We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall stay, but not as good as other Hampton Inn's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good overall stay, but not as good as other Hampton Inn's”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Overall we had a good stay here, and the room was clean and functional (which is the main requirement). Rooms are typical of Hampton Inn, which for us is pretty good, clean and updated and a large bathroom. And the breakfast was standard for a Hampton Inn, nothing great but definitely does the job for a free breakfast (especially with the fresh waffles).

Overall the staff were very nice and helpful where they could be, especially the valet who would get and park our car. Don't know his name, but he was very responsive and we had no issues getting our car when we needed it (which is good because the parking fees are expensive).

Location is pretty good, we walked to the mall to visit some of the museums, it is a decent walk but very doable. My wife is recovering from a medical issue from our last vacation and could not do this walk on her own, but in a wheel chair it was fine. Some days we took taxis to further away destinations, but keep in mind they were not always easy to locate at the hotel. The hotel is near china town and there are a lot of restaurants in walking distance, which was a plus.

Couple of negatives to highlight. There are only two elevators and we always had to wait a long time for one, and coming down from our room on the 11th floor was a lengthy process as it always stopped on several floors. Breakfast area can get very crowded at peak time and they could use more space. Air conditioning system is very loud in the rooms. Pool is very small and get very crowded at certain points of the day, but my kids still enjoyed it. Staff wasn't always as responsive as they usually are at a Hampton Inn, e.g., our room wasn't ready so we left our luggage with the desk. Later when it was ready they said they would bring it up. Couple of hours later I went downstairs and no one knew what I was talking about so they sent me into the storage room to get it myself. Another example, my wife ordered room service but she had to go down stairs and get it. And on the room service, the food is expensive of course and it was really bad. We didn't expect much to begin with but it didn't even meet those expectations, so I don't suggest getting it.

Overall I would have given 3.5 stars but that is not an option, and since the room was clean and functional, and overall our stay was good, I gave them 4 stars. I do think the staff tries very hard and they are as polite and helpful as they are at other Hampton Inn's, but I think they are a bit understaffed at this hotel during peak season, just something to keep in mind.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pedz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on service experience. Sorry to hear that your exprience while staying with us was not exceptional and we regret that. As you identified Hotel was filled and staff tried hard to keep up with the demands. We have made modifications to staffing to ensure service delivery is consistent with our standards.

Thank you for taking taking time to write about various ameneties including Pool and restaurant. As you mentioned, we don't provide room service at this moment, but we will evaluate this service for future.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hamptons and Hilton branded hotels. We hope that you return to our Hotel and experience great unhurried service we typcially deliver.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    626
    161
    47
    29
See reviews for
632
311
81
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Well located with reasonably easy access to Metro and buses, this hotel is a little outside of the main tourist area, but close enough to make the lower cost worth it. In this city hotels are pricey in the downtown area, and if they're not you probably don't want to stay there! Modern rooms and a full breakfast were attractions here. The only thing that rubbed the wrong way a little was the nearly 40 dollars per day parking fee--but in the downtown core of a large city, that's not completely unreasonable, I suppose. At least it was valet service and was prompt. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room--they are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding your service experience. we are delighted that the Hotel and staff was a perfect fit for your stay purposes.

Let us know how we may assist you with future travel arrangement.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Walkable to the Mall, the White House, Chinatown, the Metro, and lots of great places to eat. Would stay there again. The food available at the hotel wasn't thrilling (I'm a vegan...there were not many vegan options), but there were great places really close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillowFort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for taking some of your personal time to write about your stay. We will continue to evaluate menu offerings at breakfast and for Sixth Street Bar + Food outlet to provide healthy options for our guests.

Hotels location is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with proximity to Metro, Convention Center, China Town and monuments.

We look forward to your return the next time you visit DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel was great, very affordable and good walking location to the museums. The hotel staff was extremely kind and very helpful! I was extremely impressed with the staff! The complimentary breakfast was incredible as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for staying with us and highlighting your experiences as a guest of our Hotel.

We are glad that your trust in the brand and service team was vindicated during this experience. I would like to personally thank you for highlighting our Team of service providers.

We look forward to your return to our Hotel, the next time you visit Nations Capitol!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We waited until the last minute to book a hotel room for the prime Cherry Blossom weekend, but I was able to get a great rate ($109) by bidding on Priceline. Clean and spacious rooms, and excellent water pressure in the shower. The hotel is very close to the Verizon Center/Chinatown area, where there are plenty of great restaurants. About a 5-10 minute walk to the Gallery Place/Chinatown stop, and 15-20 to Metro Center. Decent workout facility and pool. There is major construction going on right across the street so the view is not aesthetically pleasing, but we were not bothered with any noise at all. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was mediocre in terms of quality. Biggest complaint was that there was no room service in the evening; I had to go down to the bar to pick up the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyL8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to DC. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Cherry Blosom exprience while staying at our Hotel. Our hotel location and excellent associates makes our Hotel a preferred place to stay by both business and Leisure travellers.

Hotel location to Chinatown and the newly minted neighborhood teeming with vitality is a hit for out of town guests who like to walk and see DC.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are OK. However, the breakfast did not meet my expectations at all. Only 2 choices of hot food. Very cheap plastic plates, silverware and cups and what is more the food had no taste at all. Scrambled eggs tasted very artificial. Very disappointed.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrej T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that you your breakfast experience was not consistent with your expectations. Our Guests rate our product and services typically high as you can see on Web impressions.

We will continue to find ways of improving food quality and presenation. Let me us know if may be of assistance to you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

There are a lot of hotels in DC that we have stayed at when we were working here. The thing that really made this a good stay was the outstanding quality of service from everyone. I felt more like an honored guest in there home. In addition, you don't have to worry about the comfort or cleanliness here. One last note, they had a high school band stay here while we were staying and every thing was handled really well by the hotel for such a large group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest:

It is always a delight to have one of our frequent guests writing about the Quality of experience while staying at our Hotel. Our entire team of associates would like to thank you for your Loyalty.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Let us know how we may assist you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
800 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing