We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lombardy(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$356
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
US$469
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
US$550
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
US$395
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$498
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$382
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel Washington DC(Washington DC)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
US$479
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
881
687
175
56
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
881
687
175
56
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusboys and poetschinatown metro stationthe breakfast areacomplimentary breakfastnational mallvalet parkinghomeless peopleminute walkwould stay here againfresh fruitbreakfast staffconvenient locationfew blockswithin walking distanceindoor poolfront desk staffsmithsonian museums
Filter
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here in October 2013, I meant to write a review sooner so it is a little vague now. I am happy I chose this hotel. I wanted something near the convention center. It is a little over two blocks away (but the convention center is two blocks long as well so it could be a long walk depending on where in the center your event is). There is a major bus stop just across the street so it was easy to catch public transportation to site seeing. It is also about three short blocks to the start of the china town area which is packed with all kinds of restaurants (I think Chinese restaurants are in the minority now). It is a long walk to the capital and the mall, but it was pretty manageable to us and we are very out of shape!.

I was satisfied with our room. I think we got upgraded into a corner room. the layout was pretty weird and the actual living area wasn't that big but we really weren't there much. It did have a mini-fridge which was handy.

The breakfasts were OK. They rotate the hot items so they are different every day. Its not a great breakfast, maybe not even equal to a Denny's, but it was convenient and there was enough variety that we were fine with it.

I would stay here again if I went to another convention.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank So_Cal_Illini_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to attend convention in DC. Our entire team would like to thank you for your loyalty to our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you soon-

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The check-in process was fast. The front desk clerk was pleasant. The room was acceptable. Nothing to write home about, but clean, and had a sink, refrigerator and microwave oven. Toiletries were slightly above average. The hot water and shower did not work properly in the morning. That issue put me about 15 minutes behind schedule. There is no vanity mirror. I ate at the restaurant for dinner. The experience was quite lackluster. The food was decent, but again, nothing to write home about. Ambulances went by and you could clearly hear the sirens. Not sure if an ambulance station is nearby. Room and tax were $479.76 (not including dinner). Anywhere else, this hotel would/should have been less than $100.00 per night. Totally overpriced. If the Marriott Metro Center or Grand Hyatt had vacancy, I would have stayed at either of those two hotels over this hotel any day of the week. From a value perspective, both of those hotels charge about the same as this Hampton Inn, but those hotels provide a much greater value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Kamaal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing you service aspirations. We are dissappointed that we deliver the value your expected from Hotels mentioned in your note.

We will continue to find ways of improving our service delivery and meet traveler price value expectations.

Thank you for your support of fine Hospitality Service.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice hotel, but across the street, there is construction going on. If you can ignore the construction noise. Even with the window closed and air conditioning, you can still hear it at 6 am. The water pressure was constantly in and out with the hot water taking awhile during peak times in the morning. The room was somewhat clean, found a pop top and bobby pin on the floor that was obviously not vacuumed up by maid staff. Overall clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was good and choices were many. Pricey due to the hotel being in Washington, DC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank PattyG531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing!

Our entire team would like to thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We are dissappointed that your stay was not without challenges. Your specific comments will assist us in improving our service delivery.

Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton brand and to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for an extended period of time recently. I was given a King Suite, so my review reflect that. The room was clean, with a min-fridge (no Freezer) and a good microwave. The toiletries were very nice, above a typical Hampton (Neutrogena).

The free internet was speedy for a hotel, and reliable.

The staff was always helpful, friendly without being overbearing. The included breakfast team was constantly moving, keeping coffee urns filled and the breakfast items stocked. My only real issue was the quality of a couple of these. The 'scrambled eggs', were the typical buffet style , likely powdered or bagged .. but they were usually rubbery without a lot of flavor. They had only 1 day I recall were they had those folded over omelets, which were good that 1 day. The other was the cut up fruit. It was likely canned, not fresh fruit, with the possible exception of oranges/grapefruit.

The hotel is just a few blocks in opposite direction from the Mt Vernon Metro (yellow & green lines) or the Gallery Place/Chinatown station that also has the red line. It's location made this a very busy hotel during a very busy time of conventions at the Convention Center. That caused some wait at times for the 2 elevators.

Overall, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with recently and providing your service experience feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Brands and our Hotel is particular.

Our location is central to business and leisure travelers alike. Hotel is know to have numerous return guests and we hope you will be one of them.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Went for a weekend getaway to catch a concert at DAR Hall. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and smelled great. Bed was comfortable and we were able to enjoy the amenities, gym and of course breakfast.admittedly,hot breakfast choices were limited, turkey bacon and homefries is what I've at other Hampton Inns. Also the eggs were bland and dry. We only book Hampton Inn for the free breakfast option, so we expected better. Even so we really liked the hotel and would go back despite the breakfast.

Room Tip: There is construction across the street, so think about the view from the window.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. We thank you for providing specific comments regarding breakfast. We provide a Hampton branded breakfast menu and will continue to look into enhancing breakfast experience.

we look forward to your return; thank you for your loyalty to Hamptons.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews