We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely.”

National World War II Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.00*
and up
Washington DC Evening Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
207 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Definitely worth a stop by to pay tribute to so many who lost their lives. It is a beautiful monument. Check to see if there are any special events going on when you are visiting because a choir was singing when I visited and it was very moving.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kkclardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,376
    1,587
    370
    75
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Wow. What a gorgeous memorial with fountains everywhere. I am sure we missed some of it. The wall of stars was eye opening, each star representing 100 people who locat their lives during the war.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Powerful Memorial”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The World War II Memorial is one of my favorites in Washington, DC. The memorial sits near the Washington Monument just before the reflecting pool on the National Mall. It is divided into the Atlantic & Pacific Theatres with various campaigns mentioned throughout, There are also pillars representing each of the 50 states plus US territories in recognition that every US entity contributed men & materials to the war effort. There are also plaques in relief that depict life in the US from the beginning of the war through its conclusion. The overall theme was victory and represents the total national commitment required to achieve it. We were able to take my father-in-law, a WWII aviator, and his wife to the actual dedication. That experience was fantastic! The best part was getting to talk with many of the WWII veterans who came throughout the country to attend the dedication and hearing their stories. Especially poignant was observing young servicemen and women on active duty and observing the "band of brothers" bond that immediately formed across several generations. If you go to DC, this is a can't miss attration.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank renabg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LehighValley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WW2 Memorial”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was my first time to DC since the WW2 Memorial was finished. It is beautiful. Shortly after we got there the Navy band played the National Anthem. It was nice to wee everyone there stop and respect the anthem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank willhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“4 days in DC!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great memorial, nothing to "do" here but lots to look at & read. Go slow and just enjoy the "feel" of the place and remember those that have given so much so that we can enjoy the opportunities we have.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National World War II Memorial also viewed

 

Been to National World War II Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing