We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, terrific staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My teenage son were in DC for only a weekend and found a great deal at the Hampton Inn Downtown. Yes, as some have complained, it's in an area that's undergoing a lot of renovation, but they must've taken a break while we were there. Just a couple of blocks from Chinatown, the Washington Convention Center, many wonderful restaurants and only about a mile walk to the Mall, the location - especially for the price - can't be beat! From the time we arrived, the entire hotel staff was exceptionally polite and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful. The room was nice and being on the 10th floor, we could see the Washington Monument from there - quite a sight! Can't say anything bad about this hotel. Sure, the $40 + tax daily valet parking stinks, but seems to be the norm among downtown DC hotels. Factor that in and I don't think $312 for two nights in DC is bad at all. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LR1022_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Amex Traveler:

Thank you for being the Guest at our Hotel. Our location is fantastic and international staff highly engaging as you experienced. Thank you for sharing your experiences on this site.

Let us know how we may assist you with future travel into DC.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

868 - 874 of 1,778 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Average hotel with great location in the heart of Washington DC. Construction nearby might bother a few people but if you are out and about all day you wont notice this.
Metro lines are close (Chinatown) and there are good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlEconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear EconTraveler:

We are glad you had an opportunity to experience our Hotel and staff. We thank you for your feedback.

We will continue to strive toward service excellence!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Family trip to Washington, DC. Really enjoyed my stay at the Hampton Inn. Location, condition, staff and amenities all good. The overall conditoin of the hotel and room where excellent. I plan to us this hotel in the future when I travel to this area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Daniel:

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and experiencing our service. Our entire team is focused on you, the customer and i hope it came through in our interactions with you.

Let us know how we may assist you with future travel plans to DC.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I'd highly recommend this hotel for any length of stay. The only caveat is the parking-watch out for the additional $39.00+ fee. It's centrally located in the city and it's very close to Chinatown and Ford's Theater (.25 mile). If you cross over to 7th Street and walk down a few blocks you'll find yourself in the hub of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest:

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to DC. Our entire team would like to thank you for your kind words. Our team will continue to excel in providing memorable service.

Please let us know how we may assist you in the future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Nothing special here. Clean and comfortable. Construction noise across the street from even numbered rooms so I recommend waiting until an odd numbered room comes available. Walking distance to the Mall, Metro stop, Verizon Center, Chinatown.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chuckwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding recent stay with us. We are sorry that area construction affected your stay experience. Our team is focused on providing excellent service to all our customers in order to rise above mediocrity of average. We will strive to regain you trust.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel for a weekend getaway to celebrate my birthday. We found a great deal through Groupon and because the reviews were so positive we decided to book. We arrived close to noon on Saturday wanting to check our bags so we could go sightsee until our room was ready. Surprisingly we were able to check in and get into our room early which was so appreciated. The room was very nice and updated. The bathroom was large and spacious. There are amenities in the room including a coffee maker, hair dryer, fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 8th floor away from the construction so noise was not an issue for us. They do provide earplugs if it does become a problem which I appreciated that small touch.

The lobby of the hotel is nice as it has ample seating and 24 hour a day coffee, tea, and cocoa. There is also a bar and restaurant which we did not go to. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The location is great as it's 3 blocks from Gallery Place metro station, the Verizon center, shops and restaurants. It is about a 10 minute walk to the Newseum and Art Gallery.

My only minor complaints from this trip were the TV which seemed to be satellite as reception went in and out frequently. The other minor complaint was the free breakfast. Sunday morning was very crowded and the selection of food was just sub par. But I still appreciate the fact that breakfast was included as it kept my husband and I from having to spend more money somewhere else.

In conclusion this hotel was wonderful. I would definitely recommend it for families, couples, or individuals on business! I did not review the pool area as we did not use this amenity.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nursjme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest:

We appreciate your time in documenting your service experience during recent stay at our Hotel. We are delighted that our Hotel provided you with memorable experiences for this very special visit.

We are continuing to look for ways to enhance our breakfast experience and we thank you for your comments regarding this. Our Hotel remain a very popular destination for leisure weekend travelers and at times breakfast area gets over crowded- we apologize for this.

Let us know how we may be of assistance to you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Booked this hotel on booking.com, and reserved a room with double queen beds. Arrived and was given a room with one bed and a pull out couch. Staff simply said the other rooms were gone. No help. Booking.com didn't do anything to help either. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest:

we are sorry to hear about your challenge with bed options during your recent stay. Please reach out to me inorder to discuss this further 202-349-2263.

Sincerely,

John Varghese, gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
834 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
479 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £77 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing