We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #89 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is in the midst of a renovation, and I was pleasantly surprised to discover how comfortable it is. i got it on Priceline for a very reasonable price. The rooms are very large by any hotel standard, but particularly for DC. The rooms are clean and redone in a modern style-- the room was so newly redone I wondered if anyone else had stayed there. There is a nice free Continental breakfast buffet downstairs in the morning.

I know others had bad experience with construction noise. I was not there at all during the day-- left by 8 am, wasn't back until 10pm-- but at night it was very quiet.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

I will stay there again, at least until the construction is done and prices increase!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan6229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (678)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, hoping to get some good R&R. Although the rooms were nice and clean, the construction was unbearable. I don't know if it was the specific room we were in, but it felt like it was literally in our room- the walls would vibrate in the mornings. When we went to complain, we were told that we would be comped for our parking (which is $36/night)...in the end we were not fully comped, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAS71111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

KAS71111,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you weren't able to fully get the R&R that you had desired during this stay. As you are aware that we are currently undergoing renovations to become the Residence Inn - Marriott. With this renovation, there have been times where there would be noise and we tried our best to inform guest upon check in that construction would begin around 8 am in the morning and concluding around the 8 pm timeframe. We are definitely in the final stages of this beautiful renovations and looking forward to having guest such as yourself come and be apart of the Residence Inn experience.

The rooms that you did enjoy will have a new look as well as many facets of the hotel.

Our hope is that you allow us the opportunity to make up for the experience that you had while first trying to rectify the parking that was offered. Please don't hesistate to give us a call and speak with me to clear this up for you. Meanwhile, our hope is that upon your next return visit that we can make it a pleasureable R&R experience while offering you all the new and improved immenities that come along with this renovation process.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused but thank you for visiting.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The room was nice, spacious, and clean. The staff was friendly although there was a lot of construction going on and the hallways and elevators were dusty with debris and smelled like chemicals/paint.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Devri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Devri B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Washington Guest Suites. As you are aware, we are currently in the process of transitioning to a Residence Inn - Marriott.

We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations of having a spacious room and pleasant service. We value our guest and our goal is to always provide the best service possile.

With the renovations taking place there were moments that dust and debris would be in the elevators, but please know that we strive to ensure that we are providing a clean hotel for all of our guest. As our elevators were the main source of transporting all of new furniture, fixtures and room ammenities into the newly renovated rooms, there were times that our elevators may not have been at the level that we desired. We apologize if this made for an uncomfortable stay. Upon your return, not only will the hotel look different, but we will also have new elevators which are being installed now.

Again, thank you for your stay and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked a room during renovation and it was horrible. Noise from 8 to 8 everyday, water stops for maintenance almost everyday for 2 hours. The room services is good. Overall the hotel is good but during the renovation you cannot sleep, location and the size of the rooms are what this hotel is all about. Was jealous when I saw the George Washington univeristy inn across the street and looking good with a small difference in the price. Bloody drill noise

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salooto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

No need for a car here. An easy block and a half from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop and you can get just about anywhere in D.C. The staff was extremely courteous and willingly gave us information as requested. The hotel itself is being remodeled (old furniture, carpeting, etc. being hauled out) and will become a Marriott Extended Stay Suites. Our suite had 2 comfy queen beds with crisp percale-type sheets and down comforters. The kitchen was equipped with a full size refrigerator, 2-burner stove top, microwave, dishes, cutlery, and a few pots and pans. The free breakfast was a little bleak, but adequate. Starbucks coffee was a plus.
Stepping outside there is a small sitting area for those who enjoy a smoke and further down about two blocks is the infamous Watergate. We were only three blocks from a bicycle rental place; an easy walk to restaurants and the George Washington University Hospital as well as the Potomac River.
The neighborhood was alive with students, working folks, and vacationers like us. It would definitely be our choice again. Location, location, location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Nola B,

Your review was definitely full of "Sunshine." Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us.

We are happy to know that even through the renovation that you were able to enjoy your stay and that the city had to offer. We are transitioning to a Residence Inn and very excited about all the services that we will continue to provide to guest such as yourself.

Upon your return visit, you will see so much that has changed and all with guest like you in mind. Our breakfast will provide you with an assortment to choose from and will far excedd your expectations.

We will continue to provide great customer service and we realize that our mission here will always be to serve our guest.

Thank you again for your stay.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent two nights here and not only was our stay fantastic, it ranks as one of the biggest bargains we have ever lucked into.

I always do A LOT of research on accommodation before a trip, so I had read every review (the good and the bad) on Washington Guest Suites before booking. I expected a dated, converted apartment, under renovation, possibly loud, with unimpressive breakfast and staff. I was happy to accept these conditions for the location, the price ($180 Canadian a night, taxes in, in July) and the fact that we were getting a suite with kitchen, so my husband and I could enjoy a meal and some tv in the evening after putting the little one to bed.

What we got was an incredibly clean, quiet suite with crisp white bedding, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, a plentiful breakfast, a FUNCTIONAL POOL, and incredibly friendly, helpful and tolerant staff.

Very clean suite, and excellent maid service. Yes, the carpets, couches, tables and decorative pillows were a little dated but to me, all that meant was I didn't have to stress out when my 1.5 year old jumped all over them.

Renovations in the lobby must be nearing completion because all we saw was a little painting. We dined on a breakfast of donuts, bagels with cream cheese, Starbucks coffee, juice, yogurt, milk, Nutrigrain bars, bananas, apples and oranges. As a bonus, the staff did not mind at all when I asked if it was ok if I took an extra milk and nutrigrain bar for the baby's mid-morning snack (a lifesaver, as it turned out!)

As others have said, the location is unbeatable for the price. The walk to the metro and the Whole Foods store was nothing. The Whole Foods store also has a whole selection of prepared, healthy foods (think salad bar with hot dinner offerings too) which can be bought, stored and heated up in the suite.

As for the staff, they were so friendly and accommodating - always with a smile, often there to open the door for us when we were on our way in or out, full of helpful suggestions (like where can we find an umbrella at 7am in the morning?) and incredibly patient and good natured when, due to a rental-car delay, I ended up spending an hour and a half in the lobby with my wild toddler.

Also very ethical - my husband tried to tip one of the staff members who had stored bags for us and he refused to take the tip, citing company policy.

Biggest surprise - the pool was open! We went for a wonderful, refreshing family swim after a loooong day of travel.

If you are traveling with a family, in my mind there is no reason to stay anywhere else in downtown DC - suite, pool, friendly and tolerant staff, free breakfast, good value - what else could you possibly want? Its not posh, but its clean, comfortable and functional.

I'm interested to see if the price is hiked dramatically when renovations are completed. It will be a shame if so, since my research suggested there were not a lot of family-friendly bargains like this in Downtown DC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleNSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

MichelleNSam,

We are so pleased that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that we exceeded your expectations. With all the renovation work being done and we were able to still provide you and your family with the service, comfort, customer service and even a little extra makes us happy and proud.

As you are aware, we are transitioning to the Residence Inn - Marriott. Nothing really changes from the service that we offer with the exception that we will continue to strive to provide all of our guest such as we did with you and your family nothing but the highest level of customer service.

We are glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy the pool which provides a beautiful view of the city and not to mention, it is refreshing especially on a long day of site seeing and being on your feet.

Nothing will change wtih our location, being close to the metro, grocery stores (Whole Foods) close by, or nice dining establishments; however with the change to Residence Inn, the rates may increase a little, but will still be family friendly. Our goal to still to continue to serve our guest so that we can continue to "Far exceed your expectations."

On your next return visit, it will be okay for your soon to be 2 year old to jump on the bed and we will still have treats for their mid morning snacks.

Again, thank you for your visit and we welcome you and your family back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We are graduates of GW so we love to stay near the university and Metro. We had a great room-not fancy- but clean and spacious. Having the kitchen area was so convenient. The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful! They allowed us to check in early and check out late. That really made our trip! Housekeeping did an immaculate job. Great stay!

Room Tip: Very close to metro and Whole Foods!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBKRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your comments RbKRev. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As graduates, being familiar with the area and being close to GWU probrably made your stay even more enjoyable.

As you mentioned the rooms not being fancy, however, I am proud to announce that are renovation to become a Residence Inn - Marriott is almost complete and the rooms will be much more appealing to you upon your return visit. We are excited about the transition of the rooms. To add to that, the whole hotel has undergone a huge make over to be able to provide guest such as yourself the look and feel you desire.

We work hard to serve our guest, provide clean rooms and that ultimate customer service.

Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#59 of 142 in Washington DC
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#35 of 142 in Washington DC
1,749 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#98 of 142 in Washington DC
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £114 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing