We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Too.”

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Washington DC National Mall Evening Walking Tour
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Small-Group Sunset Electric Bike Tour in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Too Too.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's a bit tricky writing a review of a war memorial as close to our memories as this one and not eulogising about it. If you had friends or relatives who served in a specific theatre then a particular column might serve as 'your' one. Otherwise, the vast commemorative circle was nothing short of an undignified mass of noisy youngsters and snap happy middle aged hooligans unwilling to wander too far from the lavatories. In an utterly quiet setting, a long evening walk around the memorial, with a good Cuban, would be an outstanding way to spend an hour and a half. When we were there there was little in the way of commemoration and more along the lines of a trophy box tick. Nonetheless you have to visit this site. I hope you could arrange your visit to coincide with fewer people than we found. The place is a dignified one. The people turn it into a circus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,592
    1,654
    391
    79
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Emotional place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

With so much to see this must be a priority. Most Americans have a grandfather or distant relative that served during World War II. The Veterans of this war are from a generation like no other and it is so great that they have somewhere to meet and reflect on WWII.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ro_z_disposition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mighty and Powerful”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Of all of DC's monuments, this is my favorite monument. I could spend a lot of time here. Each state is represented with a column. Also, one side deals with the Pacific theatre and the other deals with the Atlantic theatre. There is a wall of golden stars. When we were there, Honor Flight organization had brought 15 or so World War 2 vets to see the monument. People were standing in line to shake the hands of the vets and to thank them for their service. It was very moving to see the expressions on the faces of these vets. They made this stone monument come to life. Priceless!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank QSKSHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great site”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were lucky when we visited, because we witnessed the recognition of some Chicago area WWII veterans. They were honored right when we were there and the crowd burst into a spontaneous cheer for the veterans (most of them brought in wheelchairs). It was just heart warming to see them get such applause as they so richly deserve.

Interestingly a couple of politicians showed up....must have thought it was a good photo op!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RD789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning Monument”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This is probably my favorite monument. It's so beautifully designed. If you can see it both in the daytime and nighttime you can truly appreciate the entire thing. It in the perfect location too; very centrally located.

Helpful?
Thank Chays L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing