We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in D.C.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2010

My wife and kids - ages 11, 9 and 7 - just stayed two nights at the Residence Inn and we were very pleased.

The location was good in terms of being a couple of blocks from the Metro that goes right to the White House vicinity. And it was a close walk to the Mall. But it's not a good location if you want to walk to a restaurant, as there is practically nothing open in the evening.

The rooms were spacious enough and very clean, and we had no problem getting extra pillows and blankets.

The morning breakfast was very good, and there were many attendants on hand to clean tables, open up tables in other areas when it was very crowded, and re-fill the food trays.

They showed a movie each night at 8pm in one of the conference rooms off the lobby, with popcorn and water available for everyone. That was a nice touch for the kids. The kids also liked the indoor pool.

My only negative is that one morning, I didn't receive the wake-up call I put in for. Luckily, this didn't screw me up or this review might be a little different! But messing up a wake-up call is a big no-no in my book. A hotel, especially one in the business district, can't let that happen.

I also found it a little weak that we had to pay $30 per day to park there.

Overall, the Residence Inn was a very good value and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HandsomePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

We took a short vacation during the veteran's day weekend. When we arrived at 9am after a long overnight flied from Ca, we were able to get a room right away and were offered a wonderful buffet breakfast. The staff is very friendly.

We had a nice big room. It's very clean and quiet. The kitchen is completed with everything you cneeded. We did not get to use it as we were too busy doing the sightseeing.

The location is very ideal for us. We took 5A from the airport and the hotel is only few minutes away. The metro just around the corner. All the museums, white house and capitol hill are nearby and within walking distance.

Our children also enjoyed the indoor pool, exercise room, and the movie nights offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank may1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Stayed here in early Oct with a group of friends for a conference. Room was huge with a separate bedroom. 6 of us slept comfortably. 4 in the 2 double beds in the bedroom and 2 in the sofabed in the living room.
Location wise: Was close to the Capitol, Library of Congress, Air and Space Museum. Need to walk a fair bit to the rest of the sights, especially the Lincoln Memorial and White House. Good that it was close to the subway
Allows in and out parking privileges which was good instead of the valet parking in several other hotels.
Breakfast was good enough though the menu repeats itside every 2 days. We were pleasantly surprised that there was dinner on Mon to Wed.
It was also good that there was a kitchenette in the room but there was no nearby supermarket that we could find.
Overall a very nice hotel to stay in and we really enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asdfgh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I travelled with hubby and a 2 yr old in the recent weekend. Loved the location as its quiet and a short walk to the Capitol, The Mall and the metro station. From outside, the hotel looks new and clean and gives you a luxury feeling. Rooms are very spacious and loved the well equipped kitchenette, especially when travelling with young children. However, here are some of my feedback :

1. The room is v spacious and nice when you first stepped in but not very clean.

2. The spring mattress on the queen bed is of very low quality and one dont get a very good rest. You feel the 'spring' when lying on the bed and when your partner turns, you feel as if you were shaken. horrible.

3. The front office staff have a 'care less attitude' and they seem proud to demonstrate that. They give you a feeling that you owe them and as if you deserve such service since its a relatively good price hotel. WHen you ask them a few more questions on directions and restaurants, their body language tells you that they are losing patience even though there wasnt anyone in the queue or waiting to be assisted. Smartly dressed professionals with a grouchy face.

4. In contrary to 3., the staff at breakfast area were positive, friendly, helpful and make you feel like you are in a great restaurant. the Breakfast spread is very decent and they refill as quickly as possible so that one do not have to wait. The also clean the table quickly, help you with tissues and etc. Such a positive bunch of great employees compared to the grouchy looking ones standing at the front desk.

For US 120 per night for washington, i still think its a value for money deal as long as you are not affected by the grouchy looking faces.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curl_tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Residence Inn Captitol is a short walk to the mall so it is the perfect location for DC sightseeing. We had a very spacious 1-bedroom unit with a full kitchen. We loved the free Wi-fi and the breakfast buffet. The pool is OK- it is an indoor pool and it is very small. There are not any restaurants nearby so plan ahead for your meals. We got takeout at the very nice Safeway grocery store that is a few blocks away. A few nights a week the hotel has a free dinner complete with salad, side dishes, main entree and dessert. The price for this hotel is quite high but you get a lot for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j3mlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I am a loyal Marriott Rewards Gold customer and prefer Residence Inn above all of their other properties for the free wifi, well-appointed kitchens, comfy beds, friendly staff and usually impeccable cleanliness. This location only got 50% of these right and the biggest negative was the cleanliness- the attention to detail in cleaning was not there. Filthy corners in the bathroom, dust and dirt in the corner of the wall and floor throughout the suite (similar problem in the elevators and both really grossed me out) , and long black hairs stuck to towels. Problems easily remedied with a vacuum attachment. They also do not have the Marriott beds many of us love, and the staff was curt at best. I concur with other reviewers comments of nothing around to eat (I ordered in).
On the plus side, if you are there as a tourist, it seems like a great location about three blocks from the Mall. The place was overrun with kids on the weekend and hosts movie nights on Fridays and Saturdays for them (I will admit it, after a long day of work, watching Toy Story with a bunch of five year olds actually sounded like fun). I did not have any problems with noise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WrldTrav-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

A 60$ taxi ride brought us to the Residence Inn for a few nights in October. We paid $151.00 a night and check-in was easy, the room was very clean and breakfast in the morning was good. Not gourmet food, but yogurt, some fruit, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, eggs bacon, potatoes, toast, bagels etc. Newspapers were available if you wanted a complementary copy. The staff cleaning tables and replenishing the coffee were very pleasant. I gave the rooms 4 stars as I wish a window would open. I like fresh air, and while the fan and air conditioning worked fine, I do like a window to open. We had a view of a government building right next door that was being renovated. There was no noise, but there was nothing to look at. The railroad tracks behind the building didnt bother us. We didnt use the pool, or fitness room. The location was great. We walked to the Smithsonian and Capital Building. Restaurants within walking distance were excellent. Capital Grille, 701, and Cental were delicious for dinner. We rented bikes one day by the Post Office Pavillion and rode to Arlington National Cemetary, and the Lincoln Memorial and around the White House. Bikes were an excellent way to get around. Locks were provided, so we were able to park and walk around when we wanted. I never felt afraid to walk around DC even in the evening. There always seemed to be plenty of police around. We attended the show "Capital Steps" at the Reagan Theater on a Friday night and enjoyed the satire and humor of the show! Last minute $35.00 tickets got us great orchestra seats! The day we left the front desk said give them a 20 minute notice and they would get a taxi for us. To our delight, that taxi was a lovely towncar, with a very nice driver that took us to Dulles for our flight.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alacraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,634 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#103 of 141 in Washington DC
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
331 reviews
Residence Inn Washington Capitol...
#107 of 141 in Washington DC
68 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol

Address: 333 E St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-3221
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#62 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £107 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Capitol Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing