We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Residence Inn I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Ranked #84 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Probably the best Residence Inn I've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

In a word, this stay was superb. The hotel was clean, the furnishings were good, rooms were spacious, staff members were consistently friendly, and the metro was a 2-3 minute walk away. As another reviewer noted, there aren't a number of restaurants on the block, but Georgetown is an easy 10 minute walk away, with a plethora of choices. And the in-house breakfast is particularly solid, as hotel breakfasts go.

As I see that my rating is above the norm, I have to wonder if I should raise my standards! But on balance, I just thought this was an excellent place to stay, and for the Residence Inn brand, it was probably the best I've ever visited.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jhcewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good day jhcewc,

What an endorsement! Thank you so much. We do strive to make sure that each of our guests has an experience similar to yours. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    219
    91
    39
    26
See reviews for
267
70
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cottondale, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

we had a very pleasant stay at this property. we were here the last week of april for a week. everyone was very nice and very helpful.the location is great if you want to walk , take the metro or bus. it is pretty much in between everything. during our stay one of the elevators was down; the one that was working was very slow ,and we were on the 10th floor but it was ok. Also we did discover that the heat is controlled by a boiler that is turned off for the summer so the last two days we were there it was a little chilly in our room. we were given extra blankets so that made it all better . hopefully they wont get anymore cold snaps. the evening socials were very nice and so was breakfast.Our room was nice and clean but the bathroom was small. i assume it may have been because we had the 2 queens that took away from the bathroom space. the only real issue we had was when we first checked in. although she was nice, she just gave us keys but no explanation of where to go. backwards , forwards, left , right ,up, down....i guess she assumed we would automatically know the elevator was straight ahead and the room was on the 10th floor.( go figure...) I know it may seem minut ,but there are some hotels out there that have room numbers for an example "326". thats located on the 4th floor instead of the 3rd because of the level the lobby is located. but anyway, I went back to the desk and doorman told me where the room was located so it was fine. even though i didnt have a great check in experience. we had a GReat stay experience which made up for that. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Edmund W,

You will be pleased to know that our elevator remodel is complete and both are working in tip-top condition. We strive to make each guest's check-in experience superb and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We will redouble our efforts in this regard.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moran, Wyoming
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

You cannot beat the friendliness and professionalism of the staff here. They went out of their way to help us, provide information and be of great service. The breakfast is varied and filling, the evening food is more than adequate for dinner and tasted great. The room was comfortable and quiet, very clean with a comfortable bed. And the location served us well, within walking distance of the National Mall and a quick walk to grocery stores and the metro. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello WYphotographer,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and could get to the National Mall and grocery stores in a jiffy. As they say, location is everything. We are happy you found us and look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Room spacious: Kitchen, living room with desk, bedroom.
Location: 1 block from the Foggy Bottom Metro station. You can get almost anywhere around the city on the metro.
Staff: Receptive, responsible and helpful in every way.
Food: Breakfast Buffet outstanding and great to get you started for the day.

Room Tip: Get a room at the end of a hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_and_Claudine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi Don_and_Claudine,

Your review is exciting for us. We are proud of our accommodations and even happier to hear guests say they enjoyed them. Thank you for all your kind words about every aspect of our hospitality.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff was excellent. Very helpful and knowledgeable. The location is very good. Halfway between Georgetown and the White House. Just a block from GWU, Whole Foods,a beer pub and a few of blocks from the start of Embassy row. Red City rental bike station located at the Whole Foods. Only one of two functioning elevators were working so we used the stairs mostly. We stayed 3 nights and each day the sign on the elevator said it was only going to be out for that day. Rooms are studios and ok. Breakfast is your typical Residence Inn style fake eggs, make your own waffles, and non-organic fruit. We opted to make our own breakfast in the room. Parking is $40 + tax per day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Jim F,

Our staff enjoys meeting our guests' needs. We will be sure to pass on your kind words. Indeed, our location is convenient to just about the entire city with the Foggy Bottom Metro just about in our backyard. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

As a very loyal Marriott Platinum guest, I am selective on the properties I stay at for business and pleasure. The Residence Inn / Foggy Botton, DC certainly beat any expectation I had! From the great guest service, to the morning breakfasts, to the afternoon Manager's Hours, to just a wonderful location and experience - I say STAY HERE - no regrets! I've stayed at various Marriott properties (600+ nights) and will say this certainly exceeded my expectations, and made for a great family spring break stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromMaryland100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello DavidfromMaryland,

We are so happy to have you as part of the Marriott extended family. Thank you for ranking our property so highly. We do certainly want to welcome you again, perhaps next spring?

We do hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed here while on a Spring Break trip with my wife and 2 pre-teen grandchildren. Hotel staff were very accommodating in answering questions about the area. The hotel has undergone recent renovation and offered comfortable sleeping arrangements. However, the heat/air cooling system is antiquated in that once the heat is turned off for the season, there was no way to get heat in the room. We were there during a period when the overnight temperatures outside were in the low to mid 40's, thereby making it rather cool in the morning when waking up. We had not been advised about this prior to or upon arrival and found this rather uncomfortable when showering and getting ready in the mornings to do sightseeing.
The location is very convenient to the Foggy Bottom Metro stop which made getting around quite easy.
The breakfast buffet was nothing special. Although hot items (scrambled eggs, potatoes, etc.) were on the menu, the quality of the food was very average. Parking is expensive ($40 + tax per night), but it was secure and located under the main building.
Overall, it was a pleasant stay, not fancy but very clean and other than for the lack of heat on the chilly mornings, fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicMan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica C, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Good day MusicMan42,

Thank you for your comments. We do--do our best to assist our guests with their questions. We do apologize for any discomforts during your stay and hope you will visit with us again. As you noted, our location is convenient to just about all of DC and we are happy you found this useful. Thanks again for your comments.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Cap...
#56 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom

Property: Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Address: 801 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2305
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom is located in the heart of the most historic neighborhood in DC. We are an upscale extended stay hotel nestled in one of the city's most sophisticated and fashionable parts of the city. Our central location is minutes from George Washington University and Hospital, Department of State, World Bank, other renowned corporations, celebrated attractions, restaurants, shopping, Georgetown and one block to the Foggy Bottom metro. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters .Our inviting gatehouse will allow you to spread out and relax after a long day. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi in all our suites and public areas at the hotel .You will never go hungry with our complimentary daily deluxe buffet breakfast and our Social Hours served in the evenings. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott Washington DC/Foggy Bottom will keep you well taken care of ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing