We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to usual Hampton standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #49 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Up to usual Hampton standard”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Good facilities including a small pool and reasonable complimentary breakfast. Rooms have fridge and safe which some other Hamptons do not. The trade off seems to be in the size of the rooms which is average for a city but not huge by any means. We had problems with the TV repeatedly freezing which couldn't be fixed but reception were happy to comp us a couple of movies by way of compensation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to DC. Our entire team would like to thank you for allowing us to serve you as our guest.

We hope to see you return to our Hotel in the future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    640
    162
    49
    29
See reviews for
649
313
81
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

GREAT STAY GREAT VALUE for the price paid - decent rooms, great view, complimentary breakfast. ALERT: no mini bar and downstairs bar closed at 11pm (SHOKING for a New Yorker) - otherwise - great stay and great furniture and clean rooms -)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mikhail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with us and providing us with feedback. Our entire team was delighted to be of service to you.

We hope that you'll remain loyal to Hilton branded Hotels and our Hotel in particular.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We used to have a great time. here. Lately service is declining. Rooms weren't ready. Breakfast wasn't great and water in room was warm and not hot enough. Dissatisfied with the inattentive staff. We are Hilton Honors members and the treatment was terrible. People don't waste your time and hard earned money. VA-SARGE

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank va-sarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest:

We are disappointed that as HH member you didn't feel the "love" from our Hotel during your recent stay. Please accept our apologies from our Team and we hope you'll try us again to experience the customary service we are known to provide. Hotel was filled to capacity through out this summer and we were unfortunately unable to deliver personalized service we typically offer.

We hope that you'll continue to remain loyal to hilton branded hotels and our try us hotel again when you return to our Nation's capitol.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inman, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in August 2014. Would highly recommend. great location, good room, good bed, and quiet. It is located fairly close to public transportation and can get a taxi to the museums for less than $10.
only negative is the breakfast area needs to be larger with more help.

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celebratinganniv47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to DC. We were delighted in your choice of our Hotel for your lodging needs. Your feedback is highly valuable to us as we continue to improve our service delivery.

Hotel provides a great hot breakfast spread and it is highly desired by all our guests- we will continue to review options for a comfortable breakfast experience for all our guests.

Thank you for sharing your story!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. The hallways are clean & modern looking. Our room was immaculate. Bathroom was sparkling. The free breakfast was fine. Different choices are a plus - scrambled eggs,fruit, oatmeal,cereal, waffles, juices.I recommend a room in the back due to construction next door. I had to wait a little longer for it, but well worth it. We bought Big Bus tics right at the concierge desk. The bus stop for Big Bus is down the street from hotel about 2 blocks. I liked the big bus experience. All of the staff were courteous & professional.I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsteng60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on service experience. We re delighted that you experienced "hamptonality" at it's best during your visit.

We look forward to your return in the future. Meanwhile, let us know if we may do anything for you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This hotel is near Mt Vernon/Dupont Circle neighborhoods, easy 15min walk to National Mall passing by Chinatown, local theatres (not cinema). Safe neighborhood, nearby restaurants, Safeway grocery store.

The included breakfast is great: eggs, meat, waffles, oatmeal, cereals, juices, coffee/tea, toast, pastries, fresh fruit. Staff plentiful and extremely helpful. Always coffee/tea, chilled water w/ lemon available in lobby.

Plenty of data ports in room, plus have a room w/ PCs and printers.

As others have posted, the 2 elevators wait can be long. It's used for guests and staff who enter/exit from rear of elevator.

There is construction going on directly across the street. Unless intend to sleep in (after 8am) it shouldn't be a problem. The bldg has frame up, so completion would appear to be a long way off.

Room Tip: Would recommend staying 2 floors above pool/gym on 2nd floor due to hustle and bustle. Expect some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sister90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to write about your experience at our Hotel. Our entire team would like to thank you for chosing to stay with us.

We hope that you'll return to our our warm hospitality, the next time you visit DC.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family and I visited the Hampton Inn from 8/21-8/24. We are comprised of two children (6 & 8 yrs old) and two adults. We had booked our room indirectly over the internet and were originally given a one king size bed room. We explained that we had two children and needed a double room or something to accommodate for them. The staff was very understanding/accommodating and helped us by getting us a room that fit our needs.

We got a room in the 11th floor facing the the side of the building. We never heard any construction sounds (which is literally across the street from the hotel). Our room had a microwave and refrigerator. That was a plus. There was a TV and alarm clock.

The hotel has some cool amenities such as indoor pool, jacuzzi, fitness room and a laundry room (yes, with two washers and dryers - each for $1.50 a load). The hotel also has a bar with happy hour from 5-7pm everyday. In case that you want to relax and meet some people at the end of your busy day :) There is a vending and ice machine in every floor. Soda/water is $2.00 each.

Breakfast is included with your reservation and it runs from 6a-10am. The ladies managing the breakfast stations are constantly moving and replenishing the food. There were eggs (omelettes/scrambled) oatmeals, sausage or bacon, fruits, cereal, breads, coffee (all day), hot cocoa, juice and milk. Ah! and make it yourself waffles too. Sometimes, they had french toasts. For people who are not able to stay to enjoy a full breakfast, the front desk has breakfast on the go bags from 5a-10am.

Location - Just a couple of blocks from the chinatown/downtown area and the convention center. There is a safeway supermarket about two blocks away too. The train/metro is also conveniently close by (Gallery place/chinatown - red line). You are basically two stops away from the nationall mall. There are many many restaurants close by, so dinner exploration is fun!

We had a great time in DC, met great people in the hotel and felt comfortable. We would definitely return if we go back to DC in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We are delighted that our Team was able to provide you and family with a memorable stay experience while visit DC.

As you have mentioned, our hotel has a number of "cool' amenities for guest enjoyment and our Team is well trained to have you experience our City without any hastle.

We hope to see you next time you visit Washington DC.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
806 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
404 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing