We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Quiet. Perfect for substantive lunches where conversation is key”
Review of Tosca Restaurant

Tosca Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tosca Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: between 11th and 12th
Washingtoin DC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good. Quiet. Perfect for substantive lunches where conversation is key”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a great spot by Metrocenter. Very good food. Served well by attentive staff. Room excellent. Understated. well soundproofed. Everyone can hear one another without the noise level rising. Not a place for rowdy lunches. This is for power lunches that matter in a venue that knows how to treat its clientele with respect. No one hurries you. For a good lunch downtown it is the best Italian in the city.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stumack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    114
    41
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classy and very good Italian Restaurant in DC”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I've been to quite a lot of Italian restaurants in Italy and elsewhere in Europe, and this is by far the most classy. Everything is very professional, but also informal. The service is excellent. Our very kind Tuscan waitress knew presented a lot of useful information about their specials which wine we should chose etc. This place is good for special occasions, upper scale tourism as well as business dinners. You should book a table in advance, especially during the weekend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mariusmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdagno, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This is a very good restaurant”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Finding an Italian restaurant in America is not so easy. I mean, when you read the reviews, most of them are made by American people, so it is difficult for an Italian understand how much the food meets the Italian taste. In this case, luckily we found many reviews written by Italian people. Excellent quality, good mix of tastes and a smart atmosphere. I enjoyed my dinner so much!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bettal81_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, good service.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Service could use a little more friendliness. Took clients, prepaid, etc. had to add two at last minute, they seemed pretty put out about it. Food was great, so I'd go back, but with so many other options it would be more out of proximity than choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaladis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've ever had.”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We were seated at our reservation time. Our waiter was knowledgeable but not pushy. It's rare today to go to restaurant with adequate staffing that allows the waitstaff time to spend with customers with questions. A wonderful meal - highly recommend the ravioli.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tosca Restaurant also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Tosca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing