We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Parking is a pain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #66 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we stayed here a night in May; the hotel is in a very nice location, a couple of blocks away from the Capitol / Museums. Breakfast is on the house and is expansive. The hotel was super full and crowded thanks to the Memorial Day weekend. The only downside to this hotel is the parking. You literally have to squeeze your vehicle down the ramp and the wall is actually black in color thanks to the zillion vehicles that have rubbed shoulders with the wall!! Guys, please do something that - stick some rubber beeding or atleast a thermocol sheet so that cars avoid getting scratched! I had a lot of trouble negotiating my mini van through that gap!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sraghura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I came to DC for training with about 8 coworkers. It is in a great location, they have a free full breakfast and on a few days a nice social hours with free dinner! Yes free and it was yummy! The staff went over and above to help all of us! They were very attentive and accommodating. Not much to eat on that street but a few blocks away are food trucks and other places to eat! I will stay here every time I come in to DC.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My family usually stays near Georgetown on our visits to DC, but this year we tried something new. No regrets about staying at this Residence Inn.

It was "casual day" when we checked in and it was a bit disconcerting to see the front desk staff in tee shirts that showed off their tattoos. But everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room - 403 - was spacious and clean as a whistle. Two tvs, a full kitchen, and extremely quiet. The hotel is well-located near the L'Enfant Plaza and Federal Center SW Metro stops, or you can walk to the National Mall in about 12 minutes.

The breakfast buffet was generous and the breakfast room staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel also has an extremely well-stocked gift shop. There is also a small pool which our kids enjoyed.

There aren't many dining options in the immediate vicinity, but you're just a few Metro stops away from Eastern Market which has many restaurants at different price points.

Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 208-217 may be noisy, they are along the corridor that leads to the pool and workout center.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caliroan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room with kitchen was very clean. Front desk staff very friendly. Hotel offers a hearty free breakfast and even provided our conference gathering with a decent free lunch with dessert, plus refreshments. Given there are not great places to eat nearby, this added service is most helpful. I like also that the hotel is smaller than the typical Marriotts and has more of a homey feel. I don't like the $35/day charge to park, though this rate is not uncommon in DC. Fortunately, there are somewhat cheaper garage options and street parking in the area.

Room Tip: Many rooms face the office building next door and/or must contend with the sound of freight trains p...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyinMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed there over memorial day weekend…beautiful quiet location …able to walk to all the sights (some were further but walk was beautiful) staff was friendly, especially kitchen staff that cleaned up tables as you were finished with breakfast.
On weekends, plenty of ample parking in front and around corner from hotel on street that is FREE.
***Spent a lot of time researching tours and on the suggestion of a front desk person, booked the continental which was better than expected and less than half the price of other tours the concierge guy was recommending. Try to research on your own beforehand as the concierge makes a commission from the tours and I felt he was recommending the more expensive tours. But he was still nice and helpful when needed… Will stay here again…Clean and safe area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa03NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved our stay at the Residence Inn Washington DC in May Because:
1. Great staff--helpful, friendly especially wait staff in dining room.
2. Spacious and clean rooms (well appointed kitchen).
3. Generous variety for breakfast (free Happy Hour Snacks are offered M-T-W. and definitely enough food to count for dinner!)
4. Location--3 blocks from Capitol grounds and National Mall (our Hop/on-Hop/off bus --two adult passes for two days $ 114.00 for all colored lines-- stop was the Native American Smithsonian Museum--3 blocks from our hotel. FederalCenterSW Metro station is within a block from hotel.
5. Indoor pool and hot tub--great after sightseeing all day
6. Pizza restaurant next door....McDonalds, Quiznos, Potbellies and CVS are within 3 blocks from hotel on the way to the Mall.

Room Tip: Check rooms away from train tracks
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was so ideal for it's location to walk to all the things we wanted to see in D.C. We ended up not renting a car, and it proved to be a good choice since we were able to get to most places on foot (we did take a cab once or twice).

It was nice that they added free food a few nights during the week, but it was not what I would call gourmet food. The neighborhood has very limited choices for restaurants. This is usually when we had to take a cab.

Foe lunch the best bet was in the Smithsonian just a few blocks away (The Mitsitam Native Foods Cafe ~ a foody heaven)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuburbsSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
986 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 142 in Washington DC
2,576 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 142 in Washington DC
1,530 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £126 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing