We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience during my 3 weeks in USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best experience during my 3 weeks in USA”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was one of the four hotels I stayed in during my family tour of the states. It was the one that gave me the best experience. We had a 2 Bedroom suite and the suite was like a home away from home. On arrival, the staff at the reception gave us and introduction of the facilities and the concierge gave us a brief overview of DC. The rooms were clean and the place was neat and spacious. There was complimentary breakfast which was a buffet with a very good spread. The servers were very friendly and efficient. To our surprise, we were treated with evening gathering event where a good meal was also served. My entire family did not even need to get dinner after that.

There was a self laundry within the building and you could get coin change and detergent from the reception at a very reasonable price. The washers and dryers were well maintained. There was also an indoor pool and gym.

Location wise,we chose the Capitol RI Marriott because we wanted to visit the sites at the Mall. Smithsonians are just a couple of blocks away. We also walked to the Union Station for our night trolley tours.

For those using the subway,Federal Center's Subway entrance is just a block or two away. This provides access to other parts of DC.

Our cab fee from Union station was about US$10/=. To DCA, the in-house SUV took us to the airport for about $30/=. Could have been cheaper with a Cab, but our party of 5 decided to use the in-house vehicle for the sake of convenience.

In essence, the staff were courteous and helpful, the meals were extremely good and the facilities were of an excellent standard. Location was just a stone's throw from the Washiington DC monuments and the Smithsonian Museums.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextaylp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    396
    107
    29
    12
See reviews for
540
142
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Just a disclaimer that we received a REALLY good deal on this hotel through a Washington deal website and for booking multiple rooms, multiple nights....so for the price we paid this hotel REALLY exceeded our expectations. There were not a lot of restaurants in area, but with a large family with small children we were just looking for a place we could whip up some inexpensive meals (rooms had kitchens) and were in walking distance to Capitol and museums. This place definitely exceeded or expectations! The awesome complimentary breakfasts were a bonus! The staff were great! We had such a great time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie5651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapeer, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This location far exceeded my expectations. The subway is very close and makes access to the entire city pretty easy. Its an easy walk to the National Mall and Capitol. There is a great pizza place right next door and a potbelly sandwich shop and Starbucks right around the corner. Not expecting the best food at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and quantity of breakfast and dinner provided. This was a big money saver and a big convenience to be able to eat breakfast and dinner at the hotel for free. The first night was a wonderful fish and it was excellent. The kitchen staff were so helpful. The front desk clerk arrainged car service for us and the driver is a wealth of information and so nice. Our room was large and clean. We did not use the pool or workout room. There were several machines out of order in the guest laundry. That is the only less than possitive thing I can say about this hotel or its employees. We stored our bags and toured after we checked out and this was very helpful. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Last weekend we stayed two nights here. Our room was spacious and clean. Hot breakfast was included with scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, sausage, bacon, etc. The crew in the dining room are second to none! They were quick to take away dishes and provided every assistance. The concierge is outstanding. Be sure to stop for a map and questions about what to see and where to dine. Very good about calling cabs for us as needed. Only two blocks from the Federal Station Metro stop. Walking distance to the U.S. Botanic Gardens. We would stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 2wego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This location was fabulous for touring DC sites but nothing else is in the area other than 1 mediocre pizza place. The rooms were clean- but 2 out if 3 of us contracted hot tub folliculitus from the hot tub. Beware of it!!!

The bkfst was perfect, staff lovely. Would stay again if only wanted walk to capitol, mall, botanical gardens... But no place to walk to eat. Obviously I am done with public hot tubs!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorpen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn for a week during cherry blossom time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite.

The kitchen/restaurant staff are wonderful and so is the front desk staff. The trip would have been perfect except for one big thing. They slipped a note under our door about half way through the trip telling us they were going to clean the carpets WHILE WE STAYED THERE.

I was there with my husband, 2 children and my mother. Asking for another room in lieu of walking on wet carpet was not an option, especially during that time of year. No other room was available. In fact, no other room was available anywhere in Washington, DC.

Who would decide to clean the carpets during that week of the year? That has to be one of the biggest weeks for Washington, DC hotels. And if you had to clean the carpets, why would you do it while guests were staying in the room?

So other than walking around on wet carpet for a couple of days of our stay, it is a good place. However, we will never stay there again . . .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

A large group of us stayed at Residence Inn's 2 bedroom suite. It was more than ideal for 6 per room, with a spacious living area and 2 bedrooms with 2 separate bathrooms. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Staff were attentive and helpful.

Location wise, it's excellent - walking distance to the Metro and many sights including the Smithsonian. Overall, this was a great, comfortable stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMayYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
917 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,512 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,461 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
231 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing