We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorial of braves”

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Memorial of braves”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Big thick plates of concrete arranged in semi-circular line,make it very mighty and powerful. Each plate representes sacrificed soldiers of each state. One of things-to-do in Washington D.C.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,360
    1,584
    369
    75
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memorial”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visited the memorial on June 6, after the service for D-Day. Seeing the stars on the wall brought to mind the many men that lost their lives for our freedom,. It makes you want to say THANK YOU for your service. This was a great history lesson for my children and brought to life the reality that people lose their lives in war.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiny812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Humbling”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just looking at this memorial and remembering the men and women who gave their lives for our country is very humbling..this memorial is beautiful too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although is is a memorial, and it is a very impressive one with high fountains and built in a huge circle resembling stone henge, the feeling around here is very upbeat and happy. The memorial is placed almost in the centre of the mall and is a welcome place to cool the feet! Paddling is not allowed but sitting on the side with you feet in the fountained is, and quite rightly so I think. The place is bustling with all sorts of people old and young and does make you appreciate that maybe, the sacrifices made during WWII, made it possible for us all to come together like this and be happy. There was a real feeling of togetherness. We visited during memorial weekend so it was very busy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClareBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Too Too.”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's a bit tricky writing a review of a war memorial as close to our memories as this one and not eulogising about it. If you had friends or relatives who served in a specific theatre then a particular column might serve as 'your' one. Otherwise, the vast commemorative circle was nothing short of an undignified mass of noisy youngsters and snap happy middle aged hooligans unwilling to wander too far from the lavatories. In an utterly quiet setting, a long evening walk around the memorial, with a good Cuban, would be an outstanding way to spend an hour and a half. When we were there there was little in the way of commemoration and more along the lines of a trophy box tick. Nonetheless you have to visit this site. I hope you could arrange your visit to coincide with fewer people than we found. The place is a dignified one. The people turn it into a circus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing