We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon in DC (yes we are nerds). We reserved our room through the Hilton website and are Hilton Honors members. I requested a "room with a view" and the hotel went out of their way to ensure we had a view of the Washington Monument. In addition, the staff went out of their way to advise us on places to eat and visit, despite the fact they were not a concierge. In fact, it was raining and we could not get a cab, so a staff member went out into the rain to hail us a cab, then she went to get an umbrella to loan us.
The hotel is not a luxury brand, but the rooms are modern with comfortable beds, spacious, and clean. They do have in room air conditioners, which make noise, but should only bother light sleepers. The breakfast is the best of any Hampton Inn I've stayed, and in the evening at 6 PM they serve fresh cookies, coffee, and lemonade.
Last, the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Washington Mall. It is a block from Chinatown, the Verizon Center, and a diverse group of both upscale and affordable restaurants.
We were able to get a low rate by reserving our room under a Hilton special offer, so if you are planning a trip to DC, I definently recommend this hotel. There is a $34/day parking fee, but this is common in DC. In addition, I think you can park your car for a cheaper rate nearby. Many of the lots were fenced off. This hotel is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygolucky090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear happygolucky090

First of all I would like to say congratulations on your wedding! It is wonderful to hear that you stayed with us on your honeymoon and we are so happy you had a great time. I will definately share your comments with all of the staff and I'm sure they will love to hear that they helped make your time in Washington DC memorable. Also, we want to say thank you for becoming a Hilton Honors member and staying with us at the Hampton Inn Washington DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,307 - 1,313 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

We have stayed at this hotel four or five times now. The hotel is well maintained, and we have yet to have any major problems. The hotel is located close to the China Town Metro stop, and close to two DC Circulator routes. You are also close enough to the National Mall to walk if you want. We usually get a suite for the price of single rooms in other area hotels, and a free breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribbeanTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2011

Dear CaribbeanTraveler0,
Thank you for being such a loyal guest of the Hampton Inn Washington DC. I will share your comments with our Maintenance and Housekeeping staff. We hope to see you again soon and we appreciate the time you have taken to post a comment on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I picked this Hampton for its proximity to Gallery Place's food + nightlife scene, and the northernmost of those establishments are less than a 5 minute walk away. However, that walk does run the gauntlet of the area's remaining homeless/indigent population, which can be a bit uncomfortable if dressed for nightlife and not used to the "urban thing".

Our king-bed was surprisingly hard to the point of uncomfortable. The pillows aren't plush but there are plenty of them. The internet is free (yay) as is breakfast.

The staff are decent, and the convenience is high. Several museums are only a 10 minute downhill stroll, the food/drink choices are outstanding, and metro is only a few mins away.

Like most DC hotels, parking rates are high (running close to $40 w/tax). Drive around the block the hotel is on, there are multiple surface parking lots that will allow overnight parking for much less if you don't mind pulling your luggage a few hundred feet. We paid $24 to park for longer than 24 hours at a nearby lot.

This is not a destination hotel by any stretch, but the location makes it a good choice for the Gallery Place or Convention Center area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear omarsidd,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Washington DC. I am sorry to hear that the bed and pillows did not meet your expectations, but I am happy to see you enjoyed the convenient location and staff. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We just returned from a family trip to DC with 2 boys 9 & 13. We stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn which I highly recommend. It is in a great location. Easy walk to the metro and about 10-15 min walk to the main tourist spots.
We walked at about 11 p.m. and felt completely safe.
Room was perfect. We had a King Study with a pull-out. Tons of room. fridge/micro. pull-out was ok for comfort but kids were beat and fell asleep without complaints!
breakfast buffet was perfect for us. Kids loved having lots of choices every morning. waffle-maker was a hit!! We were there Friday & Sat. Sat was very crowded for breakfast.
Staff very nice and helpful.
Negatives: don't go for the pool. It is nice extra - but it is very small and it was very crowded with little kids. Adults really don't plan on using it or the hot tub unless you really like children.
Business room internet s#cked!! don't plan on using it for anything important. The kids could use it for games but I was not able to get maps printed off because it shut down all the time.
Overall - very worthwhile! can't imagine anything better in our price range.

Room Tip: King Study was very big!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is block to the east of the DC convention center so its a quick walk to the Convention Center. The rooms seemed updated and the bedding/bed were extremely comfortable. I travel a lot for work and this place stood out for the quality of the bed. The hotel lobby (doubled as a breakfast area) was filled with families in the morning. Breakfast was mediocre at best. Loads of carbs, scrambled eggs that looked fake and rubbery boiled eggs. Only the coffee was passable. I was disappointed on this front. All in all an OK value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjivsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

White House is about a mile away. If you are in decent shape you can walk to everything. I parked my car and never used it until I left. Metro is nearby if you don't want that much walking. Service in hotel was great. Free buffet breakfast had everything you could ask for. Room was clean and appeared new. No complaints at all from me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Had a great stay for 4 nights, Staff were helpful when needed. Rooms were large compared with the hampton inn we had just left in New York. The pool, although not large was just great after a hard day pounding the streets and museums, also, the pool area was never busy so plenty of room for a swim. We used the ciculator bus to get around, it stops outside hotel and only costs $1. You could walk to the Mall from this hotel (20 mins) but in 85o of heat why bother, I'd rather spend $1. A 2min walk away is the restaraunt Busboys and Poets, this place was fantastic we ate there as a family and had 6 different dishes of the menu, each one superb, the place has a really good vibe. On the same street as busboys and poets there is a very large Safeway store where you could get just about anything that you would need on holiday including a pharmacy. Should we return to Washington I wouldn,t look anywhere else for accommodation, the hotel was GREAT!

Room Tip: Eat at busboys and poets,you'll love it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkCastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#68 of 142 in Washington DC
816 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 142 in Washington DC
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £107 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing