We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great warm breakfasts!”
Review of Corner Bakery Cafe

Corner Bakery Cafe
Ranked #15 of 57 Bakeries in Washington DC
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Neighbourhood: Dupont Circle
Description: Fresh & delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner & catering, we're dedicated to keeping you happy in your Corner of the world.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great warm breakfasts!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

When we visit DC, we always stay at The Quincy, which is right across the street from the Corner Bakery. We always start our days here. I have a fondness for their cinnamon rolls and hot sausage; my wife loves their fruit-studded pastries.

The staff is wonderful - delightfully personable. The first time we went, they put us at ease and made the visit to a new restaurant altogether enjoyable. On return visits they made us feel like old friends, joking, smiling, having a great time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gr
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great for any time of the day”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The first time I went there for breakfast, which was very nice, but also is perfect for light lunch or coffee. The maple/pecan bar was excellent. Also all the paninis and the soup which is served in the bread!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mf2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, tasty breakfast”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This place is a chain, but the service was really warm and our breakfast sandwiches were delicious. I love when menus list calories and this place does. Great selection whether you're trying to watch your weight or indulging.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Irina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The woman at the counter called me "baby" and recommended I add the fruit cup to my breakfast order. It was delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajeradeiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food OK, Service is Terrible”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Not that I expect the world from a chain that's one-up from fast food, but if this place ever gets my order correct, I will eat my hat. I work down the block and quite literally every time I go in they take forever to make the order (even when they're not that busy) and totally screw it up.

So, watch what the cashier rings up. Half the time they ring the wrong item. The other half of the time it's rung up correctly and the kitchen just makes something else. It's mind boggling.

The other morning a guy had ordered a croissant toasted. He was standing there for 7 minutes waiting for them to toast a croissant. He was yelling at them asking why it was taking so long to toast bread. No one would talk to him, they just ignored him until he finally confronted the cashier and said, just give me the croissant. She argued with him that she would toast it, and he said "I've got to go, I'm late!" and left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bodhi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corner Bakery Cafe also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Corner Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing