We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in DC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in DC”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday. We found a great deal through Groupon and because the reviews were so positive we decided to book. We arrived close to noon on Saturday wanting to check our bags so we could go sightsee until our room was ready. Surprisingly we were able to check in and get into our room early which was so appreciated. The room was very nice and updated. The bathroom was large and spacious. There are amenities in the room including a coffee maker, hair dryer, fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 8th floor away from the construction so noise was not an issue for us. They do provide earplugs if it does become a problem which I appreciated that small touch.

The lobby of the hotel is nice as it has ample seating and 24 hour a day coffee, tea, and cocoa. There is also a bar and restaurant which we did not go to. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The location is great as it's 3 blocks from Gallery Place metro station, the Verizon center, shops and restaurants. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Newseum and Art Gallery.

My only minor complaints from this trip were the TV which seemed to be satellite as reception went in and out frequently. The other minor complaint was the free breakfast. Sunday morning was very crowded and the selection of food was just sub par. But I still appreciate the fact that breakfast was included as it kept my husband and I from having to spend more money somewhere else.

In conclusion this hotel was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it for families, couples, or individuals on business! I did not review the pool area as we did not use this amenity.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nursjme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your time in documenting your service experience during recent stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that our Hotel provided you with memorable experiences for this very special visit.

We are continuing to look for ways to enhance our breakfast experience and we thank you for your comments regarding this. Our Hotel remain a very popular destination for leisure weekend travelers and at times breakfast area gets over crowded- we apologize for this.

Let us know how we may be of assistance to you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    627
    161
    47
    29
See reviews for
633
311
81
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this hotel on booking.com, and reserved a room with double queen beds. Arrived and was given a room with one bed and a pull out couch. Staff simply said the other rooms were gone. No help. Booking.com didn't do anything to help either. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest:

we are sorry to hear about your challenge with bed options during your recent stay. Please reach out to me inorder to discuss this further 202-349-2263.

Sincerely,

John Varghese, gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I prefer this hotel when traveling to DC. I agree with everyone that this is a very good place to stay. Not because of the price but because of the location and the convenient! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is traveling here for business.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay and loyalty reason. Our entire service team would like to thank you for chosing to stay with us during your visits to DC. We hope to impress you with our service and retain you as a loyal customer for life!

Let us know, how we may assit you with with future travel plans.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C., United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel offered the government rate and a great location so we selected it. It was a nice place to stay with a friendly staff. We enjoyed the happy hour discounts and the continental breakfast/coffee. They also had great resources in the lobby to find nearby activities/eateries!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that your stay with us was memorable! our entire team would like to welcome you back the next time you visit DC.

Meanwhile, have a great rest of summer! Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaufman, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Very clean and modern. The beds are comfortable. The free breakfast was very good. Loved the coffee. Convenient location to transportation on Metro us or Circulator. Shopping and restaurants close by.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for finding our Hotel very convenient for all your travel needs. Your feedback to us is invaluable and for that we thank you.

Our entire team is delighted to have served you!

Please let us know, how we may be of service to you for future travels.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It is a great place to stay when you visit Washington DC. I really enjoyed it. Excellent location, food, service and rooms. It is close to monuments, markets, restaurants. Totally recommended for business people and families.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorgeljara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that your stay with us to your liking. Thank you very much for chosing to stay with us among numerous other Hotel choices.

Let us know, how we may assist you with your travel plans in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Hampton property at 830am on the day of arrival decided to go ahead and charge the full night's stay to my debit card (thus, bank account). Then I was told it would take 3-5 business days to have the charge credited back to me. If this had occurred at check-in no problem but 8 hours before I was even allowed to check-in? Unacceptable. Hampton knew I had a 'be my guest certificate' to use during this trip yet they hit my bank account anyway and EARLY. Lodged complaint with Hilton Honors and Hampton. Also will be contacting BBB and state AG's office concerning this practice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your opinion regarding your stay. As you may have noticed on Trip Advisor by hundreds of our loyal followers, our hotel is an established business that follow customary Hospitality practices.

We re sorry that your Debit Card used in making reservations was pre-authorized for room and tax for the night. Hotels guarantee rooms for guests who have valid credit authorizations and or else, business stand to lose and potentially displace other paying customers. Hotels do not charge your bank accounts and credit holds will be release within 72 hours by hotel and your bank will release their hold on your account ($) authorization in 4-5 business days per banking policies. The practice to follow in making online reservation is to use a valid credit card ( not a Debit Card).

We are sorry that you had challenge based on the Hotel transactions. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying at our Hotel. Please let us know how we may regarin your trust in our Hotel.

Sincerely,

John Varghese, gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing