We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food!”

Alero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #647 of 3,236 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
Restaurant details
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We really like this place. The food is very good and the atmosphere is great. This place is good for young couples and groups of friends. We suggest the chicken and beef fajitas in particular. Quick service and kind waiters. Not expensive at all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolidgeCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    42
    23
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not going back”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was my first meal in Washington this last trip and it was a mistake. Service staff were okay, but the food was a miserable disappointment. I ordered the chimichanga which is probably my favourite Mexican dish. What was served was the smallest chimichanga I have ever seen. I asked the waitress if perhaps they had given me the cheaper lunch portion by mistake, but she confirmed that was the full portion. The sangria came in a margarita glass which meant that there was too little of it also. The food was okay, but nothing spectacular and unfortunately not worth the money. Also, although it was lunch, the dining area smelt of the kitchen and I left smelling of fried food. Sorry, I just expected much more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, casual Mexican food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wandered into this place on a business trip. I was attracted by the funky Halloween decorations, but really enjoyed my tamales platter. Great location near Dupont Circle and good prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parker J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was awesome!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The food was fantastic! My husband & I both ordered fajitas (one steak & one pork). Both came with a good amount of meat, and the steak was fork tender. Also had the Cadillac margarita that was delicious & pretty strong. All together, it was $41. The server was not rude but not the most friendly we have ever had. Despite his lack of personality, we never went without anything we needed. We would absolutely recommend Alero!

Helpful?
Thank cfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“OK food; terrible service”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Walked in at about 4 minutes to 7:00 pm and was greeted by wait staff dancing and yelling 'Happy Hour!'. Our waiter came to our table promptly at 7:00 (and they were far from busy) and when we asked about happy hour prices, we were told 'No'. Hmmm. Food arrived -- I split the combination fajitas with my adult daughter. She's a vegetarian, I am not. Asked for steak and veggie and to separate. They did not. They gave us 3 flour tortillas. We asked for more right away. Then asked someone else. Then asked someone else and finally got a couple more. It was all extremely ridiculous as there were SO many wait staff just standing around and talking among themselves but none to be found when we needed something. If I weren't visiting with old friends I haven't seen in a while, I would have just left.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing