We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A great central location, 15 minutes from Regan airport. The hotel was extremely clean, our room was clean and the staff was friendly. A very comfortable bed and pillows. We ran out of toothpaste and the front desk supplied us with some. One of the interesting things was the water pressure during a shower. The water stream would almost stop from the shower heat. No change in temperature, just pressure. After a few moments, all would be back to normal but during each shower you would experience this at least 3 times. Breakfast was great with lots of items to choose from. Breakfast was a little crowded, but nice nonetheless.

Room Tip: Rooms along 6th Street have construction across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjpvan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on your experience. We are going to monitor the issue of water pressure you mentioned- we hope to solve it for our guests quickly.

We apprecite your loyalty to our Hotel and to Hilton Brand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    597
    150
    45
    24
See reviews for
599
295
74
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived mid afternoon on a Friday and was able to check in earlier than 4 o'clock which was a nice surprise. The room was clean and I could not ask for anything it was all there-microwave,mini fridge, iron and hair dryer. There is construction across the street but if you stay on the top floors you shouldn't have a problem. Took full advantage of the pool..The breakfast was a nice touch. The bartender Denise was really friendly along with the other staff. Everything was conviently located to the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your response to stay experience at our hotel during recent visit to our Nation's Capitol. As you have observed, our Hotel is located ideally, staffed with very friendly well trained staff. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and having a pioneering spirit as DC is continuing to improve amenities for travellers.

We hope to continue to provide memorable service "hamptonality" to all guests.

thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a great find, a few blocks away from the Mall. The hotel was clean, the staff spur friendly and the breakfast was the best we had on our 10 day trip. Rooms were bigger than we expected, linens were great and a nice roomy bathroom. I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracymegan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with feedback on service. Please know that your loyalty is much appreciated.

We hope to see you when your are in town next time!

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall we had a great experience. The staff is friendly and ready to help with any request. The breakfast is good. The breakfast area does get a little crowded. Our room was clean and quiet, and the hotel is in a nice location. Easy walk to the Smithsonian museums. The only complaint was the water pressure of the shower. Several times during showering the water would slow to a drizzle. It only lasted for a couple of seconds and then the pressure would return. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Guest:

thank you for staying with us and providing us feedback on this medium regarding our Service. Our team well trained and focused on providing personalized service that you typcially see in 4 Diamond Hotels. We will strive to exceed our guest expection consistently!

thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and to our Brand.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moundsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is clean and the room handsomely furnished. Perhaps the best thing about my stay was the staff, who were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast provided was good. The only mild compliant I have is that I could hear the sound of doors closing in the hallway. The valet service is a nice touch that allows you to enjoy your stay and not worry about parking in an unfamiliar city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest:

It is wonderful to read about your comments regarding our Service Team. We would like to sincerely thank you for taking your time to write this review; this is reward in itself for a job well done.

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and to the Brand. We hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeside, MT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I did a more detailed review of this hotel in June, 2011. The fact that we returned on our next trip to Washington, DC should speak volumes. The service was still impeccable. They still have the buffet breakfast, which includes the do-it-yourself waffles, eggs, sausage, pastries and much more. We were there for nine days and most of the time elected to go out for breakfast. They have a nice little bar in the lobby, with happy hour specials. The bartender, Sean, was great. The room was again very nice. It was fairly quiet in terms of noise from other rooms. However, there was a fair amount of noise from the construction of a new building across the street, starting at about 7am. Not much they can do about that, I guess. However, this was somewhat offset by being able to observe (from the eleventh floor) the work that was going on, and the day-to-day progress.

The WiFi is free but not very good at all. Good 4G coverage obviously. You get multiple bars on your phone even underground on the Metro. I wonder if DC gets special treatment in terms of cell and data coverage?

The hotel is a brief walk from the Chinatown/Gallery Metro stop. We never had a big problem walking to the Metro but there are a fair amount of panhandlers, etc who will seek out anyone who looks like a tourist. You can cut down on this significantly by walking west on Massachusetts Avenue and turning left (south) on 7th. Be sure to check out the Engine Number 6 Restaurant a short walk east on Massachusetts Ave.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with specific feedback regarding service experience!

Our entire team would like to have you return and stay with us next time you are in the area.

thank you for your loyalty to the Hampton Brand and our Hotel.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel in Washington DC with our Girl Scout Troop. It is fantastically located next to Chinatown and close to the attractions. Easy access to the Metro system. From our first contact to our last contact with this hotel it was a real pleasure staying there. Excellent Valet service, Hospitable Hospitality when you walk in makes you feel welcomed and at home. Clean Rooms, fresh and updated. Did I mention how wonderful the staff was?????They did everything to accommodate our large group. Breakfast was beyond our expectations with a to go sack breakfast for those on the go. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on business or pleasure! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Cucumber Water! Try some....so refreshing after miles of sight-seeing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryWooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking some time to write about the wonderful location of our Hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Additionally, we thank you for providing feedback regarding our Associates who create the environment in which you can rest and relax.

We hope that you will continue to return to our Hotel the next time you are visiting DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
No photo provided
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing