We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was it worth it?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier

Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier
Reserve with OpenTable
Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 24th and 25th
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
Description: Since 1999, Chef Wiedmaier infuses his Belgian heritage into Marcel's elegant haute French flagship restaurant. Regularly topping the best-of-lists in the nation's capital, in 2011 and 2012, it was rated the top restaurant for food by Zagat as well as one of the top five restaurants for service.
Santa Barbara, California, USA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Was it worth it?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

On rare occasion we jump into a restaurant like this hoping for a very unique dining experience at a rather high price. From the weight staff down to the dessert at the end....we were not disappointed. The menu made it quite clear that our choices were going to be unique and artistically done. This experience was not at the top of our over the top dining choices, but we did not come away feeling cheated. Our biggest mistake was not getting some wine help when it came to matching the meal choices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wailes45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    81
    33
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Asked for a fancy restaurant and got it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We went for our anniversary after asking the hotel concierge for a fancy French restaurant. The food, service, and ambience were outstanding in every way. The waiter was consistently attentive and helpful. The menu is somewhat unusual, but ultimately fascinating. Very expensive, but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Burt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
905 reviews
459 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
“Marcel's - Very Good, But With Hiccups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have been dining at Marcel's for years, and have greatly enjoyed each visit. We had missed them, the previous two trips to DC, so made sure to include them on this one.

The venue is lovely, understated and elegant. The service is usually one of the best aspects, but things just seemed to go a bit wrong on this trip. I have to take responsibility for part of the issue.

First, we ordered our white wine, a Jean Charton Puligny-Montrachet, and were asked if we were ready to order our meals. I should have put that off for just a bit, and ordered our red wine next. Due to that mistake, the food began arriving, even before the Montrachet did. Then, the Pinot Noir that I chose was out, but it took about 15 mins. to get that news to me. Then, the second choice was also out, so another 15 mins. went by. At that point, the sommelier offered a lovely Nuit St. George with a price match to my second choice, but by the time that it finally arrived, most courses were done, or cold. My bad - always order the first two wines, BEFORE any food.

We were treated to a Honeydew & Honey amuse bouche w/ Cinnamon Croutons. This was wonderful!

Courses were:

Pan Seared La Belle Farm Foie Gras, Butterscotch and Roasted Apricot - with a glass of Muscat de Beaumes-de-Venise. This was a $16 supplement, and worth it. It was a unique treatment, and the only thing that kept it out of the "all time top-10 Foie Gras" was a bit too much connective tissue in the liver. Still, wonderfully rich and flavorful. I managed to keep a bit of the Muscat, in case we had a bleu cheese, but the Blue 61 was not quite sharp enough to benefit.

Crispy Dover Sole w/ Scallop Mousseline, Butternut Squash Puree in Sauce Meunière - lovely and the Sole WAS "crisp," without being dried out in any way. I think that a larger portion of this dish would have made a great entrée.

Belgian Beer Battered Soft Shell Crab, Cucumber, Mango, Avocado and Sweet Tomato Chutney - a very good dish, but not the ultimate Soft Shell Crab course of the trip. The Mango was a nice touch. Very good, but not the best.

European Turbot, Squash Blossom, Sweet Corn Bread Pudding, Watercress w/ Thyme Cream - we were expecting the Squash Blossom to be a bit more of an integral part of the dish, but it was represented by a small piece lying atop the Turbot. The flavors and textures were nice, but we felt the dish just not quite come together, as well as it should have.

Skate Wing and Duxelles, Roasted Pee Wee Potatoes, Lemon Caper Butter and Chive Blossom - Much better dish, and the Pee Wee Potatoes was wonderfully flavorful. Wish that I had received the Pinot Noir before I had this plate in front of me.

House Made Ricotta Agnolotti, Veal Bolognese, Shaved Parmesan and Micro Basil - a nice dish, but it would have benefited from the PN too.

Braised Pork Belly, Salsify Puree, Lemon Drop Melon, Watermelon and a Honey Balsamic Emulsion - one plate had perfectly cooked Pork Belly, while the other had a section that was underdone. Like Duck Breast, i feel that Pork Belly is tougher to get perfect, than it looks - one needs to render the fat, crisp the outside, but not overcook, or dry out the interior. One was perfect, where the other came in at ~ 80%. The other elements of the dish were very good, and interesting.

Cheese Course - here the kitchen kindly did a mix-n-match with all selections, and that was appreciated. This included the Chimay (a Chimay Trappist Ale-washed rind cheese, that was excellent), the Melted Montoissie, an Epoisses, and the Blue 61.

The service was very efficient - almost too much so, especially due to the glitch with the red wine, and the food was nearly perfect.

We will definitely be back, and probably on our next trip in October - but I will choose both wines before the meal order has been placed. Still, my minor complaints are based on their usual perfection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill_Hunt_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview Park, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stellar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Marcels was recommended to us from our conceirge when we asked for a great French restaurant. I looked on Trip Advisor and then saw that Marcels was in fact rated number one in Washington DC.

We were not disappointed. The food was exquisite. We had many different course options. We chose the five-course dinner which included dessert. The portions were perfect. We are moderate eaters, and we did not feel like we overate, but instead we were able to enjoy each course and the fine details from the chef. Handmade pasta at a French restaurant? Fabulous. The pork belly was also exquisite. But what really made our evening stellar, was our waiter, Jonathan. His service, suggestions, and wonderful conversation throughout the night heightened our experience. We left this romantic restaurant with huge smiles and felt like we have found our spot when we return to Washington, DC. We will be back!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We have a new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Everything was delicious. The service was superb. The wine menu was impressive. We could not have asked for a better experience.

My wife and I each got the 5-course tasting, and at least one of us loved everything we got (you have to allow SOME difference in taste). Some of it was truly spectacular. She couldn't get enough of the mussels, and I thought the veal bolognese might have been the best thing I've ever eaten. The filet, often something non-steakhouses phone in, was exceptional.

It's not something we can do more than once a year, of course, but we will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing