We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. Adequate location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
"The OC", CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. Adequate location.”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

This hotel was a couple blocks from the nearest Metro station... no problem. It is in a more business area, so not a lot of restaurants or shops and no where really to grab a late night bite to eat.

Breakfast in the morning was fine but on the weekend, it was PACKED! (wow!)

There was free internet in the hotel which I LOVE... I just wish it was wireless... I did not like being chained to a desk. Plus it means only one person at a time in our 2 bed/2 bath room could be on-line at a time.

The place was perfect size for a family of 5... we had 6 and it was a bit small for us - unless 2 teens wanted to share a sofa bed.

Staff was friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.
It was not exceptional, it was overpriced for what it was, but it was all that you would expect from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    391
    106
    28
    12
See reviews for
531
142
35
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level Contributor
539 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I stayed here with my mother & sister over Mother's Day weekend. We wanted a suite that could accommodate 3 different beds. Our suite had two queens and a comfortable double sofa-sleeper. The room was very clean, complete with fridge, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. There was a television in the "living room" area and a television in the bedroom area. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There's a gift shop on site filled with DC trinkets and souvenirs as well as cold drinks & snacks. Breakfast in the morning included hot & cold cereals, scrambled eggs, French toast or pancakes, some kind of meat (usually sausage), biscuits and gravy, fruit, and beverages. There is no restaurant close by, except for the deli across the street in the NASA building, and this is open roughly during business hours. We ordered in pizza and Chinese deliveries from area restaurants, or it's easy to find meals near Metro stations and return to the hotel via the Metro. The Metro is an easy walk, or taxis come by frequently. The neighborhood was quiet.

In the lobby area there are 2 rather hidden computers for guests to use for checking email and printing out boarding passes.

My one and only complaint was that when we checked out, we requested each of us pay equal share of the bill, which the staff was happy to do. We each received our receipts, but found out later that one of us had been double charged and another one of us had not been charged at all. Upon this discovery I phoned the hotel and they corrected the error immediately.

Having always stayed on the north side of The Mall, this was my first experience on the South Side. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We had the 2 bed/2bath suite. Supposedly queen beds - NOT! Clearly that bed was a double. A wad on gum on the wall was the only misstep. Free breakfast was really good and fresh - hot and cold selections every day, including fresh fruit and scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurts, granola, etc. VERY close to metro - around the corner and one short block down. Pot Belly around the corner and CVS within 2 blocks. Good options for food delivery - used by us and many guests. Concierge only on weekends. Mostly business guests. Very nice front desk staff. Underground parking garage. Need key to access elevators.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We got this as a Priceline hotel, but it would have been worth the full price.

The hotel is a block and a half from the Federal SOUTH metro stop (note: don't get off at Federal TRIANGLE; make sure it's SOUTH). Can be hard to find the first time, if you don't know where you're going. Front desk was no help with directions when we called.

It's a 15 minute leisurely walk to the Capitol. The area is up-and-coming -- a lot of construction; some "iffy" parts. The whole place, like most of DC, closes by 7 pm. The nearest grocery store is about a mile walk, but the hotel will pick up anything you need at no extra charge.

The hotel is beautiful. It's decorated in an American Indian theme, with sandstone-like walls and Indian artwork. There is a small business center off the lobby, with two computers and two printers. The lobby is large and has several waiting areas and a big screen tv.

Check-in was very easy, and the front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly (except when calling for directions, as noted above). There is a concierge available on Fri, Sat, Sun. The kiosks in the lobby purporting to tell about area information are, for the most part, not helpful. They only contain information on PAID advertisers, rather than actual tourist info. Use the business center computer instead.

There is a daily hot breakfast; more than the usual hotel freebie. And Mon/Tues/Wed are "socials" where dinner is served free of charge. The food was pretty good, especially for the price ;-) and the service staff was excellent.

The rooms are all suites, with a double bed and a fold out couch. There's plenty of room if you need to pack in more than 2 or 3 people. The kitchen is large and has everything you need to make yourself at home. The bathrooms are not large, but they contain a separate sink area with a large mirror. Furnishings were all new, and beautifully decorated. Everything was spotless.

The fitness center was large and well-appointed. The pool and jacuzzi are chlorine-free, using a mineral system instead. This felt a lot better on the skin.

We loved this hotel for many reasons, but the one that stands out the most is the service. Everyone was SO nice and friendly, and we really felt at home.

I would definitely make this a first choice hotel when staying in Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This hotel met or exceeded all my expectations. It was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, the pool/fitness are were beyond adequate, the internet connection worked perfectly, the beds were very comfortable, it was very close to the Metro. The very best part of the stay was the hot breakfast and the 3 evening dinner buffets. Food can be very expensive in DC and having delicious meals included in your room price is a real service in today's economy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Granny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmont ma.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Great stay over school vacation week for three days two of which we were given room upgrades due to sleeping arrangement requirements. Staff very polite and helpful. Great varied, plentiful breakfasts. Short walk to Air and Space, Cap. Hill, and Museum of Native Americans. Not so much to Monument/ White House area. Very short walk to Metro Stop. Pool very bright and clean, great end of day activity for kids/teens. Shop in lobby sells everything - tums, tourist trinkets, wine/beer. Concierge very helpful, knows of great take outs which is a help on weekends when the evening dinner is not served.
Though near the train line, we barely noticed it in two different locations in the hotel. Parking- on weekends, easy on streets, the garage right next door offers $10 per work day - in by 7 out by 6 but you need to work carefully with them about locating your vehicle.
Suites are large by city standards. Great spot to base a first tour of DC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I thought this hotel was great! The location was walking distance to the Capitol and the Mall area. Rooms were very clean. The staff was very freindly from the hotel lobby to housekeeping. The free breakfast in the morning was wonderful, there were many choice from Waffles, Eggs, Ceral, Bagels, etc... The only negative thing about this hotel is that there is a $30.00 a night fee to park your car, but I think this is the going rate for Washington and not much you can do about that. The hotel was in a very safe area. There is a sandwich shop and a starbucks 1 block away. We ask the front desk for Chinese delivery information and they gave us 3 places that would deliver to the hotel from Chinatown.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chudkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
850 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
2,471 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing