We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice downtown lunch location”
Review of Teatro Goldoni - CLOSED

Teatro Goldoni
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 19th and K
Transit: Farragut North Station - Metro
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A nice downtown lunch location”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It was a little too hot and muggy to sit outside, so we asked for a table indoors. Very nice decor. Lots of business men/women - to e expected. Service was good, but could be better. There were lapses when no one was around (for example, when I wanted some fresh cracked pepper). But, once we were served, no one was disappointed. The stuffed(with crabmeat) mushrooms were good, but not spicy enough for my tastes. Arugula salad was tasty. A variety of entrees (incl. skirt steak, chicken caesar salad, shrimp fettucini) were excellently prepared. In fact, the caesar - although a tad pricey - was one of the best I've ever had! Almost too pretty to eat! No desserts today; maybe, on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyceInDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very poor service - food poor”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We just had a meal at Teatro restaurant - which was an important event for us but the service and the quality of the food left a lot to be desired. The waiter was abrupt - service was slow and weak - we had to chase our dishes - ask for cutlery - even call the waiter's attention a few times. Food nothing to write home about - the pasta was way overcooked had I been alone i would have sent it back and possibly walked out. Starter was good.
Overall weak not really worth visiting and should not be called italian.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not consistent”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Three of us went for a lovely outdoor lunch. Service was fine and the food plentiful to include their "box lunch." The mashed potatoes under spinach was delicious as a side dish for two of us although the spinach was salty. The table bread was excellent. Because this was such a nice outing, we decided to go to dinner with another couple. Service was terrible. Only three if us got our appetizers while the fourth had to wait quite a while--we had to ask where her appetizer was and were told it was coming. I had to ask twice for my ginger ale that only came after I finished my appetizer. Again, with our main entrees mine was missing. Again, we had to ask where it was. Again, " it is coming." Standard high DC prices ($17.00 for a Caesar salad, a tad mayonnaisey too) without good service--won't be hurrying back anytime soon. we were a bit embarrassed that we recommended this for our get -together.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very poor service, reasonable food”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Went for a drink and some bar food after work. Walked in and waited a few minutes before someone came to seat me. Ordered a drink which took a while to arrive. Once finished I tried several times to catch a waiter's attention with no success (although the place was 20% occupied). Decided to move to the bar where I was able to attract some attention. Ordered a pasta dish which was served with a side dish of attitude. The food was rather nice but the staff too busy running here and there to refil my drink.Basically I was made to feel as if I was a burden. Will not return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Venice in DC!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Style & decor are Venezia all the way from the lovely semicircular tables in bright color fabrics to the harlequin plaid squares on the walls to hand blown venetian glass ceiling lights.
Started with a bottle of Moët Chandon.
The cuisine is very good. We started with the lobster and scallop salad which was delicious. My partner had the teralatini with duck ragu. Excellent. I had the penne carbonara. Hot and creamy.
We split the coconut galette with ice cream. It was served semi - frozen with an apricot in the center of the cake. Very nice! Our wait staff, Said, was most accommodating!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob and Barry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro Goldoni also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing