We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, but bad attitudes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean rooms, but bad attitudes.”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

While the location of this hotel is wonderful and the building is kept quite clean and presentable, the staff here has been nothing short of rude. We were very late arriving our first night, getting in at about 3am. Since it was so late, a woman at the front desk said that she would not charge us the $40/night parking fee. Thinking this was a little exorbitant, the very next morning we decided to park our car in long-term parking at Union Station and return for it at the end of our trip for about half of the money. Upon checking out, we found not just the one night we had been told would be left off of our bill, they had charged us for a second night when our vehicle had not even been present at the hotel. When we asked about the extra charges, the man at the desk was very rude, initially refusing to remove either night's charge from the bill, but eventually agreeing to remove only one night of parking charges against what we had been told upon our very late arrival. At any time we traveled past the front desk or had any questions for the front desk staff, they were rude and condescending, never offering a greeting and responding to questions with curt, snarky answers. Not a single person made any effort at kindness or even helpful service. After having just spent three nights in another Hampton Inn in Hampton, VA, with a wonderful customer service experience, it was particularly offensive.

Room Tip: Anything street-side is going to be very loud. We heard car horns and emergency service sirens almos...
See more room tips
Green Features: I wasn't aware of any other than having a divider in the trash cans so that recyclables can be put on one side.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcoe1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying at our Hotel. We are dissappointed that your experience at our hotel was not consistent with your expectations. Please accept our apologies!

As you can see from numerous surveys on Tripadvisor and Hilton scoring, our Team has been recognized as professionals in service business. So, it was surprising to see your note. We will evaluate our training of team to avoid any future miscommunication and improve service delivery.

We hope have you return and experience flawless service at our facility.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    607
    155
    46
    25
See reviews for
616
300
78
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We were looking for a hotel close to Union Station that provided an inclusive breakfast. This hotel ticked all the boxes. Good location, great breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful staff, always cheerful and willing to help. We had a problem with the safe in our room and were immediatly moved to an alternative room, no fuss, no bother. Added bonuses were complimentary tea/coffee 24 hours a day, cookies and apples in the afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank EssexToffeegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very thankful that you chose to stay with us and provide feedback regarding our facility services and most importantly our staff. Our team of professionals take great pride in providing personalized care for all our guests. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

Please continue to frequent our Hotel and Hilton Branded hotels for all your travel needs.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The hotel is located just a few blocks form the white house, as well add the National Mall. Plenty of food within walking distance also. As for the hotel, it was very nice and clean. No complaints at all.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent visit to Hotel. Our Team strives to exceed expectation of all our Guets. Thank you for providing positive reenforcement!

Let us know if we may assist you with future travel plans here or anywhere with hilton family of hotels.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is your average hotel. Not nearly as nice as the Hampton Inn I've been to in NC. However, it is super convenient. It has a great location. They provide a free breakfast that you will quickly grow tired of, but they also provide afternoon treats ranging from warm cookies to fruit. The staff is pretty friendly which is nice. My room boasted a great view, but it was not clean upon arrival. All in all, I'd say it was average given the sum of all parts.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fettuchi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

Please accept our apologies for not exceeding your expection of an upscale Hampton Hotel in DC. Our Team often get exceptional reviews and accolades from guests who frequent here on an regular basis.

We are sincerely dissappointed that your room wasn't ready upon arrival and we hope to look at all the moving parts to make sure rooms are made available even during high ocupancy periods.

thank you for your loyalty to hampton brand of hotels. We look forward to seeing you return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I'd give them 3.5 star.
Good location and comfortable stay. The room is spacious with mini refrig and a microwave atop in a closet. Bathroom is more than adequate. Breakfast is decent in a nice setting area. They've 2% and skim milk but regular.

The only complain I've is their hallway is way too warm for comfort, the feeling of unhealthy partly come from my constant complain of energy waste: in summer they freeze us to death and winter steam us to death. If all managements can (willing?) cut down on such waste maybe we no longer need to fight war ...

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Irene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Irene:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on our property and services. We're delighted to have you mention energy conservation.

I am sorry that you experienced temperature issues while staying with us, we have addressed this issue already. By the way, our hotel is a greanleaf certified hotel and we practices sustainability principles in regular operations such as; water conservation, high efficiency lighting, recycling, "Clean the World" soap conservation and a myrad of other spcific actions impacting the earth through "earthview" initiatives.

We will continue to listen to our guests and make improvements in our operational practices!

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel and to Hilton family of Hotels.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Last of the Hilton chain this trip and have to say they did not disappoint. Rooms were OK, bed really nice and clean. Microwave, fridge and water. Got a good deal on parking, bar was very reasonable and the pizza was very tasty.
Overall a good performance and well worth a 4 rating.

Room Tip: Keep at front away from building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on service experience. Your feedback will be shared with our Team of professionals to continue to improve our service delivery.

Hotel will continue to strive to provide you with perfect stay experience. As you know, parking will continue to remain a hot button for travellers to a growing Metrapolis like Washington DC. Hotel will remain very competitive in this regard with other facilities that provide Valet service.

Thank you for your Loyalty to Hilton brand and HI Washington DC. Look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hello: a few weeks ago I was in Washington DC downtown. I needed to find my way to the Hampton Inn in Alexandria which I had to go for a conference. They were so gracious to help me to find out how to get there by transit. And they were gracious to ask if the Hampton will come pick me up at the Metro Station. I'm not even staying there and they were so nice. The staff were friendly and the hotel is gorgeous. It is located next to everything. Most attractions I was able to walk to.. Very centrally located. Please give extra Kudos for the weekend staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizuka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

We are delighted to have you stay with us and experience what our Team has to offer. Your kind words were shared with our Team; much appreciated.

Let us know if we may assist you in the future with your travel needs.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing