We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed in two bedroom suite for a family of five. Clean and comfortable. Location excellent. Near metro station, Safeway's, national mall and white house. Unfortunately, we were there for four days during the government shutdown, so missed out on the Smithsonian's which is why we went to Washington DC, but we filled our days walking to all the monuments. Visited Arlington Cemetery and walked from there back to the hotel via monuments. Found city very clean and safe. Kids enjoyed pool. Excellent coin operated laundry facilities and hotel shop. Complimentary breakfast broad enough to satisfy all members of the family. A little overpriced but probably due to location. Our internet was a little slow unless siting by the window but was complimentary. No view but this was not an issue for us. There are trains that run at back of hotel but the noise from these did not bother us. Included kitchen facilities which were very useful. Would recommend for families. Only negative was that we had the desk staff order us a taxi for the following morning to the Amtrac station as the local train was not running that day to Union Station. When we checked the next morning the car had not been ordered but we had checked early enough to have another one ordered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSBCAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

The location can't be beat. Easy walk to the National Mall/Smithsonian. Very close to Metro so you can get everywhere else. Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They offer complimentary hot breakfast (and no one can beat a Marriott waffle) and fast WiFi. They also surprised us by offering complimentary dinner Monday through Wednesday evening. They call this "complimentary social hour," which we thought would be a happy hour situation, but it turned out to be pizza and salad. We BYOB'd.

My only problem with the hotel was the environmental controls. The hallways on the 7th floor must have been at least 80 degrees and the room was set to 75. We turned it down to 65, but it wouldn't cool off despite the extremely loud fan (or whatever) running in the room. Made for uncomfortably warm sleeping.

Otherwise, I would stay at this hotel again, and get the staff to look at the thermostat before I left for the day. B/c at night after the sightseeing, I was just too tired to do anything except collapse into bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed a couple of nights due to location. One block from the Federal Center SW station; three blocks from the mall. Wish I'd have known about the metro station closings as we had to catch a cab to the airport rather than catching the Metro. Rooms were like all other Residence Inns, with a view of the building next door. Breakfast was like all the others, Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Only negative was the closeness to the train tracks and the trains that went by.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closed to the front of the building away from the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The customer service was excellent and the location as well within walking distance of the capitol and national mall. We experienced the evening social one night and were very pleased of the service and food. The rooms were clean and very spacious. The kids enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffbcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great! Nice location close to the capital and most of the smithsonians. When we arrived we were upgraded to an one bedroom suite. Check in was fine and the food service was good. Breakfast was the typical Residence Inn fare but the evening socials were a little different than what we are used too. Most Residence Inns have their light evening meal or managers toast M-Thursday. This one only did M-W. Maid service was fine but she over did it with the toiletries. By the time we left we had way too many shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. (See pic).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was so impressed with the professionalism, courtesy, and excellent customer service. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating and even extended my check out time so I could attend an interview and do some sight-seeing afterwards. I really loved my stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esmeralda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This property is within tremendous walking access to all of the frequetly visited attractions in the DC area. The National Mall, including the monuments and the Smithsonians, are within walking distance for most (all within less that 3 miles). Parking is a premium in DC, and somewhat scarce, so this location is awesome.
If you're working and not vacationing, this location is also prime. It is 2 blocks away from many government headquarters, and 3 blocks from the US Capitol.
If being within walking distance to nightlife is your bag, this is not in the heart of the nightlife, which makes for a very quiet and restful sleep. The rooms, breakfast and other amenities are great, and as expected from Marriott properties.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
2,600 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
1,577 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#103 of 142 in Washington DC
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £113 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing