We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Residence Inn by Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
fredyt3
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Residence Inn by Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel lives up to the options Marriott provides. It is located near the Capitol,adjacent Independence Square and right around the corner from the Federal SW metro station. The hotel is best suited for those seeking a kitchen or those home-away from home accommodations. The kitchen is complete with all the things needed to prepare your food and is equipped with a full set of dishes, pots and cooking utensils.
The Marriott marketplace which supplies snacks, cold drinks, etc. is somewhat limited. However there is a full service Safeway Market (Waterfront) approximately one mile away. You can either walk or do like we need to access via metro, however 2 metro's are needed as it is on the Green line.
They provide complimentary breakfast which is freshly prepared and also provide a happy hour social which can be substituted for dinner. It has a small pool (4 ft deep) and a jacuzzi, however I did notice a strong clorine smell, which is not that big of a deal but it was noticeable.

Room Tip: There is a gift shop next door to the hotel. Additionally there are several restaurants (casual) at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fredyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    383
    102
    27
    11
See reviews for
519
139
35
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

My daughter and i just spent 2 nights at this hotel and we only have great things to stay. We arrived close to 11AM on the first day and we were able to get right into our room. It was a studio suite (handicapped) and it had plenty of room and was just lovely. The front desk staff was consistently helpful and welcoming. No request was too small (extra shampoo) or strange (ice for an injured foot). They had great suggestions regarding our itinerary and gave great directions. We were able to leave our bags on our last day and did not pick them up until after 5pm. They helped us get a cab to Union station. The concierge Jonathan made some dinner suggestions near the Spy Museum and we enjoyed an INCREDIBLE meal at Ping Pong (including a free cocktail thanks to a coupon from Jonathan). Breakfast was more than adequate and there was plenty of space to enjoy. We never got a chance to enjoy the pool. The little shop in the hotel gave us a bit of snacking when needed. We did not worry about food in the area because we out and about at dinner time both nights. The hotel was very convenient to the Metro as well as the Mall/Capitol. We even came back to the hotel in the middle of the day on one day so that we could rest for a while after a ton of walking -- loved the convenience! We got an amazing deal on Washington.org but I would have paid even more for our stay (ok, maybe not).

Room Tip: Though we were next to the elevators, the small "ping" of the doors did not bother us. Di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful... Sean the concierge took great care of us. Making great family friendly suggestions. The best was Victors tour. Femi and Dewon at the front desk were also very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was a perfect hotel for us! It's a short taxi ride from Reagan Airport and located only blocks from the National Mall and the Smithsonian Museums......also within walking distance of the Botanical Garden and the Capitol. Though the nearby delis close for the evening and weekends, the pizza place next door was excellent, and there's a Potbelly Sandwich Shop on 4th street about a 3 minute walk from the hotel. All of our gang gave the reasonably-priced subs and milkshakes from this shop an "Awesome" rating!

I didn't anticipate how large and nice the room would be! My husband and I were traveling with our two grandsons, and the room provided plenty of space for us. The queen sized bed was comfortable for adults, and the pull-out sofa bed was both roomy and comfortable enough for the 9 and 12 year-olds to share. Having a door separating the sink/vanity area and the shower/toilet area was most helpful.

I never expected such a complete kitchen.....a full size refrigerator with an ice maker, a two burner ceramic stove, a dishwasher (complete with detergent), a microwave, a coffee pot, garbage disposer, and dishes/stainless/glasses/mugs for four. Though we didn't do any cooking, the supplies were adequate to do so.

The pool and whirlpool were small, but they were a lifesaver to wear off some energy the boys had pent up after a long day at the museums! We also greatly appreciated having towels available poolside.

The complimentary breakfast buffet was open early for those of us who like to get an early start to the day, and there was a wide selection of food that was served hot and frequently refilled. From fresh fruit and yogurt to eggs and breakfast meats, to waffles, muffins, and danish that appeal to those with a sweet tooth......the buffet appealed to all of us!

Not to be overlooked, we most certainly appreciated the delightful staff of this hotel! They were eager to be of help whenever we had a question or need. Our room was lacking a corkscrew and nightlight......both were delivered in an instant! Our grandson was craving hot chocolate when the buffet was closed......a packet was thoughtfully provided! I sincerely cannot remember a hotel staffed by such nice people!

Don't missing staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe3264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Family vacation stayed 17-19 Aug 13 with 3 teens after spending 1 week at VB. Two bedroom/two bathroom suite with queen beds and pull out sleeping sofa(not very comfortable from my 16 YO son). About 800 sq ft with full kitchen(awesome), free WiFi and free breakfast(very yummy). Parking at the hotel cost about $35:( Very close walk to the National Mall:) Walked from the Capitol to Lincoln memorial is 4 km +, visited WW2 memorial, Korean War memorial, Lincoln memorial, Vietnam War memorial and the White House. We ate at Harry's on 11 st NW(good prices). Smithsonian museums are on either side of the mall. Spend 3 hrs at the National Air and Space Museum and 3 hrs at the National Museum of Natural History, that's about the max the kids could handle. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Washington.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalavantingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Easily within walkable distance of The Capitol which was brilliant, the walking distances in Washington are huge so you want go make things easier for yourself by staying nearbh - and this hotel is definitely an ideal location. Breakfast was also good but get bery busy so stick to off peak times if possible. Would happily return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchendon, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Everyone was professional and the room was quiet. We were in Room 1115. It was a studio that would easily have accommodated four people. (The couch converted to a bed.) There's a full kitchen, too. We thought food was expensive, especially at some of the Smithsonian sites. The hotel provided a free breakfast daily and three free suppers (Mon., Tues., and Wed.) which was helpful. The Concierge, (Sean) provided excellent advice on tours. We took 'ON BOARD' tours. Tour Guide 'DION' seemed to know EVERYTHING about Washington. He's really good. There's a lot of walking so you might want to use the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twosister11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing