We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated, modern, clean and responsive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for an extended period of time recently. I was given a King Suite, so my review reflect that. The room was clean, with a min-fridge (no Freezer) and a good microwave. The toiletries were very nice, above a typical Hampton (Neutrogena).

The free internet was speedy for a hotel, and reliable.

The staff was always helpful, friendly without being overbearing. The included breakfast team was constantly moving, keeping coffee urns filled and the breakfast items stocked. My only real issue was the quality of a couple of these. The 'scrambled eggs', were the typical buffet style , likely powdered or bagged .. but they were usually rubbery without a lot of flavor. They had only 1 day I recall were they had those folded over omelets, which were good that 1 day. The other was the cut up fruit. It was likely canned, not fresh fruit, with the possible exception of oranges/grapefruit.

The hotel is just a few blocks in opposite direction from the Mt Vernon Metro (yellow & green lines) or the Gallery Place/Chinatown station that also has the red line. It's location made this a very busy hotel during a very busy time of conventions at the Convention Center. That caused some wait at times for the 2 elevators.

Overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with recently and providing your service experience feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Brands and our Hotel is particular.

Our location is central to business and leisure travelers alike. Hotel is know to have numerous return guests and we hope you will be one of them.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went for a weekend getaway to catch a concert at DAR Hall. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and smelled great. Bed was comfortable and we were able to enjoy the amenities, gym and of course breakfast.admittedly,hot breakfast choices were limited, turkey bacon and homefries is what I've at other Hampton Inns. Also the eggs were bland and dry. We only book Hampton Inn for the free breakfast option, so we expected better. Even so we really liked the hotel and would go back despite the breakfast.

Room Tip: There is construction across the street, so think about the view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We thank you for providing specific comments regarding breakfast. We provide a Hampton branded breakfast menu and will continue to look into enhancing breakfast experience.

we look forward to your return; thank you for your loyalty to Hamptons.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nice stay close to just about everything lots of good places to eat, drink and have fun. Hotel staff is nice, rooms are fine, breakfast sucks but so what. Parking is very costly. Have fun! I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing honest feedback regarding your service experience. We will continue to find ways of improving our service delivery to all our guests. Let us know if you have suggestions to improve breakfast service or product delivery.

Thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was here for one night - theatre event nearby. Was very glad to find this hotel so close and not outside my $$ limitations. Staff was welcoming and helpful - John even hailed a cab for me (John you rock)!! The bed was hard to leave behind - the tv was most excellent - and free bottled water was a plus! Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nadokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest:

It was great to hear that you have fantastic time during your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments regarding John was fantastic! We have passed along your Kudos-

Look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

They have good service and the rooms are comfortable and tidy. The hotel is well located and the metro is only a couple of blocks down if you need that.
In all a good hotel but what surprised me was the breakfast flatware they let the guests use. Everything was plastic: knifes, spoons, plates and cups. Felt cheap in a otherwise nice hotel. Please implement a environmental policy and stop the waste.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback regarding our Hotel. Your comments regarding sustainable practices is much appreciated as well. We do follow a policy of sustainability not only in our Hotel but also within the Brand.

Products that we use for breakfast while is paper and plastic is made from recycled materials and hotel has a policy on getting these products collected for recycling. Environmental stewardship is essential to continued existence for our species and we hope to continue to improve our engagement in this regard as a Hotel.

We hope to see you next time you visit our Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice place to stay. Be aware that parking is limited. There are a lot of sirens in the night. Air conditioner was noisy. Husband couldn't get the water hot for his bath. Breakfast was very good but area a little cramped. Rooms clean. Felt a little pricy for value but haven't stayed anywhere else in Washington, DC so can't compare.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments regarding recent Stay. Our Team of professionals were delighted to hear you were satisfied with your stay; inspite of some challenges experienced. We as a team will look into issues of water temperature you encountered.

We thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel. Look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You go to Washington to see the sights. Your hotel should accomodate you by providing a clean, safe, quiet room and certain amenities. The Hampton does so without much fanfare and therefore gets a top rating from me. The location is quite convenient, and the free breakfast saves a good deal of time and money. The free internet should not be remarkable, but unfortunately is. Thumbs up to Hampton. I'm going back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We're delighted that you found your stay with us enjoyable. As you have experienced first hand, our Team is well trained in doing simple things in a memorable way. Please accept our genuine Thank You for your loyalty!

We hope to have you return to our Hotel next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

John Varghese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 142 in Washington DC
825 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £92 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing