We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dependable Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Breakfast was good, but space not appropriate for number of guests and staff had hard time keeping up with demand. would like a firmer pillow and a lighter cover. Still, Hampton is a great brand and always dependable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest:

It is always good to know that your Loyalty is not shaken during this busy summer travel season. Please accept our apologies for not delivering perfect stay experience due to volume of customers using our amenities; especially breakfast.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recognizing the effort our Team puts forth to take good care of Guests. Your Loyalty to Hampton Brand and our Hotel is much appreciated.

We hope to see you during next trip to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,734)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for a quick weekend getaway. The property is nice and a great location, with two metro stations within a 7 min walk and a 5 min walk to china town, verizon center, busboys and poets and many more great things that D.C. has to offer. Some of the staff were absolutely wonderful. However, there was a lack of service by a few staff members, which was not bad/awful, but definitely not what I expect when staying at a hotel. We went to the pool and use the hot tub and gym. All are VERY small, but quite nice and well kept. We did not eat at the hotel with all of the other dining options nearby. We also did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast because it was SO busy and there was a line through the lobby to get through the buffet that moved quite slow. This is something I have never experienced at any hotel. I attribute this to there being a lot of guests since it is the end of the summer, this is in the convention center district and to the fact that amenities such as the restaurant, pool and gym were poorly designed for a large number of guests. BIGGEST issue was the spotty/nonexistent internet connection in our room and the in and out satellite tv. Before dinner I wanted to get some work done and my partner wanted to relax and watch some TV, which neither of us could do because neither was working. After speaking to the front desk staff about 3 times and an internet specialist, the issue was still not resolved. They attributed this to interference and the location of our room (corner, 9th floor). There are only two elevators and they are always packed and run very slow. If you catch one, just get on it because you don't know when the next one will come by. The ice machine on our floor did not work but I walked down to the 8th floor and got it from there. I notified the front desk, who were apologetic. It's a good location and a very clean and up to date hotel that I would stay at again. I would recommend: 1. Getting to breakfast super early 2. Getting a room on the first 4 floors so you can easily walk up or down if the elevators are backed up. 3. Get a centrally located room and not a corner if you want to avoid issues with tv/internet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank DCScribe911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to DC. As your comments suggests, your visit this summer was during unprecedented demand for our Hotel. Hotel capacity was pushed beyond our comfort level due to number of guests using various services and amenities.

We hope that you'll have the opportunity to stay with us and experience a calming & perfect service.

Let us know, how we may assist you with future travel plans.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Good facilities including a small pool and reasonable complimentary breakfast. Rooms have fridge and safe which some other Hamptons do not. The trade off seems to be in the size of the rooms which is average for a city but not huge by any means. We had problems with the TV repeatedly freezing which couldn't be fixed but reception were happy to comp us a couple of movies by way of compensation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest:

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to DC. Our entire team would like to thank you for allowing us to serve you as our guest.

We hope to see you return to our Hotel in the future!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

GREAT STAY GREAT VALUE for the price paid - decent rooms, great view, complimentary breakfast. ALERT: no mini bar and downstairs bar closed at 11pm (SHOKING for a New Yorker) - otherwise - great stay and great furniture and clean rooms -)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mikhail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest:

We thank you for staying with us and providing us with feedback. Our entire team was delighted to be of service to you.

We hope that you'll remain loyal to Hilton branded Hotels and our Hotel in particular.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

We used to have a great time. here. Lately service is declining. Rooms weren't ready. Breakfast wasn't great and water in room was warm and not hot enough. Dissatisfied with the inattentive staff. We are Hilton Honors members and the treatment was terrible. People don't waste your time and hard earned money. VA-SARGE

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank va-sarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Guest:

We are disappointed that as HH member you didn't feel the "love" from our Hotel during your recent stay. Please accept our apologies from our Team and we hope you'll try us again to experience the customary service we are known to provide. Hotel was filled to capacity through out this summer and we were unfortunately unable to deliver personalized service we typically offer.

We hope that you'll continue to remain loyal to hilton branded hotels and our try us hotel again when you return to our Nation's capitol.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel in August 2014. Would highly recommend. great location, good room, good bed, and quiet. It is located fairly close to public transportation and can get a taxi to the museums for less than $10.
only negative is the breakfast area needs to be larger with more help.

Room Tip: higher the better
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Celebratinganniv47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to DC. We were delighted in your choice of our Hotel for your lodging needs. Your feedback is highly valuable to us as we continue to improve our service delivery.

Hotel provides a great hot breakfast spread and it is highly desired by all our guests- we will continue to review options for a comfortable breakfast experience for all our guests.

Thank you for sharing your story!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean. The hallways are clean & modern looking. Our room was immaculate. Bathroom was sparkling. The free breakfast was fine. Different choices are a plus - scrambled eggs,fruit, oatmeal,cereal, waffles, juices.I recommend a room in the back due to construction next door. I had to wait a little longer for it, but well worth it. We bought Big Bus tics right at the concierge desk. The bus stop for Big Bus is down the street from hotel about 2 blocks. I liked the big bus experience. All of the staff were courteous & professional.I recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsteng60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback on service experience. We re delighted that you experienced "hamptonality" at it's best during your visit.

We look forward to your return in the future. Meanwhile, let us know if we may do anything for you.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
814 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center

Address: 901 6th Street NW, at Massachusetts Avenue Northwest, Washington DC, DC 20001-2520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £107 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 13 story hotel offers 228 rooms/suites complemented by public facilities which include a newly renovated lobby and breakfast area, a new bar, as well as a business center, guest laundry facility, suite shop, fitness center, meeting rooms, indoor pool with spa and valet parking garage. Each guestroom is finely appointed in a contemporary design with upscale touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing