We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but probably would not stay here again due to lack of restaurants in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Okay, but probably would not stay here again due to lack of restaurants in area”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Just returned from the Residence Inn Capitol and, all things considered, I probably would not stay here again. The property itself is adequate but the location leaves something to be desired as it’s not in the greatest of areas. Parking in the garage was very difficult and worst of all there are no family friendly full service restaurants in the immediate area. The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, which is alright, but not nearly as good as the Embassy Suites buffet. Food items consisted of pancakes or French toast (the frozen and reheated variety), as well as sausage, oatmeal, pastries, fresh fruit, juices, coffee etc. The best part of the buffet were the waffle makers. Sadly though, on our day of departure these were not set up because (as one of the kitchen workers told me) “someone had forgotten to order waffle batter.” Be forewarned that the buffet gets extremely overcrowded on weekend. On the Saturday morning that we were there the breakfast buffet was chaotic and the hotel seemed to be incapable of handling the sheer volume of guests that day. When we got to the buffet at about 8:00 there was not a single table available and there were a good numbers of other families who were also scouring the dining room for a table. In light of the overload, the hotel staff was in the process of setting up some additional tables in an adjoining room, but they seemed to be taking there time doing this. Some other families actually used some of the tables in the lobby as well as the concierge tables in light of this. After I finally secured a table in the main dining room though (and the hotel staff still had not set up any overflow tables by that point) we got to the buffet only to find that they had actually run out of plates and silverware, but by that point nothing would surprise me and I joked with my wife that any moment I was sure they would announce that they had run out of food and were closing the buffet; fortunately though that did not happen. Buffet issues aside, our room was very nice, however, there was a permanently ground in toothpaste stain in the carpet and some other seemingly immovable stain on the kitchen table. We were on the E Street side of the property so we did not have much of a view. Parking was $30 a day and the hotel garage is extremely cramped. If you have a small car then you shouldn’t have any trouble parking, but if you have an SUV then prepare for a squeeze. On the plus side though, the garage is gated. The hotel pool is adequate. It’s a salt water pool, which is okay, but what’s not okay is the excessively high chlorine level. My eyes were stinging for hours after opening them for a just a few moments in the pool. Location wise, the hotel is situated just a stones throw from the U.S. Capitol building, the Air and Space Museum and the Native American museum. However, if you were to walk that same distance in the opposite direction you would then find yourself in a rather unsightly section of DC that you probably wouldn’t won’t want to spend any time in. In terms of restaurants, there’s a deli across the street from the hotel, a Potbelly’s sandwich shop around the corner and a McDonalds a few block down en route to the Capitol Building, but otherwise there are no full service restaurants suitable for a sit down dinner in the immediate area. I should also point out that the McDonalds is very dirty and there continually seemed to be homeless people hovering in its vicinity; suffice it to say we did not eat there. Due to the lack of restaurants in the area, I probably would not bring my family here again. After a long day of sightseeing and touring the city under a hot sun, we just wanted to relax and sit down to a nice dinner; so every night we had to make the decision of venturing out on the metro to find a nice restaurant or settle for takeout. If I were travelling solo for business, I would probably stay here again, but given the lack of dining options for dinner, I probably would not bring my family here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    396
    107
    29
    12
See reviews for
540
142
36
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, NM
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

From the minute we checked into this Residence Inn, we knew we were in a great place! First off, the location is hard to beat. We were within a block or so of the subway, and a few blocks from the Mall and Capitol. We were on the trip during the 4th of July, so just walking a few blocks to the hotel while we were enjoying the Independence Day events was perfect. We were able to walk to the Mall to watch the fireworks, and were back in our room within 15 minutes --- while the crowds of people swarmed the subways and streets. The location is perfect. Besides location, this Residence Inn was exceptional in its service and “extras” they provided. They had an “ice cream social” (not sure if this is typical or just for 4th of July weekend.) where they had an ice cream cart in the afternoons – free of charge. The kids loved this. They offered a movie night and had amazing snacks –again, free of charge. They have a great breakfast buffet, and with five of us, this really helped offset some meal costs. They also had dinners scheduled on certain nights. We were able to take advantage of this one night only, but it was plentiful and again, a freebie. The room was spacious for the five of us (1 bedroom suite) with 2 doubles and a pull-out sofa. We weren’t climbing over one another, and the cleanliness of the rooms was exceptional (to my picky standards!). The front desk was always responsive to our questions and requests, and they even helped us intercept a pizza deliver man one evening. This place is really hard to beat and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Especially traveling with the kids, we would make this our first choice in Washington. A few lessons learned about 4th of July – the Mall, as you can imagine, gets really crowded. We made the mistake of sitting outside of the fenced area at the Capitol. We had a great spot on the lawn for the fireworks; however, we couldn’t hear the concert prior to the fireworks. We assumed we would be able to hear it fine where we were. There was a great concert going on (Natasha Bettingfield) and our two older kids were disappointed that we missed that. Another lesson – we expected to be able to buy fair-type food at the Mall before the fireworks. All there really was were the food carts which are there all the time. One tip would be to take the metro to Union Station and get some food at the foodcourt and then bring it back. It was difficult to find something decent to eat otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappingMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel is nothing more, nor less, than you would expect. Nice size room, clean, no view, free internet, generous free breakfast, adequate desk/concierge staff, good price ($111/per night). No frills. I found it to be an excellent location - four blocks south of the National Mall. Walked to all sightseeing sites and to Nationals Park for baseball. Neighborhood felt safe for walking at night. Surrounded by office buildings and condos, no restaurants (except deli across street).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djkrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
"The OC", CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

This hotel was a couple blocks from the nearest Metro station... no problem. It is in a more business area, so not a lot of restaurants or shops and no where really to grab a late night bite to eat.

Breakfast in the morning was fine but on the weekend, it was PACKED! (wow!)

There was free internet in the hotel which I LOVE... I just wish it was wireless... I did not like being chained to a desk. Plus it means only one person at a time in our 2 bed/2 bath room could be on-line at a time.

The place was perfect size for a family of 5... we had 6 and it was a bit small for us - unless 2 teens wanted to share a sofa bed.

Staff was friendly and helpful.
We would stay here again.
It was not exceptional, it was overpriced for what it was, but it was all that you would expect from a hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

I stayed here with my mother & sister over Mother's Day weekend. We wanted a suite that could accommodate 3 different beds. Our suite had two queens and a comfortable double sofa-sleeper. The room was very clean, complete with fridge, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. There was a television in the "living room" area and a television in the bedroom area. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There's a gift shop on site filled with DC trinkets and souvenirs as well as cold drinks & snacks. Breakfast in the morning included hot & cold cereals, scrambled eggs, French toast or pancakes, some kind of meat (usually sausage), biscuits and gravy, fruit, and beverages. There is no restaurant close by, except for the deli across the street in the NASA building, and this is open roughly during business hours. We ordered in pizza and Chinese deliveries from area restaurants, or it's easy to find meals near Metro stations and return to the hotel via the Metro. The Metro is an easy walk, or taxis come by frequently. The neighborhood was quiet.

In the lobby area there are 2 rather hidden computers for guests to use for checking email and printing out boarding passes.

My one and only complaint was that when we checked out, we requested each of us pay equal share of the bill, which the staff was happy to do. We each received our receipts, but found out later that one of us had been double charged and another one of us had not been charged at all. Upon this discovery I phoned the hotel and they corrected the error immediately.

Having always stayed on the north side of The Mall, this was my first experience on the South Side. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We had the 2 bed/2bath suite. Supposedly queen beds - NOT! Clearly that bed was a double. A wad on gum on the wall was the only misstep. Free breakfast was really good and fresh - hot and cold selections every day, including fresh fruit and scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurts, granola, etc. VERY close to metro - around the corner and one short block down. Pot Belly around the corner and CVS within 2 blocks. Good options for food delivery - used by us and many guests. Concierge only on weekends. Mostly business guests. Very nice front desk staff. Underground parking garage. Need key to access elevators.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We got this as a Priceline hotel, but it would have been worth the full price.

The hotel is a block and a half from the Federal SOUTH metro stop (note: don't get off at Federal TRIANGLE; make sure it's SOUTH). Can be hard to find the first time, if you don't know where you're going. Front desk was no help with directions when we called.

It's a 15 minute leisurely walk to the Capitol. The area is up-and-coming -- a lot of construction; some "iffy" parts. The whole place, like most of DC, closes by 7 pm. The nearest grocery store is about a mile walk, but the hotel will pick up anything you need at no extra charge.

The hotel is beautiful. It's decorated in an American Indian theme, with sandstone-like walls and Indian artwork. There is a small business center off the lobby, with two computers and two printers. The lobby is large and has several waiting areas and a big screen tv.

Check-in was very easy, and the front desk staff was knowledgeable and friendly (except when calling for directions, as noted above). There is a concierge available on Fri, Sat, Sun. The kiosks in the lobby purporting to tell about area information are, for the most part, not helpful. They only contain information on PAID advertisers, rather than actual tourist info. Use the business center computer instead.

There is a daily hot breakfast; more than the usual hotel freebie. And Mon/Tues/Wed are "socials" where dinner is served free of charge. The food was pretty good, especially for the price ;-) and the service staff was excellent.

The rooms are all suites, with a double bed and a fold out couch. There's plenty of room if you need to pack in more than 2 or 3 people. The kitchen is large and has everything you need to make yourself at home. The bathrooms are not large, but they contain a separate sink area with a large mirror. Furnishings were all new, and beautifully decorated. Everything was spotless.

The fitness center was large and well-appointed. The pool and jacuzzi are chlorine-free, using a mineral system instead. This felt a lot better on the skin.

We loved this hotel for many reasons, but the one that stands out the most is the service. Everyone was SO nice and friendly, and we really felt at home.

I would definitely make this a first choice hotel when staying in Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
915 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,512 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,460 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
230 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing