We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Symbolic”

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Symbolic”
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

While we were disappointed that the fountains were off during winter, we witnessed a special visit from some veterens. A "Freedom Flight" is a visit to the war memorials by veterans, and is sponsored through charitable donations. It was especially moving to see those 100 old men, many in wheelchairs, gather as brothers and reflect on this important part of their lives. It made me even more proud to be an American.

Helpful?
Thank Snoil1989
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

7,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,350
    1,578
    369
    75
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Once you see Korean Monument, this is a let down. It is good but the Korean Monument really over shadows everything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CathyLou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
244 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Impersonal monument”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

WW II was a very significant part of history in the 20th century. This monument is about the institution of war and the collective contributions rather than the contributions of the people that fought and supported the war.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paying homage to the Greatest Generation”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I had wanted to visit this site since it was erected in the early 2000s. I found my father's name on the registration kiosk, as he was a WWII vet. We had donated in his name to help build this memorial after he passed away in 1999. It is a beautiful monument and it was very emotional for me to see it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KKF219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This memorial became my favorite. Absolutely loved the art work on the walls entering the Memorial. Especially loved the bald eagles just breath taking. Took picture of our state unfortunately I would have liked to see teenagers act more respectfully meaning not standing by their states wall with their middle finger up for their pictures

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing