We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff.”

Ristorante La Perla
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante La Perla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #124 of 3,228 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$75
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 26th & Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Transit: We are located within a walking distance from the Foggy-Bottom Metro Station which is serviced by the Blue and Orange Lines.
Description: The restaurant of choice of many distinguished diners and restaurant critics, Ristorante La Perla of Washington, located near Georgetown at the tail-end of the historic Pennsylvania Avenue, takes its diners on a culinary journey through Italy with elegant decor surpassed only by authentic mouth-watering Italian masterpiece cuisine. During Lunch and Dinner hours, pastas and flavorful sauces simmer while prime meats, poultry, seafood and vegetables roast to treat diners to a little bit of heaven, with a long lasting memory for your taste buds, thanks to the vision of famous chef Vittorio Testa, who has kept alive the Italian culinary tradition for over three decades. Chef-Owner Vittorio Testa will make you feel like you're dining in his house. The waiters exceed expectations, and the space is garnished with painted tiles and Venetian glass to make every dining occasion a memorable one. There's also Private dining and Outdoor seating when the weather permits.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I arrived at this restaurant without reservations. Since it was early they allowed my party of 5 to come in. We were very happy with both the quality of the food and the service. Not one of my party left dissatisfied. I have visited Italy in the past and this was truly an Italian experience. Great food and great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    92
    26
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Frozen in Time”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There are few dining options after a performance at the Kennedy Center. Ristorante La Perla is one of them, and last night was our first visit. It was disappointing.

Most offputting was the interior decor. It is all cheap reproductions of Botticelli's Venus in tile, Michelangelo's Moses in miniature, Roman friezes, and a brightly lit dessert display case where the maitre d' should be, surrounded by picture windows facing onto an underused patio and Pennsylvania Avenue. The waiters speak tourist Italian -- "grazie," "certo, signore," etc. -- to excess, and the muzak is standard-issue operatic tenor stuff. I thought I was back in Philadelphia's best tourist-grade Italian restaurant around 1970!

Chef Testa makes regular tours of the room to receive the compliments of diners. His *cucina* is good but not remarkable fare. We had a Manhattan-style clam chowder that was tasty but not particularly Italian, a special pasta appetizer with touches of squid ink and caviar that was again tasty but without distinctive flavors, and a special seafood entree of pasta in a champagne-saffron sauce with a couple glasses of unremarkable house wine. We passed on the cheesecake, tiramisu, and other standard desserts. The bill, for three dishes and three drinks, was on the pricey side.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank REOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice dinner outside”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Two blocks away from our Hotel, this place is very charming. The restaurant is beautiful but we had dinner outside. Very cool place with amazing umbrellas (Led lights in the structure). The service was ok but the servers were very nice. Just please guys serve the ladies first ! Very nice cuisine totally Italian.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yves G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here many times with friends and business colleagues and everyone has always felt this was some of the best Italian food they had ever eaten this side of Italy ! Last time, I ordered gnocchi and it was amazing ! The service is top notch and the chef always comes out to chat and see if our meal is good. Never a disappointment !

Helpful?
Thank Cookkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was not impressed by the food at this restaurant. Presentation was drab and the taste was just ordinary. For the prices they charge I expected something a bit special. I will say that the wait staff was very attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Perla also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Ristorante La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing