We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesaver at lunch”
Review of Johnny Rockets

Johnny Rockets
Ranked #740 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lifesaver at lunch”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stopped in at Union Station for lunch in conjunction with a visit to the Postal Museum across the street. On the day that we were there, hundreds of school students were swarming the basement food court. As a result, there were long lines at the counter service restaurants, and no tables available in the food court. I was wondering where we were going to eat when my wife and I noticed that Johnny Rockets was not all that busy and had sit-down seating. We went in, and we sat down at a table near the back and along the wall to get away from the din of the students who were congregating out front. The waiter took our order right away, and the food came out very fast, and was very good. My wife had a hamburger and I had a tuna melt. We also got a side order of French fries. The cost was not bad, and we were out in 40 minutes or less. If we ever go to Union Station at lunch time in the future, we will be sure to visit Johnny Rockets again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    63
    42
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk uk
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“The tastiest burger I had in DC”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I am English I am of course familiar with other fast food outlets which have crossed the Atlantic but as far as I know this chain is not in England, or at least it's not in Suffolk where I live.
I loved the retro feel the jukeboxes and so on.

I was very surprised by the burger much thicker than other well known chains and my waitress was delightful. She was bewildered though, when I asked if I could have small salad with my burger, an attempt to be healthier, so I gave that idea up but I was more than satisfied with what I had.

As another British reviewer says it really hit the spot, better than we have at hone except in up market pretentious places in London, which would charge three times the price. Recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartesthorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
203 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So fun!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We loved the soda shop feel, the burgers were great and the nickel jukeboxes were just a perfect touch. We were a party of 9 and we were served quickly, and the prices were fairly reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hanging with the bears”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

One day I had the bears at work and we usually go over to Union Station but hadn't been to JRockets. Son bear loves cheeseburgers - daughter bear likes BLTs, they have both. Happy momma bear. Service was good and the burgers still good. Nice lunch with the bears.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4BearsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
469 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

If you want a typical American Burger in a typical American Burger bar, then this works just fine. The atmosphere was great, the burger was really good. The service was friendly. I'm not pretending it was anything really special, but for a Brit in the States, it absolutely hit the spot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnny Rockets also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Rockets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing