We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGGGGGGGE improvements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #92 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here a few times when this place was a Doubletree - and although the rooms were dark and shabby, my biggest gripe was the unfriendly service. What a difference a year makes. The revamped property has made some small -- but appreciated -- changes to the rooms. They have cut passthroughs from the kitchen to the entryway, and from the kitchen to the living area, so the place feels open and inviting. They have repainted in bright colors, and most importantly, they have installed Staff 2.0 ... the new crew is genuinely friendly.
Foggy Bottom is a pleasant area, and just a few Metro stops from the business areas of DC.
If I had to change anything - I would add more fruit to the breakfast: don't get me wrong, you won't leave hungry ... but the only real fruit offering was honeydew ... no berries, no watermelon, no pineapple, no grapes. Doesn't detract from the place at all. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Boeing767,

Thank you for your wonderful response and we are so pleased that your return trip was delightful compared to your previous visit while a Doubletree. We are excited about the renovations that have taken place and the warmth that guest such as yourself bring to us while visiting.

The staff is excited and hopefully that is conveyed during each and every interaction with our guest.

We hope that when you decide to visit DC again that you choose us as your place of residence and we look forward to providing you more fruit options for our breakfast.

Again, we thank you for being our guest.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for a week in Jan 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed. Checkin was easy, as was checkout--- friendly, as per reservation, and quick. Everyone was really friendly and helpful---- and that made the stay easier. The room/suite is enormous with full kitchen, dining table/two chairs, big living room with sofa/chairs/tv and desk area, bedroom with huge comfy bed, closet area, and nice bathroom. I had several suitcases for a long trip, and at no time did i ever feel cramped or concerned about space. The furniture, carpet, bed, linens, etc., are all nicely done and new. The bed was very comfy, huge, and really wonderful for a good night's sleep. In the lobby, there is free breakfast every morning--- fairly basic food, reasonable person who helps with breakfast service---and it's a nice option. I wasn't there most evenings, but one evening i saw a happy hour with food/drinks-- looked inviting. The location of the hotel is very convenient---- near a whole foods for groceries, many restaurants, near business area, 1-2 blocks from foggy bottom metro, etc. All in all---a winner of a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Jenabaindelhi,

Thank you for your response and feedback. We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, with the recent renovations, we didn't cut back on the space provided to our guest to ensure a nice stay and plenty of room to move about in their suites. Being centrally located to many of the attractions of DC and only blocks away from the metro makes for any guest to have access to work or for leisure.

Knowing that your experience was nice let's us know that we are headed in the right direction as our sole purpose is to serve. Next time you are in town visiting we welcome you back to stay with us thus allowing you to fully appreciate the evening social hour that you missed out on. We offer this service Monday through Thursday with a light meal and beer and wine is complementary.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was a great hotel. The suites are beautifully remodeled, spacious, modern, and clean with very comfortable beds and TVs in both rooms. The reception and staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was very nice, with lots of space and seating options. The location is very convenient, a block from the metro and walking distance to many attractions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Andy60763,

Thank you for your response. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the renovations and the service provided to you during your stay. Being easily accessible to the metro makes for even a greater stay for most of our guest who are either here for leisure or work.

We welcome you back and if there is anything that we can do in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It has been great to stay here! I look forward to staying here again. They have a great staff 24/7.

Even with my multiple food allergies the kitchen went out of their way to be sure I had something I could have to eat. :)

Also, fantastic job on the remodeling!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfeld123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Drfeld123,

Thank you for your response and we are delighted that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. The next time that you visit DC, we welcome you to stay with us and please let us know of any allergies so that we can ensure that you are still able to participate in our evening social.

We value each and every guest and we pride ourselve on the service that we provide.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

First time stay at this hotel; long time Marriott Rewards member.

Location is great, within walking distance of the museums, Georgetown area, M street, restaurants and other attractions. The Watergate Hotel and Kennedy Center are a 5 minute walk away.The metro, Foggy Bottom, is 3 minutes away. There is a Whole Foods store nearby so stocking your room's pantry and refrigerator is easy.

Staff was very attentive and friendly; lobby is bright and good for use of laptops, etc.

Thought the breakfast was stocked properly; hot and cold choices. Market items seemed to be priced reasonably.

The suite was clean and spacious; room was quiet even on the street side. The heat worked very well in my room; easy access to thermostat.

Stayed January 2014, on business.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank csa001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear CSA001,

We appreciate your response and are delighted that your stay provided everything that you had hoped. The newly renovated property as the Residence Inn adds so much value to guest like yourself who are Marriott Rewards members.

As you mentioned being so close to many offerings of DC only makes for more of an enjoyable stay. Whether here for business or pleasure, our property places you in a prime area that makes it very accessible to all that you come to enjoy.

Being a long standing Marriott's Rewards member, we understand what guest like yourself have come to expect. Therefore, it is our practice to be able to provide that to you. Being attentive and guest friendly allows us to create a feel of a home away from home atmosphere.

We welcome you back and if we can be of service in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you again and warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Having stayed here in May 2012 back when it was known as the Doubletree, there is a definite feel of familiarity with the hotel redesigned as Residence Inn, but there are differences too.

Most notably the difference was the staff. Staff much more attentive and friendly than the Doubletree days. Lobby is definitely different and better suited.

Thought the breakfast was more than adequate and stocked properly. The market and check-in counter is too wide-open, seems like it could have a better layout, but I can't quite put my finger on it. Market items seemed to be priced reasonably.

There is basically no change in the rooms from what I remember from the Doubletree days to the current Residence Inn. Nice sized rooms.

Clearly there is some retouching still being done (elevator, etc). Considering I think my previous review as the Doubletree was one of the most scathing I've ever given, I was more than pleased with the progress made as the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wtfresca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear WTFresca,

Thank you for your response and input. We are so happy that you enjoyed the many changes that have taken place since the property last being the Double Tree. More importantly, having been a guest of the prior named hotel, it is wonderful for a guest as yourself to return to see the many changes that have been made and those yet to come as the Residence Inn.

The service in which our staff is providing is yielding the experience that we desire from all of our wonderful guest such as yourself. As mentioned, the elevator and some of the minor touch ups are still underway as part of the completion of the renovation project. However, we are sure that once these final touches are complete, you will find that the hotel will have even a greater feeling and ease.

We look forward to your return visit and if there is anything that we can do to help facilitate your next visit, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed in this residence inn just after christmas this year. I have to start by saying that the location was great. within walking distance to the museums , georgetown area and M street and other attractions. The metro is 3 min away which was the reason I picked this place to start with.The receptionist who greeted us when we arrived that evening was super nice and helpful. I wish I remember her name. In reality every one on the front desk was nice and accommodating to our needs. The suite was clean and spacious. They have recently renovated some parts of the hotel so as commented by other reviewers, one of the elevators was not working , which meant that the wait to use it was sometimes quite long. The day we arrived the breakfast room was pleasant and empty, the next 3 days, we could not eat there. The congestion was unreal. The breakfast hall was not well staffed and many times the food was running out very quickly and they were not able to fill in. This may be due to the holidays, I am not sure. As to the breakfast quality , I think it was good but nothing special. There were three hot items and some yogurt and waffles and bagels and so on.
Would I stay there again, I think I would if coming with family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Fatatino,

Thank you for your review and response. We greatly appreciate the words shared and are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay while being here for the holidays.

Our goal is to ensure that our guest are pleased with their stay and recognize that having two fully renovated elevators will only enhance the experience of our guest. Therefore, we look forward to the end of the month when our elevator renovation project is anticipated to be complete.

With regards to the location, being centrally located to all the sites and having accessibility to the metro makes for an enjoyable stay.

We would be delighted if you chose our hotel as your place of residence during you and your family's return visit.

Please let us know how we might be able to assist in that.

Happy New Year's and Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
513 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#103 of 141 in Washington DC
209 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,461 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washington D.C. Georgetown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Washing...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: £76 - £946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing