We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From To Go to Eat In, great food and a good price”

la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Georgetown
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“From To Go to Eat In, great food and a good price”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Even though it's french, the cuisine has something for everyone. I love the healthy options like the egg white omelet with spinach, mushrooms and tomato. The mushroom soup is out of this world. Ok, the baked goods are also amazing. You have to have a fresh croissant when you are there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    26
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Brunch Hangout”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Food is great, atomosphere is great. It's a little pricey for what you get and the coffee could be better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank aichaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Franch ambience,”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Great place for lunch, this a chain where you can guarantee quality at a fair price. Good place to buy bread, the quality will depend on the company. I am taking my good lady there today.4

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ethhvuhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Its not really French! but who cares its delicious”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The food has french names, but the presentation and looks of the place is Ala-Madeleine. Love the name.

its all good here, I love their sandwiches, all are delicious. The quality can be off sometimes, i.e they burned my bread, I did not complain because it was still delicious. Also the salad a few times has been soggy. I used to go to the Georgetown one, which is now closed. Great place for Sunday brunch or weekday lunch.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast!”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I'd forgotten how much I enjoy the food at LaMadeleine - the omelet and croissant were delicious! And coffee is hot and strong. Ordering at the counters is still confusing at times, but the food satisfies. Especially like the mini- desserts and pastries -- a little bit of yumminess!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed la Madeleine French Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing