We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #50 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Never once did we hear the words "No" or "I'm not sure" or "I don't know" from any of the staff. Everyone was incredibly helpful in helping us navigate the city. Easy walk to the Mall and the Ford Theatre, plenty of good restaurants nearby. You can't go wring staying here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveling_shoes_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josephgalvan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay in our hotel, and for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again real soon.

Joseph & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    637
    162
    49
    29
See reviews for
646
313
81
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hampton Inn is part of the Hilton chain. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this hotel was. Clean and modern. I'm not sure when it was first built but its definitely circa 2000-2011. In comparison with price and quality in D.C. I would definitely recommend this place.
I have been drifting between Hilton Honors and SPG due to their service but this place sure does set the benchmarks for Hilton. Friendly and Smiley staff, and a big thanks to team and Anastasia from our 3 party this trip.
If you're considering other places with similar pricing just book here!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuybrushJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Having read some reviews on this site, we were slightly concerned about our choice of hotel. However we were very impressed - the room was a good size with lovely bathroom. The staff at reception were very helpful and welcoming.

Breakfast was included and offered an excellent selection - including a waffle machine which required some instruction from the helpfull breakfast staff! There was also plenty of seating.

Location wise, the hotel is 5 minutes from the nearest subway station, 10 minutes from the train station and is within 15 minutes of Capitol Hill and many of the local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My 12 y.o.daughter and I stayed here for 8 nites Mar.23-31. We planned this trip July 2010 so I understand rates are different, however in Jan I rec'd a tripadvisor email re: special rates at this hotel, and I saved over $1375.00 from the original quote.This was substantial savings so keep checking. Our last nite we used Hilton points.
Most of the staff are wonderful and go above and beyond (Terri and Simon are 2 that went out of their way and felt like family), Terri put us in a corner room on the 13th floor with a great view of the city(monuments) and was very pretty at nite. Housekeeping was wonderful-we only had service 3out of 9 days and they were more than happy to just exchange towels, and they were alway on the floor by 8:30am. We never really 'slept in' as we wanted to see as much as we could.The conitnental breakfasts is really a full breakfast, has everything you can imagine, rotates about every 7 days, and is the BEST continental breakfast we have ever had, and the best dining area(enough tables), very welcoming. The breakfast staff is oustanding!
The room was clean, however if you dont' get daily service don't espcet the dust to stay away. We had a travelling air purifier and a sound machine going every nite, and grated you are in DC and even on the top floor, the sirens and traffic noise is bad. Because of the corner room, we had 2 big windows which probably didn't help. I think there could be more soundproof windows put in. The bed was great. We were just so tired every nite we would've liked to have slept better and the noise was nightly, we just didnt' sleep that great. It is within walking distance to everything but allow time, and there are cobblestones, cement ,gravel,and blacktop to walk on. Take 2 different walking shoes-that worked out great,.,There is a Safeway store about 3 blocks away and we went to stock up on water, and snack items(ask for clu card savings and they will give it to you).
If you want a cab or towncar, Ask Simon or whoever is there and it will be there in seconds. Wonderful. My daughter insisted on a cab 1 day (our destination was only 6 blocks away) and I told her she would have to pay for it and after doing that once for $7.00, we walked most of the time!!! Towncars are basically the same price we discovered.
The cons weren't really cons but inconveniences: the 1st nite the shower head fell off during my shower and hit my head and when my daughter called it was replaced within minutes(prompt maintenace service ever seen in a hotel!); the 3rd day our microwave cord started smoking,,called and the 1st maintenacne guy obviously didnt' want to be bothered but while he was there, the supervisor came and immediately smelled the burning smell and was alarmed and said it woudl be changed out right away; the 5th nite we really needed the hottub and was told on our return the water had just been replaced and wasnt' heated yet-bummer(I would htink that would be done later at nite when noone would be using it or very early in the morning) and the next nite was only about 99 degreees(apparently noone had checked itall day). We used the laundry on the friday and the the dryer didn't work after 45 minutes and $1.50-was noted to the front desk but didnt' offer to return money until the following Monday nite when the sub contractor arrived at 6:30pm to fix both dryers-then we got our money back.
Overall it was a pleasant stay and just the few wierd things that happened. I will note the business office was convenient though there were problems with the printer which they only had one computer set up to. Swimming pool is small but adequate-the kids still have fun and feels good after a long day.
We went 4 days b4 Cherry blossom fest and the blooms were out in full force and we were glad we had 4 days b4 the festival.
Off the hotel topic, if you want to tour the White House, Capitol, and Pentagon, contact your state senate rep. at least 6 months in advance and don't listen to books that say you have to be in a group. We got in to all 3 and all were a truly unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Keep checking all sites and home site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaden6WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We spent 4 nights here and were very pleased. Check-in was fast and friendly, and our room (309) was perfect. Everything was very clean. Our room was right by the elevators, but there was no noise problems from that. Since our room faced 6th Street, there was some noise from sirens, so if you are a light sleeper you might request a back room. We enjoyed looking out onto the street each morning.
The walk to Union Station took about 20 minutes. A red circulator bus stops at 7th and Mass. and also at 5th and Mass, so it's easy to catch right outside the hotel. You don't need a ticket - just pay the driver $1 fare. We felt like the area was very safe, especially walking down 7th Street. Just a couple of blocks to Chinatown Metro stop, which is where we caught the yellow line to go to Mount Vernon.
The evening desk clerk recommended Busboys and Poets for dinner, and it was REALLY good - the best meal we had in DC. The nice thing is that after a long day of walking, it is just around the corner! Breakfast was fine, and the workers were so friendly. It does get crowded around 8:00, but one morning they opened up the conference/meeting room for people to sit. We enjoyed the cookies and lemonaide in the evenings, and there were apples sitting out all day. Every time we came back to the hotel, we were greeted warmly and welcomed back. There was never a line at the front desk and we were able to ask questions easily.
We felt like the location was great. It was quiet in the evenings and we had everything we needed. We stay at Hampton Inn's quite often, and felt like this one was a step above most. You won't regret staying at this hotel - we had a great trip!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeyJude55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macomb,michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Overall, I thought this was a very nice hotel for the money. I originally chose this hotel for the breakfast and pool since I have a 11 year old son to entertain and feed. The breakfast was very satisfying and there was a large variety of food to choose from. The pool was not very big but was okay as long as there were not alot of people in it. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. We were in a king studio w/ sofabed which I thought would be a little bigger but actually seemed smaller then a 2 queen room. My only 2 minor complaints would be to get fans in the bathrooms and king pillows on the king bed. There was also some traffic noise (sirens/car horns) so if you are a light sleeper you may want to check if there are rooms off the main street. The staff was overly nice, pleasant, and helpful. I also liked the business center which had computers for guest use.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyd005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamiton NZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Right from check in, we were made to feel very welcome. There are fantastic staff here-from the people on the desk, the cleaners and the maintenance people. All extremely friendly. The desk staff couldn't do enough for us, always greeting us as we walked in or out fo the main door. When asked to assist with something they would go out of their way to make it happen. This probably isn't the closest hotel to the NAtional Mall but it is walkable. It is really close to the restaurant strip. The rooms were clean and spacious. We loved being able to access hot chocolate, coffee and tea all day. Also the hot apple drink and cookies at night-divine! The free breakfast was great and there was a fantastic selection. We especially loved being able to make our own waffles.

Would definately reccomend the Hampton Inn!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelJane10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
806 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing