We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to everything, just not much around at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #56 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
watertown, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to everything, just not much around at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

Stayed here with my 2 sons and my sister came along too. The room was very nice and clean though the walls are a bit thin. Our view was of the building under construction next door but a housekeeper let my son see a room on the 13th floor with a view of the Capitol and I think it was the highlight of his trip. It is an easy walk to the Botanical Gardens and the American Indian Museum and also the Capitol. The Air & Space Museum is a few blocks too but the Natural History and American History Museums are on the other side of the Mall and can be quite a walk back to the hotel after walking through them all day. Metro is very close by so just take a short ride to get some good food as there is nothing close by at all. Overall it was a great stay .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    383
    102
    27
    11
See reviews for
519
139
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman Montana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We stayed at this hotel based on the recommendations here on Trip Advisor and since so many had taken the time to contribute I felt that it was my turn. The hotel is located a very short distance from the Federal Center Metro stop and is within easy walking distance of the Capitol Mall and the Smithsonian(s) and it was very easy for us to get around DC either on foot or via the Metro. Do purchase a multi-day or week long metro pass if you are staying for a while - I saw a number of people repeatedly purchasing Metro passes day after day. The buffet style breakfast is actually very good although it was very crowded (just after Cherry Blossom festival/Spring Break) so getting a table was difficult at times but they opened the conference room to accommodate overflow. There are also week day dinner meals Mon-Wed that were pretty good and saved us some money. Room was pretty much a typical Residence Inn room except that there is not an oven (stove top & microwave) so you could not cook a pizza or bake anything which would have been nice. Did hear the train but we faced the newly constructed office building so we were buffered from the train noise but I can see how this would be a problem if you directly faced the tracks. Nothing to eat nearby with the exception of Pot Belly (sandwiches) but it is very easy to hop on the Metro and go to say Dupont Circle where there are a ton of great restaurants or even further out to Georgetown via the shuttle bus from the Dupont Metro station ($1 each way). Safe at night to walk from the Metro station to the hotel (we were there for the hockey Frozen Four and had late nights on the Thu. & Sat. night games). No WiFi in the rooms which was a pain but there was slow ethernet which was better than nothing. Front desk staff very helpful and nice. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

- We really loved this place and would stay here again without a doubt!
- Breakfast for the kids was great; be sure to get down there early.. they pack it up quickly when time is out; but plenty of food for everyone!
- even with the 4-6pm Friday rush crowd, no problems getting the elevator
- parking is plentiful on the garage and don't have to switch elevators to get from parking to room
- corner 2 bdrm suite is awesome and comfy for 7; 3 adults and 4 kids. 9,8,5.5 and 3.5
- best pizza is pizza boli read negative reviews on new York pizza
- get your grocery list in early and they will do it for you
- awesome catholic church right down the street
- GO TO NASA if you have kids; walking distance of 1 block
- lobby store is ok and not old food, just a little pricey
- breakfast was good and easy; be sure to get down there though.. they close up shop quickly.. We were there early March Fri thru Sunday and they never ran out of food
- NO TRAINS - not sure who or what in previous reviews people heard or saw, but we NEVER once heard trains
- Walk walk walk - we walked to capital and nearby sites.. easiest way to get around
- Also recommend the trolley tour

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markv972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed for 3 days on a business trip. Had a 1-bedroom suite that was terrific. Comfortable bed, very clean, nicely designed room. Tried the free breakfast buffet one morning. It was good -- real scrambled eggs, french toast, bacon/sausage, hot oatmeal, fruit, etc. They offer a free dinner (a single meat and couple of sides) several nights of the week.

Strongest points: convenient to the Metro (1 1/2 blocks), comfortable, spacious & clean room, helpful staff, felt safe day and night, free in-room Internet.

Weakest points: not much in the immediate area (only a few delis, no sights), a little train noise (though it was not loud enough to keep me up).

I'll definitely stay there on my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATL_Georgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

I stayed at this hotel because it was highly recommended by a colleague. I was not disappointed. The one bedroom suite was very spacious, the staff was second to none, and the cleanliness of the hotel exceeded my expectations. The deluxe continental breakfast was "Deluxe", with a wide variety of choices. The food was appetizing. The hotel was conveniently located near other eateries and within walking distance of the USDA Graduate School. In order to go up to your room, you would have to insert your room key inside a slot in the elevator or else you could not ride the elevator up to the different floors. I find that to be an excellent security measure.

The only thing that disappointed me was the hotel didn't offer wireless internet service, which restricted me to the living room area when using the broadband network. Although I wasn't bothered by the proximity of the train station, if you're sensitive to noise, depending on your room location, this hotel may not be for you.

Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the DC area.

  • Liked — The staff and the security
  • Disliked — no wireless internet service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank smoochpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

My family just came home today after a one night stay at the Residence Inn Capitol. It was very close to the metro station, but that's when the value ended.

The hotel itself was nice enough, but the staff were not very helpful. I asked for ice from the woman managing the front desk and she went off for about five minutes and then told me I need a container. I asked her if there was an ice bucket in the room and she said that she didn't know. I went back to the room and got a beverage pitcher and brought it back. She went away for another ten minutes and came back and said her key didn't work and that she would have to get another key. I told her to forget it. After fifteen minutes of waiting for ice I was done.

The area is very desolate during the weekends which is good and bad. The good is that I just parked on the street for free with no worry about crime (the police station is a block away). The bad is that there were a few delis and sandwich shops, but they were closed on the weekend. Nothing for food for any where near by.

The room was plenty large, but the beds were very uncomfortable and not up to current Marriott standards.

Breakfast was plentiful, but almost everything was cold, including the potatoes and eggs. They did have a waffle maker which was nice.

If I go back to DC for a weekend, I would never select this property as my first choice. It would be a decent spot for a large family or someone just wanting to be near the Smithsonian or the subway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Run down with very little to wow me.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank the4seus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We recently stayed at the Residnce Inn and had a very good experience! 2 bedroom/ 2 bath Suite seemed to accomodate our family of six. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Only heard train noise once or twice in 6 nights and it was not minor in comparison to what we expected. Ice maker on Refrigerator a little noisy. Location near SW Federal metro stop convenient and felt safe walking day or night. Many options to choose from at breakfast each morning. Several evenings during the week they offer soup, salad and an entree. CVS Pharmacy, Starbucks and a few sandwich shops within reasonable walking distance. Monuments by moonlight tours offers pick up at the hotel if you ask for it. Old Tyme Trolley picks up at Holiday Inn a few blocks away within walking distance. Highly recommend the Trolley tour. Pool and work out room rarely had more than a few people. Laundry facilities on site, but no chairs to lounge while waiting. A few sedans were often out front of the hotel and available for transportation that was comparable to taxi rates. Security well handled with a room key required to use elevator. Very comfortable lobby area with big flat screen TV, two computers with printer and several couches and large table. I would highly recommend this hotel for families.

  • Liked — Staff at Front Desk and in Breakfast area were wonderful!
  • Disliked — Too little space to get in and out of 2nd bedroom with dresser and bed set up.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissouriFamilyofSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,409 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing