We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location to museums....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles, california
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“perfect location to museums....”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

A 60$ taxi ride brought us to the Residence Inn for a few nights in October. We paid $151.00 a night and check-in was easy, the room was very clean and breakfast in the morning was good. Not gourmet food, but yogurt, some fruit, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, eggs bacon, potatoes, toast, bagels etc. Newspapers were available if you wanted a complementary copy. The staff cleaning tables and replenishing the coffee were very pleasant. I gave the rooms 4 stars as I wish a window would open. I like fresh air, and while the fan and air conditioning worked fine, I do like a window to open. We had a view of a government building right next door that was being renovated. There was no noise, but there was nothing to look at. The railroad tracks behind the building didnt bother us. We didnt use the pool, or fitness room. The location was great. We walked to the Smithsonian and Capital Building. Restaurants within walking distance were excellent. Capital Grille, 701, and Cental were delicious for dinner. We rented bikes one day by the Post Office Pavillion and rode to Arlington National Cemetary, and the Lincoln Memorial and around the White House. Bikes were an excellent way to get around. Locks were provided, so we were able to park and walk around when we wanted. I never felt afraid to walk around DC even in the evening. There always seemed to be plenty of police around. We attended the show "Capital Steps" at the Reagan Theater on a Friday night and enjoyed the satire and humor of the show! Last minute $35.00 tickets got us great orchestra seats! The day we left the front desk said give them a 20 minute notice and they would get a taxi for us. To our delight, that taxi was a lovely towncar, with a very nice driver that took us to Dulles for our flight.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alacraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    401
    111
    30
    12
See reviews for
548
143
35
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2010

It was the best trip EVER because the staff helped me find what i needed. This was my first trip to DC. I had three boys and there was plenty of room. I did not care for the pool due to noise from the kids. The breakfast was outstanding but get there early for it to be a quiet breakfast. They waited on us hand and foot in the morning. it was close to the museums and not close to restaurants. there is a cvs close by but it closes early and not open on sunday. I loved it and so did my family.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Gap, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Our family of two adults, two teens & an elementary age kiddo enjoyed our stay. We had a one bedroom (two queen beds in bedroom + pull out queen sofa in livingroom). It was great to have a working kitchen with full size appliances. We didn't actually cook here, but we did appreciate the extra space it gave us. It was surprisingly spacious for DC. And having queen size beds seems to be a good find for this price...found very few for our price range. We were totally surprised by the size of the bath area. Wonderful to have the shower/tub & toilet separate from the dressing area. And TONS of space in the dressing area...three of us could be in front of the mirror at one time & not be in each others way. It is dated, but it's kept clean. The beds were ok, enough for a good nights sleep after being exhausted! It was so nice to have breakfast in our hotel. We felt we were on a limited time schedule, therefore not having to find a restaurant, have a seat, order, and wait for our meal was helpful in getting our day started at a reasonable time. The Metro is a few blocks away, not bad. We decided to drive to the monuments & Arlington on the weekend; found our way around rather easily (consider we're from the middle of nowhere PA), and our way back to the hotel. The only thing we weren't in love with is the cost of parking. It's $30 per day. Next to the hotel (we didn't see this as we came in very late) is parking for $12 per day.... Over all a good place to crash after a September heatwave in DC.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonoma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed here for four nights with my daughter in a two bed/two bath suite. It's a fifteen minute walk to the Capitol building. The kitchen is spacious with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, hob, microwave etc.

The breakfast was a great start to the day, and there is a huge selection to choose from. There is a Safeway two blocks away for stocking up if you want to do any cooking etc.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I'd defintely stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seatsforlanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

A clean, somewhat expensive but practical choice in the unglamorous business area near Federal Center Southwest. The small suite we stayed in was like the neighborhood ... functional, with all the necessary trappings, but unremarkable. You'll hear the occasional freight train rumbling on the tracks to the north, and the bed in our room was a bit hard. Breakfast buffet was a bit larger with more variety than comparable hotels and there was a choice of free newspapers. Don't return from business or sightseeing until you're really done for the day and have eaten, because there aren't many restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We wound up walking three and a-half blocks to a Hilton that had a so-so bistro.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2010

It is within walking distance to the capitol hill, a little bit more walking to most of the museums. The sweet suite even has kitchen and all cookwares, very thoughtful. But there is really no good place to eat nearby. We'll have to call for delivery after a tired day of traveling.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Our stay in this hotel was very pleasant. It is a block from the metro, and only a couple blocks from the mall and capitol buildings. Easily walkable to East Mall area. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, especially since we stayed a couple weeks. The full size refrigerator was convenient, as well as the small kitchen area. Free morning breakfast was the best we'd seen with enough variety that even though we stayed a while at the hotel, we didn't mind eating there every morning. Free dinner Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday was also convenient--nice not to have to worry about going out after a day at the museums. We didn't use the free grocery service--but it was nice to know it was provided.

Only draw back--the pool was small and crowded. But still better than nothing for the kids at the end of the day. Also, not close to any restaurants (other than McDonalds!). And the parking garage was nightmare to get into, and quite pricey to use (luckily we only had a rental car a couple days). The parking situation is typical for DC--better to use the metro or walk, if you can.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington DC / Nati...
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,546 reviews
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,501 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing