We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #90 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Overall we had a good stay, but it wasn't fabulous. Here are our pros and cons...

Pros:

-Great location just a 5-minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro and Whole Foods. There is also a Roti and Sweetgreens next to Whole Foods for healthy, quick food. It's a quiet residential neighborhood and we parked on the street all weekend for free (although during the week there is a 2-hour limit).

-The room layout is good with a full size fridge and stovetop (but no oven), a nice large TV and L-shaped couch, and a comfy bed with a separate bedroom. I'm extremely picky about mattresses, and found this one very comfortable.

-The bathroom was small but comfortable, with a nice large counter and a good strong shower.

-The fitness center is very good for a hotel, with personal TVs on each cardio piece. They also have weighted balls, and a dumbbell set and bench.

Cons:

-The room temperature was WAY too warm, and we couldn't cool it down. I'm normally cold all the time, but I was in a t-shirt and sweating in the room. We turned the air on 65 (the lowest possible) and it wouldn't get below 76 in the room. It was like a sauna. We asked the desk about it twice. They were very nice and said they would try, but there wasn't much they could do because they had switched to heating instead of air conditioning for the winter and it was a warm weekend. It was quite uncomfortable and definitely made it hard to sleep or enjoy being in the room.

-It's nice that they serve a full breakfast, but we didn't find much to eat. The oatmeal was good with walnuts to put on top, and there was usually 1 fresh fruit choice, but there weren't any other healthy options. If you like to eat healthy food, you'll have to cook in your room or eat out. They had make-your-own waffles, a variety of breads and muffins, and hot items that were totally inedible. I'm almost positive the eggs were powdered - they tasted AWFUL. We really would've liked to have had good eggs to go with the oatmeal.

BTW, the left elevator is still down, but we never had to wait long for the elevator so it wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with BOTH air conditioning and heating. Ours only had heat during winter, and we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uphototraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Uphototraveler,

Thank you for your response and sharing with us your feedback. As a newly renovated property, we will use your feedback to improve on the areas that can make an impact on future guest. Ideally, we would love to ensure that each of our guest have a wonderful experience.

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the specifics you mentioned regarding the guest suite. This was part of the major renovations that took place with the conversion.

Our sincerest apologies that you had issues with the heating and hopefully we were able to resolve that for you during your stay.

Please feel free to reach out to us on your return trip in hopes for us to make that an even more enjoyable stay.

Best regards and Happy New Year's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    222
    93
    40
    26
See reviews for
270
74
34
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Covina, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location of this Residence Inn is AWESOME if you plan to see what DC has to offer. The Foggy Bottom GWU Metro stop is a couple of blocks away. From there, you can get to the National Mall, White House, etc. real easy. If you need to catch the DC Connections or Metro Buses, that's a few blocks further. From our hotel window (9th floor) you can see Georgetown University's Healy Hall. The Watergate Hotel and Kennedy Center are a 5 minute walk away. This RI is surrounded by residential housing so its in a nice, quiet neighborhood. If you need groceries, there's a Whole Foods Market and 7-Eleven within walking distance.

The room (1 bedroom suite w/2 queen) was comfortable with plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 kids not to feel cramped. The TVs had auxiliary ports so we were able to connect a device to the TV in case the kids wanted to watch their own movies.

The workout room has free-weights, medicine balls, and your usual treadmill, elliptical trainer, and stationary bike. Not huge, but big enough. We also took advantage of the laundry room which helped out on our trip, too.

The staff is top notch. Very friendly and courteous, helpful, and easy to approach if you have questions. Because we stayed here for a week, the breakfast folks recognized our family and if we all weren't down there at the same time, they wanted to make sure everyone had a chance to eat in case they missed the breakfast time. The evening meals were nice. My kids really enjoyed the cookies and brownies they served.

The only drawback if I had to list one is that there are no family-type (McDonald's, Denny's, etc.) restaurants close by. The restaurants are a bit trendy. This is not the hotel's fault...just the nature of the area.

With that said, this is definitely a great place to stay and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jungster42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Junkster42,

Thank you for your wonderful response and review. We are sincerely happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us while visiting DC.

It's always comforting to know when a family such as yours are able to not only enjoy what the city has to offer, which is plenty, but also for us to deliver on the service that you have come to expect from a Residence Inn.

We look forward to your return and if we can ever be of service, please don't hesitate to let us know. Please let the kids know that we will definitely have more cookies and brownies for them on the family's next trip back.

Happy New Year's!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed at this property in November. From the time I checked in, until I left, the people working the front desk and breakfast area were always available to answer questions with a smile on their face. Miriam at the front desk in particular was great about answering questions regarding neighborhood places to eat, and spoke from experience, not just a canned suggestion or two.
The rooms and public areas are all freshly painted and furnished. As soon as the renovations to the elevators are complete, it will look like a brand new hotel. Room was spacious, kitchen includes utensils and dishes. The bathroom has a glass enclosed shower instead of a tub, glad to see more hotels going in this direction.
Finally, the hotel is an easy 10 minute walk into Georgetown, or 10 minutes to the north will put you in Dupont Circle. Both are good places for shopping and eating. There is a Whole Foods Market a couple blocks away. To visit the sights, the Foggy Bottom/GWU Blue Line station is 2 blocks away. Very convenient when coming from National Airport, only a 10 minute ride!

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face New Hampshire Avenue and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grnwayrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Grnwayrob-

Thank you for your wonderful response. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our newly renovated property. We are excited about the transformation that our property has undergone and are happy to see each of our guest enjoy it.

Each of our employees get excited at the opportunity to feature the renovations and speak of all the things that DC has to offer. Being that we are in a nice location with accessible metro transportation allows our guest to leave with feeling that they had the opportunity to experience it all.

Being close to the airport also allows guest to arrive into the city and get to us without a long. travel experience.

From our family to yours we would like to wish you a happy holiday and look forward to your return. Let us know in the future so that we can make your stay just as enjoyable as the last.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My son and I had a wonderful stay at the Foggy Bottom Residence Inn. Great neighborhood, convenient location for seeing all the sights in Washington. Our two-room suite, with kitchen facility, was absolutely spotless, freshly decorated, and very comfortable. The included breakfast offerings were well above the norm for many hotels. Most of all, the staff was outstanding. They really make you feel like you are their most important guest. If you plan to be in DC for a few days, look no further than the Foggy Bottom Residence Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Tony P.-

Thank you for your wonderful response. We are so delighted that you and your son had a wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our every intention to make every guest feel the way that you both did. Each guest becomes apart of our family when you walk through the doors, because each of our guest are the "most important."

Please let us know when you decide to make a return visit as we would be delighted to have you here again.

Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The large comfortable suites, the attentive staff and location make the Marriott Residence Inn at Foggy Bottom an ideal hotel for a DC weekend especially if your plans include any activities at the Kennedy Center. It also not far from National Mall, White House and Smithsonian.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear JerryCarol,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We were so excited to have you stay here during your time in DC. Our hope is that you were able to enjoy the festivities that you had to attend. The renovated suites really do make for such a wonderful room experience giving you many of the pleasures of being home.

We here at this property look forward to being able to serve our guest while they are here and providing them with the best service possible. Being in the heart of many attractions here in DC and with the hotel being close to the metro makes many of the attractions easy to get to and/or in waling distance.

We look forward to you returning again and please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you in the future. Your return is always welcome.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was newly renovated so everything was very new and clean. I loved the amount of space in the room. There was a full kitchen (minus an oven but did have a stovetop) and the beds were off into a room so you were able to enjoy the living room area as well. The staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating. The prices were very reasonable as well. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Tiffany B.-

Thank you for your response. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay while you were here in DC. Of course all the things you mentioned are those that we hope that meets our guest needs and makes you feel that you are home away from home.

We look forward to your return visit and please let us know how we might be of service in the futrue. Happy Holidays!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Room was spacious (suite) and clean. Staff was super-friendly. It's right near George Washington University and there's a Whole Foods a few blocks away. I believe it's in a residential neighborhood, so it's quiet. All in all, a fine hotel and next time I'm in DC, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Joran C.,

Thank you for your comments and we're glad that you had an enjoyable stay while here in DC. We are happy that you liked the newly renovated rooms (suites) and the space that each of the suites have.

Being in the Foggy Bottom residential area makes for a more homey feel but yet having access to all that the city has to offer. With us being in the heart of all the DC attractions makes for such a great experience for someone choosing our hotel.

Please let us know how we might be of assistance as you plan for your next return trip. We would be so happy to have you join us again where we strive to always serve our guest with exceptional service thus creating a lasting memomories.

Thanks again,

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
1,357 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing