We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view...not so good service and food.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Graham Georgetown Observatory Rooftop Lounge

The Graham Georgetown Observatory Rooftop Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The Graham Georgetown Observatory Rooftop Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #834 of 3,188 Restaurants in Washington DC
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
147 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great view...not so good service and food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were invited to a dinner for about 25 people at the Graham to celebrate the recent marriage of our friend's son. The evening started out on the rooftop which does have a great view of DC. However, it was very crowded even though we had a reserved space. The appetizers were good...nothing extraordinary.

We then moved to the basement for the dinner. It was a very small room for 25 people and basically had one main waiter for all of us. He tried very hard to serve us but with the crowded space, difficult access to get around, and no other waiters; our dinners were luke warm by the time we started eating. My husband had the salmon and I had steak, and we were very disappointed in what should have been a very memorable meal. The celebration was wonderful in spite of the food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cr8joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Kitchen Never Has the Food Offered on Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

not sure why, but the last few time I dined at the restaurant, some of the food is not available. Management might want to look into this or take the items off the menu.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JosephDC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Incredible view and classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The atmosphere was incredible. Classy patrons and staff. Weather was fantastic.
Drinks were overpriced...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff sucks!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very arrogant staff for no reason. The doorman is super rude. I will never set foot back in this establishment. The bar downstairs is kind of small. The rooftop is nice but the dress code is a little sketchy. Do you really want to sit outside in 90 degree summer DC humidity with close toe shoes? No thanks.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shonmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooftop Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This July we hosted a birthday party for my daughter and 55 of her friends on the hotel's Rooftop and were beyond impressed by the way the entire event was handled. Everyone from the Event Coordinators to the Doorman to the Front Desk was involved in making the party a success. At our first meeting with the Catering Sales Manager, we felt she understood what we wanted for the party and was accommodating with helpful suggestions. The Food and Beverage Manager gave us options on hors d’oeuvres, which the guests said were delicious. We were able to make changes to the event via email which was convenient and well understood. The night of the event, thanks to the on-site Coordinator, Bartender and the wonderful drink server (who the guests raved about), everything went as planned and the Rooftop ambiance was perfect. Feedback from the guests was all positive! For a staff that does this on a routine basis in Washington, their helpful attitude, attention to detail and teamwork to ensure that all guests were taken care of, was professionalism at its best. Based on the great service we received we would highly recommend The Graham Georgetown to our friends and would be glad to host a future event there.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Graham Georgetown Observatory Rooftop Lounge also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to The Graham Georgetown Observatory Rooftop Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing