i chose the 3rd. AWESOME!! the portions were just the right size too, like in italy. Then the main course choices were seared seabass with mussels; pork belly with some sort of veggies; and tuscan small chicken cooked under a brick with preserved lemon, olives & artichokes. Hubby had the pork belly & loved it and i got the chicken. It was SO flavorful and moist but too much so gave half to him. Really enjoyed the preparation. Then out came the cheese course; 3 generous pieces each of mainly white cheeses, semi soft, 2 mild and one a little tangier. We had them box it up cos i was already full and we still had dessert coming! As is sometimes the case at Obelisk the desserts aren't as stellar as the rest of the meal. The choices were grapefruit granita with some other stuff (really?? who would order that??) ; chocolate pudding & cherries; and panforte with spice ice cream, which is a tuscan fruit & nut cake. We both got the cake and while it was good, it wasn't a truly memorable finish and i was a little disappointed! :( I always get excited there when they have the panna cotta so if you go and they have it, get it!! The experience was 2 hours, we never felt rushed but were expertly cared for. I had an Americano with dessert which was the perfect finish. At 85 a head on sat nights, you expect something really great and you get it. If you are a DC resident and haven't been, GO!!! If you are visiting, put this on the top of your list but do make reservations as far ahead as you can since it is very small (11 tables) with only 2 seatings a night. It's like being at a friend's dinner party if your friend is a gourmet chef!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Paradiso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We visited Obelisk for dinner during the January ice storm and the experience was simply wonderful. Yes, the menu is limited but my husband and I had no difficulty in making selections and every bite was perfectly composed, prepared, and seasoned. The service was unobtrusively casual but professional, each person there knew every detail of the menu and how it should be served. We had a late seating and were the last to leave but were never rushed. All of the extra bites and offerings from the chef were a joy. Expensive and so very worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nicebottleofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of the best meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Fixed price menu (with a couple options to pick your main dish) of five courses, all of which were delicious. Hard to find, unless you are specifically looking for it (it is upstairs in a residential looking townhouse), which only adds to the experience. Servers were incredible. Prepare to take your time, though - our meal was about 3 hours long. Maybe we talk too much though!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Obelisk also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Obelisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing